Customer Reviews for

Bipolar Child: The Definitive and Reassuring Guide to Childhood's Most Misunderstood Disorder

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2003

    The bible for childhood bipolar disorder

    This book is the reference standard for parents, caretakers, and teachers of bipolar children. Authoritative and thorough, this book is required reading if you wish to more fully understand bipolar children. There really are a lot of subtle aspects of the disease that make it more complex than one might think, and this book does an excellent job of discussing all the these fine details of the illness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2003

    Mother of a preschooler with bipolar disorder

    This book is excellent. I have a 4 year old with bipolar disorder and this book was very helpful to me. I only wish that that there was a chapter for parents of preschoolers. While parenting any bipolar child is challenging, it's particularly hard with very young children. Though most of this book works for most ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    Informative book

    As a mother of a 5 year old undergoing diagnosis, I found this book to be a great help. It was recommended by our therapist. While it was upsetting to read and realize that what the authors describe so closely mirrored what my child was going through, it was also a comfort to finally have a name for what we were experiencing. We have since received a definitive diagnosis of bipolar by health care providers we located through this book, and have a greater understanding of the disorder with which our family is learning to live. It has also been helpful as we seek to be involved in treatment decisions and strategies. The book is well-written and informative. I would highly recommend it to all who seek to have a better understanding of bipolar disorder among children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2001

    What Every Teacher Should Read!

    Recently, a student was assigned to me who is diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder. I have been in the special education field of emotionally handicapped children for many years and have noted that no two children are alike. However, there are patterns. This extraordinary book gave me insights about the differences in mood disorders. Now I can begin to understand the rapid mood swings, the irritability, and the chatterings. The authors pointed out the differences between Bipolars and garden-variety ADHD. Thank you! Also, I am looking at some of my other students in a different way. This book is well-organized and generally written in understandable language. I'm having my principal order a copy for our professional library. I will keep my own copy for reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    Great Informational Book

    My 11 yr old child was diagnosed with Bipolar disorder, and this book couldn't have been any more informational. Plenty of suggestions, explanations and resources.....Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2000

    Bipolar Child OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!

    This is the best book that I have ever read. I have two children with bipolar, the information that book gives out is great. I love this book, I have highlighted all threw the book and I'm buying another for my sister which has two bipolar also.. Great Job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2000

    This book is so true!

    I am glad to finally see that other parents are experiencing what our life is like. Now if we can only get the rest of the world to recognize it. This book is excellent reading!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    A Source of Comfort

    The book gave me some comfort knowing there are other families going through the bipolar experience along with us. At times the words in the book were as if I were speaking them as the book was being written, especially in 'Part III - Living and Coping With Bipolar Disorder'. The book is true to life and very thorough from beginning to end. It guides you to many places to get information and help. The only section of the book I found a bit tedious was 'Chapter 8 - What Causes This Condition', but its also informative information to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2000

    A very interesting study

    The authors have done an excellent study on manic depression (bipolar disorder) in children. This book is very interesting and also explains that medication isn't always the proper treatment for this disorder in children. There are various reasons for such disorders and the authors explain that too often it is misdiagnosed. It is an excellent resource guide with helpful tips, addresses and contacts incl. Websites. Every parent should have a copy of this book. Another book that I really like and was very helpful to me to understand bipolar disorders, especially in chapters like 'Identiy Crisis' was Dietmar Scherf's 'Depression: Avoiding and Overcoming Depression' which is also available at bn.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1