Customer Reviews for

Birthright

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Read

I love a mystery and a good romance, this book intertwines both. I feel this is one of the best books Nora Roberts has written. Her family dynamics are expressed with great feeling, pulling the reader into the emotions of her writing. This is a difficult book to put ...
I love a mystery and a good romance, this book intertwines both. I feel this is one of the best books Nora Roberts has written. Her family dynamics are expressed with great feeling, pulling the reader into the emotions of her writing. This is a difficult book to put down until the last page has been turned.

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The book is GREAT! The narration HORRIBLE!

It is a shame that a book as wonderful as Birthright has such a horrible narrator like Bernadette Quigley. I had the unfortunate chance to hear Ms. Quigley on the Three Fates audio and it was done so poorly, I actually returned it to the store. I didn¿t check to see w...
It is a shame that a book as wonderful as Birthright has such a horrible narrator like Bernadette Quigley. I had the unfortunate chance to hear Ms. Quigley on the Three Fates audio and it was done so poorly, I actually returned it to the store. I didn¿t check to see who was reading Birthright, much to my chagrin. Ms. Quigley does not seem to have a range of voices to pull from, such as a fellow reader of Nora Roberts, Sandra Burr. In this reading Jake sounds like an eighty year old man and it¿s actually kinda creepy. Most of the male characters all have the same `voice¿ and you aren¿t sure who is supposed to be talking until their name is spoken. Ms. Quigley does an excellent job of reading Callie. She uses just the right amount of sarcasm in her voice and Lana is pretty well done too, but beyond that, it¿s terrible. I HIGHLY recommend the book, but stay far away from the audio!

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Least favorite NR book

    I didn't enjoy this book at all. I thought the main character was unlikeable and I kept hoping by the end of the novel she would redeem herself, but that didn't happen. Since I couldn't like the main character, it was hard to enjoy the rest of the story. The ending was also so-so given that some of the culprits were never brought to justice. I may not have enjoyed this book, but overall I do enjoy Nora Roberts, so I will still continue to read other novels by her. If you are looking for better NR books, then I recommend The Search, Montana Sky, or High Noon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    Worst voice ever!

    I listened to this on CD, and was so destracted by the over dramatic and analying voice. The story was okay. I'm sure I would have enjoyed it a whole lot more if it had a deceant reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Thrilling

    Fun read, with two interesting characters that are well developed and have some wonderful chemistry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Liked It

    The story was complicated and drew me in. The ending wasn't so great though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    Good book--but!

    Downside: Jake & Callie were very immature during their marriage. She accused him of being unfaithful based on his past reputation and the manipulations of a vindictive woman instead of trusting him. Instead of telling her it wasn't true, he says nothing, walks out on her and sends her divorce papers. And she lets it happen. Fast forward, they're now working on a dig together. They each still blame the other for the break-up of their marriage, neither will take any responsibility. I also didn't get Callie's attitude. She avoided love and commitment like the plague, and was rabidly independent. Why? She wasn't raised that way nor had an experience that would explain it. And it wasn't a genetic trait. Upside: It was an incredible plot. Heartbreaking, thrilling, funny and romantic all at once. The information on the dig was fascinating. I loved the secondary romance and ached for Suzanne and Jay, what a horrible experience. And although I figured out the culprit about half way through the book, the why eluded me until the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Another great Nora Roberts book

    This was a great book. I couldn't put it down. The interaction between the two lead characters was incredible. This one is definitely going on the keeper shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    Great Book

    This is my fourth book by Nora Roberts and it was the fourth that I could not put down. The story was compelling, heartbreaking, honest and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Amazing

    It was very well written. The characters blend well, and have exceptional as well as annoying qualities. There are many different story lines to follow, but all interact nicely. You can learn about science, and still get swept up in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Good Story - Bad Narration

    Nora Roberts writes a good story, but Bernadette Quigley's narration is very distracting. All of her male characters seem to have sore throats, and her idea of a Maryland accent is way off. The story line is true to form for Nora Roberts - Interesting with likable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    A well written book.

    It's a good book that I couldn't put it down. It has mystery and romance in it. It was so good that I had to lend it to my mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    A Must Read !!!

    This is a page turner to say the least....A romantic suspense thriller...could not put the book down, and if you have ever read a book that you didn't want it to end, this is it !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    GREAT; LOVED IT!!!!

    This is my second Nora book and it's the best book I've ever read! My first book was 'Northern Lights' and I thought it was very good but this book is the BEST! I can't put into words how much I LOVED this book. I liked the mystery/suspense. I loved how there were two romance stories in this book but the main one was always up front. I really loved the ending. It was so unexpected and made me jump when I read it! It was sooo romantic and really lovely. I liked the character Callie-strong, risk-taker, and weak when it comes to Jacob/Jake. She is someone most of us could relate to-still having feelings for an ex. I really liked the character Jake-supportive, ambitious, and passionate. I think this book is so amazing all of you should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    Didn't Put It Down

    This is the first book I have read by Norah Roberts and it was very good, I barely put it down while reading it. I am glad I decided to grab it. Can't wait to read more by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2004

    pretty good

    This is the first Nora Roberts book that I've read. I had the pages turning since page one. It has romance and suspense. If you haven't read any of her books yet, gotta pick this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Excellent reading

    I thoroughly enjoyed this romantic suspense thriller. The story is so well written that I did not even skip a single line or page while I was at it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Nora Rocks!

    Absolutely loved this book. If you like any Nora Roberts' books, I'm sure you will love this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    excellent reading

    nora roberts has a way of intrigrating mystery, romance, and suprise in her work .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    VERY good book

    This is a great book if you are interested in archeology ( and a little romance;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    WOW!!!!

    I have recently started reading this author (Key series) and I have been hooked. This book did not disappoint. I really became interested in the characters as well as the story line. Got hooked at the Prologue. She has made a faithful follower out of me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    This is my favorite book.

    This was my first Nora Roberts book and I absolutely fell in love with her writing style. I do not read a lot at all and I finished this book in 3 days because I could not put it down. What would be another Roberts book that is as captivating as this one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8