BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Bite Before Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

these are two thrilling vampire romances

"The Gift" by Lynsay Sands. Port Henry Police Chef Teddy Brunswick is snowed in without electricity at Marguerite Argeneau's isolated Colorado cabin. He cannot escape as downed trees block the road and his truck is frozen. Next door is Katricia Argeneau who tells him...
"The Gift" by Lynsay Sands. Port Henry Police Chef Teddy Brunswick is snowed in without electricity at Marguerite Argeneau's isolated Colorado cabin. He cannot escape as downed trees block the road and his truck is frozen. Next door is Katricia Argeneau who tells him she has food while he has a fire in the fireplace. Tricia is excited as she cannot read her fellow stranded traveler, which means that Marguerite is probably right that the man who looks like her grandfather is her life mate. She tells him she is in law enforcement as a Council Enforcer in New York and that Marguerite is her aunt; he knows what she is but is unsure what he is to her.

"Home for the Holidays" by Jeaniene Frost. Cat arranges a surprise birthday party for her beloved husband Bones the vampire. Fabian the ghost, Spade, Ian, Mancheres, Denise and Kira arrive, but Annette fails to show up. Ian goes to see why. Blood is everywhere and Annette looks like she was tortured but refuses to say by who in spite of her sire Bones demanding she does. Bones catches a vampire in the woods; he says he is his half-brother Wraith. Ian distrusts Wraith while Cat has doubts too. After a few hours, Cat decides to kill Wraith in order to save her beloved who acts as if he is entranced. She obtains help from Ian and Denise, also affected by Wraith.

With strong casts, these are two thrilling vampire romances that are part of each author's respective series (Lynsay Sands' Argeneau saga and Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress saga).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Major Disappointment

I purchased this in hopes of reading full story about the Argeneaus. Similar to the other negative reviews, I wanted a more involved story about them rather than one from an author that I am not familiar with. The amount of pages dedicated to Lynsay Sands characters w...
I purchased this in hopes of reading full story about the Argeneaus. Similar to the other negative reviews, I wanted a more involved story about them rather than one from an author that I am not familiar with. The amount of pages dedicated to Lynsay Sands characters were far less than the Frost story. In addition, the cost of this book was significantly higher. Rather than paying for a novel with combined authors, I would have preferred to pay less for a short story from a single author. I would not make this purchase again in the future.

posted by Zbones on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    these are two thrilling vampire romances

    "The Gift" by Lynsay Sands. Port Henry Police Chef Teddy Brunswick is snowed in without electricity at Marguerite Argeneau's isolated Colorado cabin. He cannot escape as downed trees block the road and his truck is frozen. Next door is Katricia Argeneau who tells him she has food while he has a fire in the fireplace. Tricia is excited as she cannot read her fellow stranded traveler, which means that Marguerite is probably right that the man who looks like her grandfather is her life mate. She tells him she is in law enforcement as a Council Enforcer in New York and that Marguerite is her aunt; he knows what she is but is unsure what he is to her.

    "Home for the Holidays" by Jeaniene Frost. Cat arranges a surprise birthday party for her beloved husband Bones the vampire. Fabian the ghost, Spade, Ian, Mancheres, Denise and Kira arrive, but Annette fails to show up. Ian goes to see why. Blood is everywhere and Annette looks like she was tortured but refuses to say by who in spite of her sire Bones demanding she does. Bones catches a vampire in the woods; he says he is his half-brother Wraith. Ian distrusts Wraith while Cat has doubts too. After a few hours, Cat decides to kill Wraith in order to save her beloved who acts as if he is entranced. She obtains help from Ian and Denise, also affected by Wraith.

    With strong casts, these are two thrilling vampire romances that are part of each author's respective series (Lynsay Sands' Argeneau saga and Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress saga).

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Great book!

    I love both authors; for those of you criticizing Jeaniene Frost, to bad for you! You don't know what an excellant series in her books you are missing. The first book in the series featuring Cat and Bones starts out a little slow but OMG! Stick with it and you won't be disapointed! Keep up the good work!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Very Good & Good!

    Lynsay Sands "The Gift" featuring Port Henry's Police Chief Teddy Brunswick and Katricia Argeneau deserves a 5-Star rating. The unfolding love story is developed completely and touches one's heart. Only flaw is the story ends too quickly. Because of this story, I am adding the book to my permanent collection.

