Customer Reviews for

The Bipolar Child: The Definitive and Reassuring Guide to Childhood's Most Misunderstood Disorder -- Third Edition

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Great information for parents

    After trying many parenting techniques and being very consistent and clear about rules and boundaries, and looking to a psychologist for help, it finally became clear that it was not our parenting skills, but something much deeper in our child. I could relate to the stories from parents about incidents with their children and appreciated the candid discussion on what helped their children and what did not. The book gives a lot of basic information for a parent facing this diagnosis. I highly recommend it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    must reading for parents

    this book is not intended as a diagnostic tool but as a primer, a sourcebook, a source of encouragement and education. Pay no attention to the trendy denial types who snort in misinformed derision. A child or teen with bipolar disorder has a serious brain disorder and the diagnosis, once made, is an all-hands-on-deck proposition. Learning to deal with the raging, the over-reaction to the word 'no' and the carb craving - to name but a few common symptoms, was like a lifeline to my family. Fewer than half of kids with this disorder are thought to be correctly treated and diagnosed. Parents - take heart and arm yourselves with info. This book is an excellent start. Do not be cowed by those who 'decide' that you are making this up, and seek help. It can take years to find help but with some direction, these young lives can be set to rights and they can thrive and learn alongside other kids.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    I found this book about Bipolar Disorder to be very helpful. I have found it helpful to read as many books as possible about this disorder as my daughter has Bipolar 1. Another new book just released I found inspiring and has given me great hope is a new memoir called "I just want my daughter back - coming to terms with Bipolar 1? by BC Levinson that I found on Amazon.com . Seeing how others cope with bipolar disorder has made a big difference in our journey. It gives hope to those of us walking in these shoes. I actually found the new book through Twitter.com.. you can even chat with the author @BIPOLARSMOM2 . Very nice lady..
    Hope this helps
    Sue

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very helpful for parents

    I'm not an avid reader, so when I saw the size of the text in this book, I was immediately intimidated. However, once I started reading, I realized that it was written so that laypersons can understand the subject matter. My son has recently been diagnosed bipolar and after my initial panic, I am working hard at educating myself. I found this book to be very easy to read and full of helpful information for me, as a parent. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Rates a ZERO for parents

    As a researcher in the field of the mind and as a parent myself, I feel it needful to report that this volume is a total fabrication. Since when is childhood a disease? I have never found a child, whether my own or another's, no matter how unruly, that did not respond to love and to having his/her needs and concerns addressed-- the same as the rest of us. The idea of medicating a toddler is not only non-functional, it's pretty much of a crime. Love your children and listen to them. I did, and my daughter and I have have lived in mutual respect and admiration for 25 years.

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    An Excellent Resource

    This book was recommended to me by my child's psychiatrist. My child has bipolar disorder and we are well into treatment. Even so, this book adds a lot to my understanding of the research. This is the third edition and has obviously been updated to reflect research published between editions.
    The section on schooling is particularly full of detailed information and I wish I had had it earlier in this school year when we were coming up with an IEP for my child.
    I definitely think this book is a resource for parents (and older children/young adults) dealing with bipolar children. I would not suggest it before you've seen a therapist, psychologist, or psychiatrist, however. As the authors note, diagnosis is NOT easy with this condition and a person reading this book should NOT use it 'diagnose' their child, or any other child.
    The only annoying thing in the book to me is a repetition of the possible seasonality of the illness. Some people with bipolar disorders experience seasonal changes in the illness course--the authors repeat this excessively. I especially find this irritating because my child does not appear to have this particular presentation so the repetition is irrelevant and therefore annoying. Otherwise, however, the book is well-written, research-based, and focused on treating this illness, not treating the child as though they are otherwise than ill.
    I would stress to anyone dealing with bipolar disorder to seek the assistance of professionals. This book can give you a foundation of information, but it can't do everything. Use it as an excellent tool and get help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1