Customer Reviews for

Bird in Hand

Average Rating 3.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful heart-fealt story.

This is a great book about people trying to find what truly makes them happy- not what they think they should do to be happy. Love love loved this book. There are so many emotions in tthis book you cant help but get involved in the story.

posted by 5327291 on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Its ok

I thought it would have been better....I finished it...expecting more to the story. Alittle dissappointed. Glad it was a quick read. wouldnt recommend.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Wonderful heart-fealt story.

    This is a great book about people trying to find what truly makes them happy- not what they think they should do to be happy. Love love loved this book. There are so many emotions in tthis book you cant help but get involved in the story.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!

    Could not put this book down once I started reading! The overall story plot was a little somber, but it awakened so many emotions. I am a big fan of Emily Griffin books and found this story to be very similar to some of hers (on a deeper scale).

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    Thought provoking.

    Stories are so often told as a cliche - particularly condeming those who have affairs. I felt Kline did a wonderful job of developing all of the characters and forcing the reader to see each perspective. In the end, each person carries responsibility for how things play out - it was a very honest and vulnerable story. The writing style was engaging and clever. Definitely one I'll be recommending.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent writing,but enter at your own risk. Although I couldn't put it down.

    This book is too real life for me. I loved Kline's last book. Her writing is wonderful, articulate and so adept at showing her character's personalities, flaws and all. It was entrancing, I couldn't put it down. I had to KNOW.
    This is not Bob and Carol and Ted and Alice. These characters could be real people with real lives and feelings. Four friends. Two "in love" with the other's spouse.
    The honest truth: I didn't like any of them. They were too flawed. I didn't see much to like. Too needy, too selfish, too judgmental. I wanted to like them. and it is too real. There are people in the "real" world like that. People who think their happy ever after is out there at the cost to others, including their children.
    I did like the ending. If that helps those afraid to go ahead and read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    this book hit me right

    I loved this book and just ordered another from this author. I thought it was beautifully written, excellent characters and plot, no easy/obvious ending. I look for books like this, too rarely written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    A compelling read, great writing

    I was headed out of town and was swamped, but I stole the time to read Bird in Hand (constantly, not in dribs and drabs--one of those you have to keep reading until...and that, of course, was part of the reason for the advanced case of swamped). Still swamped so here's the quick version: I fully intended to just read a little once the book was in my hands, but that was impossible. I have always loved Christina Baker Kline's work, her people, their challenges, but this novel did not have one "anything" out of place, not a thing to remind me that I was reading a book, that I wasn't really there. Those are the perfect ones for me, and rare.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BIRD IN HAND is an interesting look at four people heading into middle age

    Alison and Claire met in elementary school and became friends. Clare met Charlie and Ben in London as three American graduate students. When Claire fell in love with Ben, she introduced her pal Charlie to Alison so he would not feel alone. The couples marry and remain friends over the past decade.

    Following a book launching party for Claire, Alison drives home only to become involved in a fatal accident not her fault. A mother of two, Alison logically understands she did nothing wring, but her rationale thinking is superseded by her passionate guilt and sadness for the death of the boy in the other vehicle. Charlie is non-supportive of his wife implying she was at fault for drinking two martinis before driving although he puts on a pretense of caring. He has an agenda as he wants her to walk out of their marriage while he plots the end of his beloved Alison's relationship with Ben so he can come out in the open with their affair.

    Once readers (especially boomers) get past the similarity in names to the movie Bob & Carol & Ted & Alice, BIRD IN HAND is an interesting look at four people heading into middle age. Each of the quartet comes across genuine as snippets and vignettes bring out the back story of the past decade of two friendly couples; while the differing points of view enhance the audience understanding of the apparent destruction of two marriages. The key to this profound family drama is Christina Baker Kline does not moderate from her resolute unwavering glimpse at the end of marriages through the unblinking eyes of the four protagonists turning seemingly into antagonists.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Emma

    Sets her stuff down. "Finally," she pants.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2014

    I read Christina Baker Kline┬┐s book, Orphan Train, and enjoyed i

    I read Christina Baker Kline’s book, Orphan Train, and enjoyed it very much! It was a historical fiction book, so I was truly intrigued about this book. It’s not a historical fiction book, which is quite hard for authors to do (jumping from genre to another) and succeed. However, Christina Baker Kline is certainly the exception and her writing skills are spot on with this great book!

    I read this book in about 1.5 days. Christina’s writing draws you in immediately. It’s not a book you have to wait to really get invested in…it starts from page 1. I remember reading the first 10 pages and a friend asked what I was reading. I told her and she asked how it was. I told her, “It’s fantastic!! There is so much happening, that I can’t put it down!”. She asked what page I was on…I was on page 10. Just 10 pages. We laughed as she said I was really giving this book huge accolades when I hadn’t read that much. However, in those 10 pages, so much happens that it felt like I had read 3 chapters, at least. Why? Because it takes that long to be introduced to the characters, build up the plot, then create a twist. This book did that mid-way through the chapter! It just goes to show how quickly the pace of the book moves, with the readers getting to know the 4 main characters and the challenges they face as they each have to look at their marriage, their friendships, and their future.

    I always tell people that if an author can get me to dislike a character, they are a fantastic author. It’s easy to create a character to sympathize with, but it’s quite challenging to create one that brings out so much emotion and disgust. That is how I felt about Charlie. He is the person that I felt this story truly revolved around, because he demanded it. It was about how he felt in the marriage, what kind of attention (if any) he wanted to give to his children and wife, his relationship with his college friends, even about how the accident his wife was in, was going to affect him. In the end, I wasn’t too happy with how it ended for him, but I have a feeling that if the pages continues, Charlie will find himself in a different situation.

    Allison is the wife that many will resonate with, feel compassion towards, even be angry with…after all, she was in a devastating accident that has life long consequences. Allison is also the friend of Claire, who in many ways lives vicariously through her friends, as she romps around and ventures into the world of writing. Ben is the supportive husband, successful, and devoted to his wife: Claire. While there is a lot that goes in the book, there is much not written, which will leave many wondering about the future of these 4 friends. I hope Christina Baker Kline considers writing a sequel because I would love to love to know what happens!

    Christina Baker Kline is brilliant, as she tackles some huge issues that couples face, even if the circumstances are different. Every couple at one point or another has to decide how to make their marriage better, career choices and how to manage their household. Sadly, some couples have to deal with issues of infidelity, trust, respect, and boundaries. Each of these issues are tackled in this fantastic book, that will make fro a great book club discussion, and be a favorite for many!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Michelle to all rpers

    This is the Gryffindor 7th year girls dorms. NO BOYS ALLOWED and 7th year boys next res.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    Beautiful, heartbreaking

    In BIRD IN HAND, Christina Baker Kline writes beautifully and wisely about love, marriage, family, desire and betrayal. Each character is complex and fully drawn: Claire and Ben, Charlie and Alison are real people, struggling with tough questions of moral responsibility and the importance--and cost--of personal happiness. Kline has an amazing ability to dramatize tense psychological moments. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1