Customer Reviews for

Birdsong

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Surprisingly Good

    I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked this book. I was afraid that all the war descriptions would put me off but the book is written so well that you don't feel overwhelmed by the descriptions of the war. I also really like the way the author ties the different generations together. The characters are written brilliantly, even the lesser characters, but not in a way that confuses the story or makes it complicated. It wasn't a can't put down book but I felt very fulfilled when it ended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Beautifully Heartbreaking

    I am an avid reader of all periods of historical fiction and had never read anything by SFaulks when I picked this book up. From page one he created such a consuming, emotionally gripping love story that progressed into a war story/details that I never would have guessed the book would contain. In the course of reading the book I think I actually read much of it twice out of awe for his beautiful mastery of the english language. His descriptions and understanding of human emotion, both strength and weakness, are brilliant and I found myself feeling as though I was right there in the midst of the trenches and as though I knew each of the men personally. What astounded me most was the honest realty which he wasn't afraid to portray, sometimes making the reader uncomfortable but lending such integrity to the story and the details. After reading the book I wanted to research The Great War more to have a better understanding of context for the characters. Since completing Birdsong, I have also read Charlotte Gray and The Girl at the Lion D'or, which are both excellent as well. Birdsong is truly a book that will stay with you and will change your life and the way you view history.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting mix of history, pain, and love

    I have thoroughly enjoyed this, as well as other books by Sebastian Faulks. He is a wonderful author - very adept at developing his characters and the history surrounding them. I found myself totally immersed in their lives. I know I will be very reluctant to to leave these people when the story ends.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    BECKHAM VS STEPHEN

    I was quite busy those days at the Studios. I work as a Broadcasting News Producer here in Madrid. We had lots of Press Conferences to attend plus lots of pictures to buy. But I was definitely flashed, amazed and in love. Wraysford character was the one. The truth is that I haven't finish it yet but I'm so deeply shocked by this narrative that I need to share it. There's something in it the makes you dive into your own personal hero. While in London a good British friend of mine A.Power told me; 'You better by this book, is touching indeed'-He says. And I really enjoyed it, It's fashing, deep and you wish to arrive home in order to dive again... Victoria and David were trying to find a 'Chalet' to buy here in 'La Moraleja' posh area.While I was in Brussels with Stephen granddaughter trying to make sure if her lover were about to leave his wife or not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Best Book I've Read -

    I am a voracious reader - and this simply is one of the best books I've ever read. It was just so unbelievably beautiful - even among all the horror and pain of WWI. I felt I was living every moment with the men trapped and doomed by the war. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2003

    Superb

    I picked up Birdsong from a used bookstore purely on chance--I had never even heard of Sebastian Faulks before. From the moment I began reading I was entranced. I finished this book in a weekend and was thoroughly engrossed. It was a fantastically moving story of love and longing, survival and struggle. Although Wraysford's character seems detached and distant, I was caught up in his life throughout the book. The intensity of his desire for this woman left all his other experiences seeming pale, and I nearly cried for him in his need for her. Anyone who has ever felt the sting of love unrequited will relate with his longing. A completely wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    re: a must read you will never forget

    A love and war story a little graphic but nothing you don't see in the movies now. It is a story you won't be able to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    It has been a long time since I was sad to finish a book. Despite all 450 pages with too much devoted, in my opinion, to the war instead of the love story, I got lost during the winter nights in this book. I am better, enriched, for having read it, connecting with the process of a young man's journey through an affair and WWI in France. Which broke his heart more? How does one recover? Who loved him more, Isabelle, Jeanne, or Captain Weir in the midst of his isolation? It's hard to say. Thank you, Sebastian Faulks, for this modern, classic novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    I am 16 years old and LOVED this book. I enjoy learning and rea


    I am 16 years old and LOVED this book. I enjoy learning and reading about WWI and WWII. Once you pick up 'Birdsong', it will be hard to
    put down. The characters are brilliantly written and the love story will instantly draw you in. The description[s] of war are sometimes hard 
    to read, but are honestly and realistically portrayed. The love story is beautiful, and equally heartbreaking as well. Sebastian Faulks
    tied the different generations of the story together in a way that is not confusing to the reader. The ending is somewhat abrupt in my
    opinion. But overall, I would definitely recommend this book to those who enjoy historical fictions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    AMAAAAAAAAAAAZING BOOK! absolutely left me breathless but heart-

    AMAAAAAAAAAAAZING BOOK! absolutely left me breathless but heart-wrenching at some parts. The description of war and how the way he phrases the words to know what the characters are feeling but not directly describing it drew me in to love it more. I'm glad I bought it/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Beautiful story that combines all the highlights and heartbreaks

    Beautiful story that combines all the highlights and heartbreaks of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2002

    Brutally Moving!

    This book is a piece of litery genius, i found myself emotionally attatched to stephen wraysford, although he himself is quite iscolated and lonely as a character. Faulks graphic descriptions and shocking imagery capture the brutality of the war and the moving spirit of the soldiers,meanwhile a classic lovestory develops and fades into unconventionality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1