Customer Reviews for

Bipolar Disorder For Dummies

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good Information on Bipolar Disorder!

I first bought this book when I was diagonsed with bipolar disorder in 2007 at the age of 16. Let me say, it cleared up a lot of things for me. The format is easy to read and understable. It even has sections for the family and children. I still refer to my copy now thr...
I first bought this book when I was diagonsed with bipolar disorder in 2007 at the age of 16. Let me say, it cleared up a lot of things for me. The format is easy to read and understable. It even has sections for the family and children. I still refer to my copy now three years later!

posted by tatygirl90 on March 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This book is a front for big pharma

IMPORTANT NOTE TO PARENTS: Parents are being mislead by a multi billion-dollar a year child drugging industry that a diagnoses of "mental disorder" (ADHD, Bi-Polar, Social Anxiety Disorder) are medical diseases or illnesses. This is a fraud. No child has a brain scan, b...
IMPORTANT NOTE TO PARENTS: Parents are being mislead by a multi billion-dollar a year child drugging industry that a diagnoses of "mental disorder" (ADHD, Bi-Polar, Social Anxiety Disorder) are medical diseases or illnesses. This is a fraud. No child has a brain scan, blood test, X-Ray or any evidence of physical abnormality to verify they are "ill" or "diseased." Yet psychiatrists continue to pound the public with misleading and fraudulent statements that these so called mental disorders are biochemical or neurological conditions. That is false. They are simply a list of behaviors that psychiatrists vote into existence and insert into their billing bible, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. This has led to over 8 million children in the U.S. taking mind-altering psychiatric drugs. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (DSM-IV), published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA), is psychiatry's billing bible of "disorders" from which psychiatric screening, diagnoses and their treatment are derived. The current edition lists 374 psychiatric conditions that have been identified as mental disorders. Yet, the disorders contained in the DSM-IV are arrived at by consensus, not by scientific criteria. There are no blood tests, brain scans, X-Rays, MRIs or "chemical imbalance" tests that can scientifically validate any mental "disorder" as a disease or illness. Canadian psychologist Tana Dineen reports, "Unlike medical diagnoses that convey a probable cause, appropriate treatment and likely prognosis, the disorders listed in DSM-IV are terms arrived at through peer consensus"- literally, a vote by APA committee members. This book was a joke dont bother reading

posted by 10723674 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Information on Bipolar Disorder!

    I first bought this book when I was diagonsed with bipolar disorder in 2007 at the age of 16. Let me say, it cleared up a lot of things for me. The format is easy to read and understable. It even has sections for the family and children. I still refer to my copy now three years later!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    sceptical people

    I just read the post on that no child can have a set mental disease crap. Personally i am 31 years old and was diagnosed when i was 9. Now i can say this guy is crap bipolar /manic depression is a mood and chemical inbalance in the brain. There is chemicals that either we get to much of or not enough of hense why we go from being on suisidezs door to bouncing off the wall. Now this affect tennagers more because of all the changes the are going through plus this and it definitaly gets easier woth age, however i still to this day have struggles on a daily basis with my bipolar. This is a life time disease that not only effecys your surroundings but affect your peraonallity and the way you have to live your life. I would love for these doctors or sceptics to have this disease for only several hours let alone a life time. Thank you for reading my vent, and have a great day. :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    Great book for recently diagnosed people with bipolar

    After finally accepting my diagnosis of bipolar, I bought this as my first bipolar book. It really helped educate me in an easy-to-understand format. Everyone with bipolar---this is a great book to buy and mark up with pen and highlighter. I actually took it to my doctor appointments and had my doctor explain certain things in more detail. I have read numerous bipolar books from the library, but this is the only one I actually paid money for. I am not disappointed.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Good Basic Book

    I personally hate the "For Dummies" series of books, but I have to admit that when it comes to simple explanations for complex things, they do a good job. I bought this book not for myself, but for my folks so that they could get a basic understanding of my bipolar condition. It worked. They now have an idea of the struggles I deal with on a daily basis and why the medications I'm on and the therapy is so critical to me and how it helps keep my bipolar issue in check. If you want a loved one to understand more about who you are...this is a good start for them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Learn the basics

    This book gives you all the basics and no high medical speak. its just plain simple explanations of this problem.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Very Informative

    This is a wonderful book for someone has has just been diagnosed and for their family and friends. All the info. in the book is in layman's terms and very clearly laid out. There are sections on EVERYTHING that you can imagine that deals with being Bipolar, including the meds. to treat it, behaviors, etc. I still refer to this book after having read it twice and having been diagnosed over three years ago. A must have on the subject!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Taking the Fear Out

    This book helps put perspective on a positive diagnosis, helps both the diagnosed and their loved ones realize the diagnosis can be overcome, and gives a lot of helpful advice. Basically, this book helps one to realize bi-polar disorder isn't the end of yhe world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    This book is a front for big pharma

    IMPORTANT NOTE TO PARENTS: Parents are being mislead by a multi billion-dollar a year child drugging industry that a diagnoses of "mental disorder" (ADHD, Bi-Polar, Social Anxiety Disorder) are medical diseases or illnesses. This is a fraud. No child has a brain scan, blood test, X-Ray or any evidence of physical abnormality to verify they are "ill" or "diseased." Yet psychiatrists continue to pound the public with misleading and fraudulent statements that these so called mental disorders are biochemical or neurological conditions. That is false. They are simply a list of behaviors that psychiatrists vote into existence and insert into their billing bible, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. This has led to over 8 million children in the U.S. taking mind-altering psychiatric drugs. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (DSM-IV), published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA), is psychiatry's billing bible of "disorders" from which psychiatric screening, diagnoses and their treatment are derived. The current edition lists 374 psychiatric conditions that have been identified as mental disorders. Yet, the disorders contained in the DSM-IV are arrived at by consensus, not by scientific criteria. There are no blood tests, brain scans, X-Rays, MRIs or "chemical imbalance" tests that can scientifically validate any mental "disorder" as a disease or illness. Canadian psychologist Tana Dineen reports, "Unlike medical diagnoses that convey a probable cause, appropriate treatment and likely prognosis, the disorders listed in DSM-IV are terms arrived at through peer consensus"- literally, a vote by APA committee members. This book was a joke dont bother reading

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    Another great Dummies book!

    I was very impressed with this book. It is educational, imformative, yet fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Understanding Bipolar

    This book has helped us a great deal in understanding bipolar and making it easier to deal with the disorder a little easier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    Some good stuff

    I looked through this at the book store & loved what I saw. I couldn't get my head out of it. Very helpful & insightful. I'm buying this ASAP!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Very useful guide written with humor and compassion

    As a supporter of a person with bipolar disorder, I've read several articles and a few books on the subject. I purchased this one because it had several useful tools, a lighthearted approach, and encouraging vignettes interspersed in the work that gave me a new game plan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    This is perfect

    For jeremiah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1