Customer Reviews for

Birthright

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Read

I love a mystery and a good romance, this book intertwines both. I feel this is one of the best books Nora Roberts has written. Her family dynamics are expressed with great feeling, pulling the reader into the emotions of her writing. This is a difficult book to put ...
I love a mystery and a good romance, this book intertwines both. I feel this is one of the best books Nora Roberts has written. Her family dynamics are expressed with great feeling, pulling the reader into the emotions of her writing. This is a difficult book to put down until the last page has been turned.

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The book is GREAT! The narration HORRIBLE!

It is a shame that a book as wonderful as Birthright has such a horrible narrator like Bernadette Quigley. I had the unfortunate chance to hear Ms. Quigley on the Three Fates audio and it was done so poorly, I actually returned it to the store. I didn¿t check to see w...
It is a shame that a book as wonderful as Birthright has such a horrible narrator like Bernadette Quigley. I had the unfortunate chance to hear Ms. Quigley on the Three Fates audio and it was done so poorly, I actually returned it to the store. I didn¿t check to see who was reading Birthright, much to my chagrin. Ms. Quigley does not seem to have a range of voices to pull from, such as a fellow reader of Nora Roberts, Sandra Burr. In this reading Jake sounds like an eighty year old man and it¿s actually kinda creepy. Most of the male characters all have the same `voice¿ and you aren¿t sure who is supposed to be talking until their name is spoken. Ms. Quigley does an excellent job of reading Callie. She uses just the right amount of sarcasm in her voice and Lana is pretty well done too, but beyond that, it¿s terrible. I HIGHLY recommend the book, but stay far away from the audio!

posted by Anonymous on May 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    This is my favorite book.

    This was my first Nora Roberts book and I absolutely fell in love with her writing style. I do not read a lot at all and I finished this book in 3 days because I could not put it down. What would be another Roberts book that is as captivating as this one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2003

    She's got me again!!!

    Nora Roberts is by far my favorite writer. I am always searching for new material to read.In Birthright, I wasn't let down. Callie is a bright young woman who caught my attention right from the start. Jake is her rough and ready but still studly husband. Robert's books are known for their page turning ability but this one tops them all. I loved reading about the tension between Jake and Callie when they are brought back together at the site. Roberts has a rare gift to bring romance and murder onto the same page and still make it believable enough to keep me reading.The ending was a twist that I wasn't expecting. As with most of her books that I read, I do hope that she continues Jake and Callie's story. I recommend this book for anyone who loves a discriptive, flowing and captivating romance/mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Very Exciting

    Nora Roberts is one of my all time favorite authors and I loved this book. I don't think Callie was 'devoid of any likability'. I really like her character. I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    Nora Roberts is the best!!!

    I absolutly loved this book! I fell in love with Jake as soon as I started reading it. I also liked his and Callies'personalities. It leads to an excellent book. You've got romance, murder, and a great mystery....what more could you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    Wonderful story!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found the archeology part interesting as well. The ending was a real surprise, although I did expect a little more in regards to other characters in the story. Maybe she will write a sequel and let us know what happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    Nora NEVER lets me down!

    I eagerly anticipate every NR new release, and as usual, she deliverd with Birthright. I was hooked on Callie's story from the beginning, and Jake is one of my favorites of all Nora's heroes. Nobody writes families like Nora!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2003

    Good Book

    Good story--one of those that you think about during the day till you have time to pick it up and begin reading again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    great read

    this book encompasses romance and thrill. I don't know how she does it, but Roberts is one author able to sustain her writing power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    The Best

    This may be the best Nora Roberts book to date. I love characters who are strong-willed and witty, yet also have a great capacity for compassion and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    Roberts does it again!

    BIRTHRIGHT is a must read! I read it in less than 48 hours! The characters are so engaging and they just don't ever let you go! Check it out now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    The best book I've ever read...

    Out of all of the books I have read, this by far is the best. I'm running around telling all of my friends and coworkers to go get the book. It was a mystery, love story, current day, somewhat educational book. With the exception of some foul language, I couldn't get enough. I didn't want the book to end. Screaming for a sequel!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2003

    Oh yeah!

    When a worker at an Antietam Creek construction site uncovered a five thousand-year-old human skull, construction work stopped and experts were called in. Dr. Callie Dunbrook was the archaeologist assigned to head a team and work the site. The only big problem to her was that she was forced to work with her irritating, but irresistible, ex-husband, Jake. ............ Later, Callie was approached by a woman that claimed Callie was the daughter someone had kidnapped from her long ago. Callie's world would change drastically. And the more Callie dug for the truth about her past, the more danger surrounded everyone she cared for! ......... ***** A well written novel that overflows with awesome main and secondary characters. Be warned that there are some spicy hot love scenes mixed in with this tale of thrills, mystery, danger, and romance. An excellent story by one of the best authors of today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    The red carpet rolls for Nora Roberts again...

    The book is great. I love Jake and Callie! Their relationship is really funny, given that Callie... All I have to say is that is yet the best one there is of Nora Roberts. The plot is intriguing and suspenseful. Callie is a beautiful character that is strong and brave. Jake is funny and loving. After I read this, I wished to have a Jake for myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful romantic suspense thriller

    In an innocuous mall, a mother comforts her three-year-old son taking her eyes off her three-month-old daughter, when someone kidnaps the baby. Twenty-nine years later Suzanne Cullen watches a TV news clip about a Maryland archeological dig when she instantly recognizes her daughter, the site¿s archeologist Callie Dunbrook. When Suzanne makes contact with Callie, the forensic archeologist is sure the woman is lying because she knows she is not adopted. Suzanne plants just enough doubt in Callie¿s mind for her to sneak into her father¿s private files where she is shocked to see the adoption papers. Her parents swear that they adopted her in good faith through a lawyer who specialized in private adoptions. Callie vows that she will find the people connected to the black market scheme and expose them. Her ex-husband Jake is backing her all the way. There are some people who want the past to stay buried and are perfectly willing to kill to make that happen. Nora Roberts has written a very creative romantic suspense thriller where innocent bystanders having nothing to do with the black market adoption scam are killed; thus adding a touch of authenticity to the taut plot. The heroine and her ex-husband, who are slowly working their way back to each other, realize that some amoral person lacking any conscience is using misdirection to confuse and wear them down. Callie is a strong resilient woman who bends but never breaks even when the shocks and traumas keep happening. BIRTHRIGHT is a splendid drama that cannot be put down until the finale. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Writing is Nora's 'Birthright'

    I read an advanced copy of this title and wow! Robert's fans will be pleased and new readers will be hooked! Don't miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4