Customer Reviews for

Birthright

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Read

I love a mystery and a good romance, this book intertwines both. I feel this is one of the best books Nora Roberts has written. Her family dynamics are expressed with great feeling, pulling the reader into the emotions of her writing. This is a difficult book to put ...
I love a mystery and a good romance, this book intertwines both. I feel this is one of the best books Nora Roberts has written. Her family dynamics are expressed with great feeling, pulling the reader into the emotions of her writing. This is a difficult book to put down until the last page has been turned.

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The book is GREAT! The narration HORRIBLE!

It is a shame that a book as wonderful as Birthright has such a horrible narrator like Bernadette Quigley. I had the unfortunate chance to hear Ms. Quigley on the Three Fates audio and it was done so poorly, I actually returned it to the store. I didn¿t check to see w...
It is a shame that a book as wonderful as Birthright has such a horrible narrator like Bernadette Quigley. I had the unfortunate chance to hear Ms. Quigley on the Three Fates audio and it was done so poorly, I actually returned it to the store. I didn¿t check to see who was reading Birthright, much to my chagrin. Ms. Quigley does not seem to have a range of voices to pull from, such as a fellow reader of Nora Roberts, Sandra Burr. In this reading Jake sounds like an eighty year old man and it¿s actually kinda creepy. Most of the male characters all have the same `voice¿ and you aren¿t sure who is supposed to be talking until their name is spoken. Ms. Quigley does an excellent job of reading Callie. She uses just the right amount of sarcasm in her voice and Lana is pretty well done too, but beyond that, it¿s terrible. I HIGHLY recommend the book, but stay far away from the audio!

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    Outstanding Read

    I love a mystery and a good romance, this book intertwines both. I feel this is one of the best books Nora Roberts has written. Her family dynamics are expressed with great feeling, pulling the reader into the emotions of her writing. This is a difficult book to put down until the last page has been turned.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    I ENJOYED THIS BOOK!

    It's been a long time since I curled up with a Nora Roberts book! I was pleased to see that some things never change . . knock-your-socks-off romance, a family-oriented story line (in spades!!), strong heroines who brook no nonsense and sexy male counterparts who keep the pages turning.

    As a youngster, I dreamt of becoming an archaeologist . . couple that basic premise with intrigue, sleuthing, seduction, betrayal and suspense and you've got a very entertaining read!

    I enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    A+++++++

    This was a VERY good book! Loved it! Had somm unexpected turns but thats what made it so hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended !

    Once again Nora Roberts has written a story that you just don't want to put down ! I would recommended it to everyone that likes her books .The plot keeps you guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!!!!!

    I love this book! It is what you would expect from Nora Roberts! She is an awesome writer and has proved it again with this book! The characters and story line are great and kept me hooked and reading until I was finished with the book! A must read!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    awesome

    Nora Roberts knows what she is doing when she sits down and starts to tell a tale. The woman is truly talented and amazing storyteller because you are pulled in by the characters and the overwhelming plot she has cooking. Automatically you know you won't put it down till you finish the last sentence on the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Loved it

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Thoroughly satisfying!

    Great plot! Very well developed and gripping. Real romances: she dealt with very relevant dynamics in human relationships including disappointment, withdrawal, distrust, superficiality, loss, forgiveness, hope. She really has a gift with interpreting/describing real life responses to tragedy to the extent where she pulls the reader completely into the lives of her characters. There is a long list of admirable, imperfect, easy-to-relate-to-characters in this book. Even the murdering antagonist has you rooting for them. All in all a thrilling read that I didn't want to end. There are some books that leave you empty, disappointed, even irritated. This book left me satisfied. Take the leap, spend the money, you'll echo my sentiments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I think Nora Roberts is a trully talented author.She has wrote s

    I think Nora Roberts is a trully talented author.She has wrote sevral books but Birthright is my favorite.I love that the book Birthright is a combonation of romance and mystery. It was hard for me to put down the book after I started reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Recommend to anyone

    Favorite book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Favorite Nora book

    The ending is perfection and all the archaelogical stuff is interesting. To me it felt like the movie sweet home alabam and i also loved the side story on Doug!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BEST!

    Honestly, one of the BEST books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    A well written book.

    It's a good book that I couldn't put it down. It has mystery and romance in it. It was so good that I had to lend it to my mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    A Must Read !!!

    This is a page turner to say the least....A romantic suspense thriller...could not put the book down, and if you have ever read a book that you didn't want it to end, this is it !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    GREAT; LOVED IT!!!!

    This is my second Nora book and it's the best book I've ever read! My first book was 'Northern Lights' and I thought it was very good but this book is the BEST! I can't put into words how much I LOVED this book. I liked the mystery/suspense. I loved how there were two romance stories in this book but the main one was always up front. I really loved the ending. It was so unexpected and made me jump when I read it! It was sooo romantic and really lovely. I liked the character Callie-strong, risk-taker, and weak when it comes to Jacob/Jake. She is someone most of us could relate to-still having feelings for an ex. I really liked the character Jake-supportive, ambitious, and passionate. I think this book is so amazing all of you should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Excellent reading

    I thoroughly enjoyed this romantic suspense thriller. The story is so well written that I did not even skip a single line or page while I was at it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Nora Rocks!

    Absolutely loved this book. If you like any Nora Roberts' books, I'm sure you will love this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    excellent reading

    nora roberts has a way of intrigrating mystery, romance, and suprise in her work .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    VERY good book

    This is a great book if you are interested in archeology ( and a little romance;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    WOW!!!!

    I have recently started reading this author (Key series) and I have been hooked. This book did not disappoint. I really became interested in the characters as well as the story line. Got hooked at the Prologue. She has made a faithful follower out of me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4