Customer Reviews for

Birth of a Killer (Saga of Larten Crepsley Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great addition to the series

Loved the original series. As you got further through the twelve, you could tell as a writer Shan was getting very good. Since then I have read Procession of the Dead, and purchased Thin Executioner, but only read the former so far. It was good, but I'll hold judgement ...
Loved the original series. As you got further through the twelve, you could tell as a writer Shan was getting very good. Since then I have read Procession of the Dead, and purchased Thin Executioner, but only read the former so far. It was good, but I'll hold judgement until that series continues further. In terms of this book, I couldn't have asked for anything better. Learning the back story of Larten, in this book from early childhood, was fantastic. Shan's writing as improved even farther. This book takes you from Larten as a child to a 'young' vampire, following his master around as we were used to Darren following Larten. Lots of familiar names will appear, and lots of familiar places. If you haven't read the originals, you will probably miss a lot of references, and he does skim over some topics at a high level, assuming you know more details than are contained in the text. Overall though this was a pleasure to read, and I cannot wait for the continuation of this tale. Although labeled as children/teen reading (which I am not a member of either age group), this is a story for all ages (from the original twelve books through this title). Could not recommend more.

posted by hiP on October 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good author.

I love shan's work. I read the sample and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the book.

posted by Anonymous on July 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Great addition to the series

    Loved the original series. As you got further through the twelve, you could tell as a writer Shan was getting very good. Since then I have read Procession of the Dead, and purchased Thin Executioner, but only read the former so far. It was good, but I'll hold judgement until that series continues further. In terms of this book, I couldn't have asked for anything better. Learning the back story of Larten, in this book from early childhood, was fantastic. Shan's writing as improved even farther. This book takes you from Larten as a child to a 'young' vampire, following his master around as we were used to Darren following Larten. Lots of familiar names will appear, and lots of familiar places. If you haven't read the originals, you will probably miss a lot of references, and he does skim over some topics at a high level, assuming you know more details than are contained in the text. Overall though this was a pleasure to read, and I cannot wait for the continuation of this tale. Although labeled as children/teen reading (which I am not a member of either age group), this is a story for all ages (from the original twelve books through this title). Could not recommend more.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Larten fans click here

    In my opinnion larten crepsley is the best vampire of them all
    (Until he dies in the pit of stakes no thanks to steve)

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    It is good!

    I like it more than the demonata series and let me tell u thats alot!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    BEST DARRAN SHAN BOOK YEt!

    One of the best of all of darren shan's book. A prequal of my favorite character. I loved learning how Mr. Crepsley was as a kid and how he became a vampire, it had funny moments, and a few sad moments, but overall it was GREAT!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read-The Man Behind Larten Crepsley

    The first ebook I have ever bought for my Nook! An excellent book that made me want to read the next when I finished it. Sadly, we have to wait until April. I'm happy that Darren Shan wrote about everyones favorite character from The Cirque Du Freak. If you have not read The Saga of Darren Shan, I don't think you could appreciate the book as much, because it gives more insight into a character from The Darren Shan Saga and also more insight into the vampire world and its other characters. If you haven't read the other saga this is still a good book to read and very easy to understand. Darren Shan has improved as a writer since The Saga of Darren Shan. In this book, we really get to see who Larten is and the purpose for his actions. This is a must read for Cirque Du Freak fans.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Spioler alert

    Absolutly love shans work at the beging of the cirq series i was skeptical but at the end i was in love with the series i literly cried when crepsly died so geting to read his back story will be amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    DAREN SHAN RULES

    This is good, good, good. Just as good as every other book Darren Shan has written. I've read every book by Darren Shan and each is just as fantastic as this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Lovely

    Im 12.This for all those colledge/adult peeps out there. If you are looking at this review your crazy. HAVN'T U RED DA DARREN SHAWN SERIESE! If u have u know that this series is AMAZING just cuz it was writen by da same author! Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Good author.

    I love shan's work. I read the sample and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Great read

    thi was a great book to start of the series. if you liked this i would strongly recomend the vampires assistant series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Vancha vs. Larten

    Okay done get me wrong I love larten but Vancha just rocked the house for me is the Cirque Du Freak series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eternal love for Larten Crepsely!!

    I already read the Saga of Darren Shan before the Larten Crepsley saga and he is my favorite character!!And it is very interesting to learn about his childhood and his becoming of a vampire.(by the way, the darren shan saga is really amazing too.I reccomend these books!!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    Highly recomended

    This book is a must read. If you read the Circè de Freak books you will love this. If not you will enjoy the ride it takes you on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    very good

    i luveed this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    highly recommended

    one of the best books i've ever read and darren shan is my favorite author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    AWESOME

    great book. cant wait for the next 1

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    awesome

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Five stars just like all the rest of Darren Shans works. Once ag

    Five stars just like all the rest of Darren Shans works. Once again I was pulled right into the heart of the story and read this in one night. I can't get enough of these stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Darren Shan makes the best hardcover books Ive ever read. Especi

    Darren Shan makes the best hardcover books Ive ever read. Especially Cirque Du Freak. His books are works of art. READ IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Plz lend

    Is anyone here willing to lend me oceans of blood if u have it? If u can just write back on here and ill see it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8