Customer Reviews for

Birds of Prey (J. P. Beaumont Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Br

Main camp?

posted by Anonymous on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Camp

Moonclan.

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Gentlerain

    If anyone still remembers me I have to quit bye.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Loyalclaw

    Im shure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Foldtap

    Why do we keep moving?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Br

    Main camp?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    This is the first book that I read by this author and found it quite enjoyable. The writing style was smooth and has an interesting plot and a great set of characters. About mid way, I thought that I had it all figured out but I turned out to be way off base. I'm an avid mystery reader and if it is unpredictable it rates five stars to me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    Another good Beaumont book. I like this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    Liked it a lot

    JA Jance is not a great writer, but she can tell wonderful stories. I enjoy her books very much and I've read most of the Beaumont series -- this one was especially enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Hello

    Hey warriors. Im a bit inactive. Sorry about that. And we r not moving.Tell all cats u no about Thrushclan.

    Thistlepaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Star to loyalclaw

    Were are you? Were did you go? Please answer. I dont like being alone. Please. I miss you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Question please answer!!!!

    I have never read any books by this author but i want to know
    Does this book have anything to do with birds of prey?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    A fan of Jance

    Not such a fan of this particular book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I love J. A. Jance books. I read a lot of mysteries & can usually figure out "whodunit" before the person is revealed but Jance is famous for throwing in a twist at the end. I have read 17 of her Beaumont Series books & she has fooled me every time. I love that! Keeps me on my toes & wanting more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Don't waste your money.

    Not so great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Not exactly a macho ex-cop

    I realize this is a review many years after the fact, but I just read Birds of Prey. From the very first sentence, Beau reveals himself to be a bit of a sissy, because he seems intimidated by the women he shares the dinner table with. What kind of a cop does that? In various subtle and not-so-subtle ways, Beau isn't exactly the kind of person I see as a former or current homicide detective. As a man, I don't need him to be overly macho, just secure in his manhood. He's too easily intimidated by situations, such as some prosecutor who might toss him under the jail for 'interfering in a police investigation,' which he wasn't doing in the first place. Other than that, I enjoyed the book, as well as the couple of twists and turns and the revelation of characters.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    Worth Reading

    Picked up the book before my trip from Missoula MT to DC, and the trip was much shorter as a result. The Birds of Prey was filled with enough mystery to keep me reading from the time I took off to the time I landed back home. All the time I could see myself in the scenes, following what was happening, and wondering what each character might undertake. JA Jance did a wonderful job of allowing me to be a part of the action and to end the book feeling satisified, entertained, and most of all with a shotened air trip. Thanks, a good book from start to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2001

    Not the Best J.P. Beaumont Book!

    In my admittedly humble opinion, this Beaumont book is not the best of the series. Next time, I hope he's back in Seattle -- or at least in the state of Washington -- and holding some sort of police authority. His clever sense of humor is still here and immensely enjoyable. I look forward to each of this series, and while I'm not disappointed exactly, I'm also not wildly enthusiastic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    Not one for the birds

    I was born, raised, and currently reside in the Pacific Northwest. I go out of my way to find and read fiction stories about the Pacific Northwest especially when J A Jance writes the story. I like to read about my house. J A Jance writes about my house, she lives there too. Actually she lives in a more expensive part of the house. Just the same; I consider her to be my neighbor. (We both belong to the same writer¿s association so I really do see her around the house on occasion.) I will not review the plot of Birds of Prey. Everyone else has done that or will do that. I¿m not going to say that J A Jance is a great writer or that she a wonderful storyteller. We already know this. What I am going to tell you is that when I read a book about my home I want it to be entertaining and I want it to be accurate. I know that J A Jance will never fail me in that regard and so I read her books. My advice to you; from an author, an avid reader, and a Seattleite (that¿s what they call us web-footed moss backed humans up here) is to put Birds of Prey on your ¿must read¿ list. It is excellent

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Beaumont tale

    After twenty long years on the Seattle police force, J.P. Beaumont retires. The traumatic incident from last year on top of his ex-wife¿s death proves too much for J.P. Though he has a good job waiting for him, J.P. chaperones his step-grandfather and grandmother on an Alaskan cruise. The two octogenarians feel they need a much younger person to handle matters if something happens to one of them. <P> Though cruise ships are supposed to be relaxing, Beau becomes involved in one incident after another. He obtains proof that a patron, J.P.¿s dining companion, was dumped overboard by persons unknown. The FBI asks J.P. to keep an eye on the participants of a medical conference because some of the guests might be targets of extremists. One of the individuals J.P. guards almost dies and an Alzheimer¿s patient goes overboard and dies on a train ride under suspicious circumstances. J.P. begins to seek the identity of the perpetrator before someone else dies. <P>J.P. Beaumont has entertained readers for years and the his latest starring role in BIRDS OF PREY still contain his sardonic humor, compassion to his elderly grandparents, and friendly courtesy to the ship¿s patrons who make him feel like a real hero. He easily returns to his police role when strange things occur and he is so good at it, the Feds enlist his assistance. The audience will want J.P. starring in another tale soon. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3