BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bird Songs From Around World

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Backyard Birders Unite!

    This is a wonderful compilation of birds and the songs they sing. If you think you've identified a bird, playing it's song helps to identify it further. OR! You hear a birdsong and wonder what bird sings it, find the bird you think sings it and play the song to see if it's a match. I also found that playing the songs caused the birds in my area to respond! Go figure. Both my father and grandchildren love and learn from this book, which I keep outside for instant reference!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    Amaizing

    It is a beautifull work of art my children love this book because they are learning while they are listening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Great book for bird lover

    I enjoyed listening to the bird calls. There's 200 of them with full color picture and brief descriptions. This book is good for birders and for the armchair travelers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    My 6 year old daughter loves this

    It's very easy to use and fun to read and listen. I think it's a great idea, well executed. I wish there were more common birds to our area, but that's probably best left for a "Birds of North America" book. I really love it and my daughter never seems to tire of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Bird Songs

    I gave this as a Christmas gift to my best friend who is more than an avid bird lover. Her backyard is literally a bird sanctuary. She was AMAZED, DELIGHTED, & very pleased w/ the bird calls & the artist's reditions of the colors & detail. A perfect gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Fun and Entertaining

    This book has information about birds and recordings of their songs. I wish it had more North American birds that I might expect to encounter. It focusses mostly on Central and South American birds. Still, it's a fun book to have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Bird Song Book

    I bought this book for my son, a little natural historian, for whom juvenile books will not do. It has 200 bird calls - plenty to keep him - and just about any adult - entertained for hours. It is very interesting, and fun at the same time. There are lovely illustrations for each bird. And just enough information to make you feel as though you have learned something, but no so much as to bore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Very entertaining

    As a gift our friend was initially excited by this book. The sounds of the birds were clear. She enjoyed going through and trying each bird. She and we each noticed that there were not many that we saw in our area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    None of these birds lives in my neck of the woods

    They may be the most compelling bird songs from around the world, but all the birds listed as being from North America reside in Cuba, Mexico or Costa Rica. Where are the birds that can be found in Texas, Kansas, or Ohio? How about a mockingbird? Where's the friendly robin or the bold cardinal?

    I purchased this book to help my Cub Scouts identify the birds they might spot on a nature hike, but unfortunately, our travel budget did not allow us to visit the Cuban Tody. Yes, I should have researched the book better prior to purchase, but I assumed there had to be at least one bird that my Cubs would be familiar with. No such luck.

    Nice book, but the title is misleading. Birds from Everywhere Except the United States would be more accurate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    MAKE SOMEONE HAPPY

    BIRDSONGS TO CHEER , BEAUTIFUL ILLUSTRATIONS
    GREAT GIFT FOR CHRISTMAS .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book for teachers and birdwatchers alike

    This book is useful for avid birdwatchers, teachers, and anyone who just wants to learn more about birds and their sounds. It is great for students and teachers too, a wonderful way to learn more about birds for a science project or social studies lesson about other parts of the world. It's pretty big to take into the field with you, but a great resource to have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Bird Book

    I bought this book for my three year old grand daughter and her grandpa. They both have a high interest in birds. She loved that she could look for birds outside and then listen to how they sound. It made for a lot of bonding with her family and a good learning experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Interesting for those who bird watch and have an interest.

    Overall I found it fun and interesting and would be a great thing to share with children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    A Fun and Educational Read

    I am a bird lover so I love this book. The book mostly lists other non-everyday birds, it does not list your average birds like the titmouse, the cardinal or even the bluejay. I was hoping to have at least some of the more local birds that the average person knows. It is still a very fun and educational book and I have it on my coffee table. Once you listen to the entire book, it is now left for other friends and family to play with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    This was a wonderful, entertaining view into the world of songbirds.

    Being an interested, yet novice bird fancier, I found this book to be a great introduction to songbirds. Loved the layout and explicit manner of finding the "song" I was interested in hearing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    Fun for kids

    I bought this for my 8 year old nephew. With the ability to hear the calls of the birds, plus wonderful illustrations and information about habitats, I found this to be a great book to set off my nephew's imagination. There is a volume button and a way to turn off the sound portion which is a nice feature. The book itself seems like it will hold up well with use, hardcover, durable, but don't look to get this as a field guide: it is really heavy! All-in-all a nice book with lovely artwork and interesting bird sounds that will entice the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2