Customer Reviews for

Bitch: In Praise of Difficult Women

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Excellent

    Loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    a feminist book

    This book is filled with amazing research and facts and just over all very well written. Although out of the books ive read by wurtzel this one would have to be my least favorite Prozac Nation is my favorite by far but everyone of her books are an amazing thoughtful reading experience. This book has made me abit of a feminist and my favorite line from this book is "no woman should ever lose her mind over a man, a woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    A great book.

    The first thing that is obvious when reading the book is the amount of research put into it. Wurtzel is an amazing author. Although I will admit there were times where I felt that she rambled a little too much she did make very impressive points. A must read! A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    okayy

    This book was rollercoaster of enjoyment. Wurtzel had the tendency to ramble on too much. I felt like skipping the whole Blonde in the Bleacher chapter altogether. There were parts in the book that made me want to continue reading but others leaving me wishing she would shut the hell up, and I could get my $14 back. Of course the ending led back to her discussing her life, and her problems, as if she hasnt told us enough about herself. Even with it's downfalls, Wurtzel did have strong but negotiable points of view, and caused me to take intrest in Women Studies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Wurtzel for president!

    This is a very entertaining and provocative book that proves that Wurtzel does indeed have a brain. A lot of research clearly went into compiling it, and I think she's done a pretty good job of picking women throughout history who have indeed been 'difficult' for one reason or another. Her interpretations of the information, rather than the information itself, is sometimes kind of questionable, but I suppose that's artistic license in a book like this. Like another reviewer stated, this book does ramble on a bit, but then again I suppose that Wurtzel's style and she's entitled to it. Overall, a very enjoyable and somewhat thought provoking read that will especially be enjoyed by Wurtzel fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    There She Goes Again

    Erm well what can I say, I feel any words I know wouldn't come close to how amazing this book is!!!....this rewiew could never be long enough to express all my respect and admiration for Miss Wurtzel. I'm 18 years old and I feel privileged thats I've read this book as I'm sure most women that have read 'Bitch' wish they had as a teenager. A real eye opener READ IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    There She Goes Again

    This book is a poignant and deeply thought provoking account of the iconic women that have graced the screen, pages, and tabloids of the past century. Elizabeth Wurtzel discusses women from Sylvia Plath to Courtney Love to Amy Fisher. This is a book that every woman should read. It's reverence toward the women who were labeled difficult, moody, and unconvential in a world that did not allow for women to express themselves verbally, emotionally, sexually, or mentally; is a breath of fresh air. Unlike the usual diatribes that are written about angst filled girls and women whom we pull apart and expose for the frauds we believe them to be, Wurtzel's book embraces them and even empathizes with them. This is written about women who by their own volition or not, lived by this: quod me nutrit me destruit; which, is Latin for what nourishes me also destroys me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Articulating the obvious

    Elizabeth has a way of taking the most overlooked expression and making it into pages of lucid explanation with heart and a fist to match. Her wrighting can blow you down and lift your spirits all before you turn the first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    I'VE READ IT TWICE

    'Bitch' was an amazing exploration into the female psyche. As I read, I found myself jotting down quotes. I particularly loved this one: 'I intend to scream, shout, race the engine, call when I feel like it, throw tantrums at Bloomingdales if I feel like it and confess intimate details about my life to complete strangers. I intend to do what I want to do and be whom I want to be and answer only to myself: that is, quite simply, the bitch philosophy.' I believe that all women would benefit if they would take this advice into account, and stop being the submissive 'little woman' that feminism has fought so hard to abolish. This is an absolute must read. Her intelligent yet funny style of writing reels one in; I can't wait for Wurtzel's new book to come out in February! I'm sure I'll devour it in one sitting. Keep up the amazing writing, EW- you're inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1