Customer Reviews for

Birth of Venus

Average Rating 4
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Strong Novel That Fizzles in the End

'The Birth of Venus', set in 15th Century Florence, is a story of art, intrigue, and power. Dunant captures the importance of art in the period, the struggles of women at that time. She also shows the destruction and resurrection that religious fervor can caus...
'The Birth of Venus', set in 15th Century Florence, is a story of art, intrigue, and power. Dunant captures the importance of art in the period, the struggles of women at that time. She also shows the destruction and resurrection that religious fervor can cause. Dunant did an excellent job capturing my attention throughout this book with her strong story lines, and her hints of stories yet to be unveiled later on in the book. I stayed-up for hours to read this book, and even brought it to work to read at lunch because I hungered for more! She introduces mesmerizing characters and builds the background of events so carefully, that you wonder what culmination will come of it. Unfortunately, Dunant also makes the mistake that many writers do, of finishing her work too early, in a rush to end the story. The beginning and 'meat' of the novel were outstanding, but the characters fizzled in the end, and the story line with them. The revelation of the mysteries hinted in the book are disappointing at best, and can best be described as boring and uninspired. I will give this book 4 stars because overall it was a very enjoyable read, but it is almost as if a second author came in and finished 'Part IV' after just glancing at the first three parts.

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Overrated, this novel takes a stock heroine-- bright teenaged girl near arranged marriage, considered ugly duckling, inwardly rebelling against her female role in society. Though she never does anything about it. Supposedly she is versed in the classics, but we get non...
Overrated, this novel takes a stock heroine-- bright teenaged girl near arranged marriage, considered ugly duckling, inwardly rebelling against her female role in society. Though she never does anything about it. Supposedly she is versed in the classics, but we get none of that in her viewpoint, only how she longs to paint various saints, ad nauseum. Although religion played a big role in this time, people couldn't have thought about it to the exclusion of everything else, as she virtually does. The real story is the rise and fall of Savonarola in Florence. There is a weak watered-down romance which plays only a small role. It is hard to understand how the writing itself is praised. It is workmanlike and pedestrian, nothing out of the ordinary in any book. The research appears good, but it's disappointing overall.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    A Strong Novel That Fizzles in the End

    'The Birth of Venus', set in 15th Century Florence, is a story of art, intrigue, and power. Dunant captures the importance of art in the period, the struggles of women at that time. She also shows the destruction and resurrection that religious fervor can cause. Dunant did an excellent job capturing my attention throughout this book with her strong story lines, and her hints of stories yet to be unveiled later on in the book. I stayed-up for hours to read this book, and even brought it to work to read at lunch because I hungered for more! She introduces mesmerizing characters and builds the background of events so carefully, that you wonder what culmination will come of it. Unfortunately, Dunant also makes the mistake that many writers do, of finishing her work too early, in a rush to end the story. The beginning and 'meat' of the novel were outstanding, but the characters fizzled in the end, and the story line with them. The revelation of the mysteries hinted in the book are disappointing at best, and can best be described as boring and uninspired. I will give this book 4 stars because overall it was a very enjoyable read, but it is almost as if a second author came in and finished 'Part IV' after just glancing at the first three parts.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    The Birth of Venus

    For fans of historical fiction, this book will take you on a ride you¿ve never experienced. The Birth of Venus grabs your curiosity and never seems to let go. It takes you through the journey of Alessandra Cecchi a teenage girl living in 15th century Italy as she struggles to hide her passion for art. Her passion only deepens when a painter comes to paint the chapel walls of her home, but her intrigue is paused due to her marriage to a man who hold secrets bigger than hers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    Better than most!

    The earlier chapters of this book had me hooked but I must agree with some the comments about the ending it is a little disappointing. All in all, it is better than most and the historical (both events and art) back drop is enthralling.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    i adored it

    Everything about this book is amazing, the rich history of Florence which Dunant paints perfectly into the reader's mind, and the struggle of women during the acme and fall of Florence. Alessandra Cecchi is a wonderful, vibrant leading character, able to keep the reader detailed in the history of the novel and the passion and love she shares for both her husband and the painter. I stayed up until 4am reading this and it truly is an amazing story, but I really wished that the painter just took Alessandra away and spent life happily ever after. But, despite that, this story is an amazing book and I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    suspenseful and interesting historical background

    Set in Florence at the time of Savanarola, just after the Medeci era, this book gives life to the historical background and makes it more memorable and easier to understand. It would not be one of my all-time favorites, but if you are planning to make a trip to Florence it would be more fun to read this first than just a guidebook. There is a trick in the plot that keeps you wondering and interested throughout.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    A wonderful story!

    Was a really great book. At first I was not so into it...but I kept on reading and couldnt put it down until I was done with it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Captivating Story, Very Well Written

    I really loved this book. It was a historical fiction but also a bit of a romance novel, but always tasteful, classy, and never over emotional, sexualized or seedy. Everything was so realistic and the story of this girl was really so believable and entertaining. The book spans the life of this girl and often parallels what is happening in the city at the time. So entertaining and very believable. Very well written, plot and writing equally interesting. Highly recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Overrated, this novel takes a stock heroine-- bright teenaged girl near arranged marriage, considered ugly duckling, inwardly rebelling against her female role in society. Though she never does anything about it. Supposedly she is versed in the classics, but we get none of that in her viewpoint, only how she longs to paint various saints, ad nauseum. Although religion played a big role in this time, people couldn't have thought about it to the exclusion of everything else, as she virtually does. The real story is the rise and fall of Savonarola in Florence. There is a weak watered-down romance which plays only a small role. It is hard to understand how the writing itself is praised. It is workmanlike and pedestrian, nothing out of the ordinary in any book. The research appears good, but it's disappointing overall.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    great story...

    ...really uninspired ending though.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    I Never Even Finished It

    Historically, it was very well-researched. Unfortunately, that is the only nice thing I can say.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Displeasing.

    I read this book in a week. One very long week, if I might say so myself. I found myself concerned with the 'painter's' life more than any other aspect of the novel. I don't usually read the more modern fiction so I guess I was surprised and disgusted with its obscenities. As if there wasn't enough sex on TV. I would definately suggest Irving Stone's 'The Agony and the Ecstasy' over anything of Dunant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    Shocked...I loved it!

    I had heard good things about this book, but every time I picked it up I put it back down. I usually don't get into anything that's not more modern. However, I was blown away by how well written this was. Not only that but how fascinating the story was. As reading the reviews, it amazes me how closed minded people are about sexuality, or anything that doesn't conform to society in books. This was a great story one reason is how different this was compared to so many other books you find on bookstore shelves. I found that the characters all had such interesting stories, and characteristics. They were all so very different, yet the same in so many ways. I ran right out and bought another book by Dunant. I hope to find another intriguing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    Character Disappoints

    I was immediately enthralled with the mystery in the first chapter of the book. I then followed the story with zeal, enjoying the artistic and historic views of Florence. I felt the end of the story was preposterous, and the main character needed some character improvement. As a nun in a convent, I would have really liked it if she had done something more to help others, than to concentrate on her own fulfillment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Fantastic Book!

    Alessandra was an incredible person - very strong individual. I don't usually read books that go into great detail with history, but this was written with such grace that I had a hard time putting it down. Sarah Dunant was at her best when she wrote this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Historical Page-Turner

    The historical and fictional plots of this book will hook you, possibly into staying up reading later than you normally would. I found particularly interesting exactly how the fate of women in such an 'enlightened' period of history was determined by men. Although some might be turned off by how the main character seems a 'puppet', I feel that the author is painting a true picture (sorry for the unintentional pun) of how life really was. The author does an excellent job of retelling the history and weaving in several subplots as to how people were affected by the events of their time. The details of the architecture and art of the time were quite impressive and thoughtfully placed. The only disappointment I had was a lack of development of chemistry between Alessandra and the painter. It made certain parts of the plot feel forced rather than a natural occurrence. In all, a good summer read for a history buff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    Vaguely Interesting and Mildly Disjointed

    The action of this novel takes places in Florence at a time when art, lust, sin, passion, and religion collide. The book recollects the journey of naive Alessandra Cecchi, supposedly a freethinking, fiery rebel. While she matures physically, she remains, 'til the end, highly dependent. She makes foolish decision after foolish decision and never improves. Although she endures hardships, I was never able to sympathize with Alessandra. The plot alternates between speeding and plodding, and the main character is bed-ridden during crucial moments. That aside, there is enough scandalous intrigue to make me pleased with the plot. The prose has descriptions that succeed in captivating the senses. However, none of the characters are fully 'fleshed out' (pun intended). Their backstories are quickly alluded to and their own views aren't expressed. Younger readers should be cautioned due to certain potentially objectionable scenes. There is a birth description horrific enough to easily prevent teenage pregnancy forever. Overall, this is a book for mature women who enjoy romance novels and are seeking a bit of history and culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    Outstanding writing and story

    Sarah Dunant has woven a tale that is spellbinding. From the prologue on you are engrossed in a story too exciting to put down. Her description of the time and her scenes and settings are so vivid you smell the air and hear the sounds. Florence and the history of the time and the intrigue and religious domination is a part of its history not ever told as well, as in this book. Art, sex, friendships, berayals, and intrigue fill every page. Sarah Dunant is a great writer, however this is her best. I hope she has more to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Loved this book! From beginning to end, I was mesmerized by the

    Loved this book! From beginning to end, I was mesmerized by the language, the characters and the plot. Beautifully written and engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Beautifully written

    I love the mix of history and fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Preferred In the Company of the Courtesan

    I read Sarah Dunant's In the Company of the Courtesan before purchasing this book. Unfortunately, I felt The Birth of Venus was lacking.

    While the picture she paints of Renaissance Florence is interesting and lively, the main character is a bit unbelievable and feels far fetched to me. Beyond that, the whole thrust of the story felt forced.

    If you are interested in historical fiction books based around Renaissance artists, I would recommend Leonardo's Swans over The Birth of Venus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12