    Jeaniene Frost "Home for the Holidays" featuring Kat and Bones is good. I always enjoy when the hero and heroine work together to solve the problem from early in a story rather than a large part of the story being them fighting against each other. Should get a 3.5 to 4 Star rating.

    Because the book contains only 2 stories, it is so obvious that Ms. Sands writng abilities far outshine Ms. Frost. Perhaps such a new talent should not be featured side by side with a professional. Bunny

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Surprise!

    I gave it four stars instead of five because I felt like Lynsay Sands shorted us on another great Argeneau book!!! This book contains two stories. The story by Lynsay Sands, author of the Argeneau Vampire Series and a story by author, Jeaniene Frost. I have read all of the Argeneau Series by Lynsay Sands and almost missed this one! Her story is only 75 pages and is the story of Teddy, the sheriff of Port Henry, who already knows about the immortals, finding his life mate! I was sooo excited and happy for him! I wish this had been a whole book included in the Argeneau Series! The story is named "The Gift". Don't miss this one if you are following the Argeneau Series!!! The other story was a good story about a different type of vampire group and fighting a demon. I enjoyed it, but already follow enough authors in this genre... PLEASE, Lynsay, don't hide Argeneau characters in short stories that are not part of the Argenuea series!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Major Disappointment

    I purchased this in hopes of reading full story about the Argeneaus. Similar to the other negative reviews, I wanted a more involved story about them rather than one from an author that I am not familiar with. The amount of pages dedicated to Lynsay Sands characters were far less than the Frost story. In addition, the cost of this book was significantly higher. Rather than paying for a novel with combined authors, I would have preferred to pay less for a short story from a single author. I would not make this purchase again in the future.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great read

    I really enjoy both the nigh huntress series and the argeneau series and so I was looking foward to catching up with the characters.
    Lynsay Sands "The Gift" was about Teddy finding his lifemate. I reall y like Teddy and I'm glad he has a lifemate but this sory was very light. I didn't feel the connection or feel like they were falling in love. I give it 3 stars.
    Frost's "Home for the Holidays" on the other hand was great. I love Cat and Bones but this story had Cat and Ian working together to save Bones and their friends. I think Ian is hilarious and I was happy to have so much of him in this novella. I give it 5 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Great Short Stories

    I really enjoyed both stories in this book. I am a huge fan of the Night Huntress series & the last novel was kind-of a let down. However, the story in this book made up for my disappointment. As for the Agreneau story, I have been wishing that Teddy would join the clan for quite some time & loved how it all came about. I hope he reappears in future novels so we can see how the happy couple is doing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I don't know why I love this type of novel, but I do. For one thing the characters are thoroughly likeable and deserving. But I also love this kind of storyline, where there is some paranormal element in it. It makes the whole book very suspensful

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Really good.

    This book has two short stories in it. I was already a fan of Jeaniene Frost and that was why I purchased this book. So, when Lynsay Sands work I was blown away. The short story is apart of a 18 book series and I've now read all 18 books. Some of them twice. Lynsay Sands and Jeaniene Frost are both remarkable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Neither author will leave you disappointed! I bought it to read one of the authors stories and out of bordem I red the other and love it so much I bought the rest of the series to read as well! Thanks again, Authers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Great Book! Found a new author to love.

    I've enjoyed all of Lynsay Sands books. This did not disappoint me. Plus, I've never read Jeaniene Frost before, and found it to be a great read! Can't wait to collect her back issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Disappointed

    I waited a long time for the next Argeneau book to be available. I've read all of the Argeneau family books. This book was two stories in one. Teddy's story was only 78 pages long. The plot was rushed, glossed over, and didn't have enough descriptive details. The character, Teddy, deserved a book of his own. I could give a rip about the other vampire story in the book. I hope Ms Sands doesn't do this again.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    good short read

    good short stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    I really enjoyed both Linsay Sands and Jeaniene Frost's novellas

    I really enjoyed both Linsay Sands and Jeaniene Frost's novellas in this book. This book is recommended, especially if you are a Linsay
    Sands fan wondering about Teddy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Neither of these stories have anything to do with Christmas. Jus

    Neither of these stories have anything to do with Christmas. Just take place in the holiday season.

    The Gift by Lynsay Sands was just offal. It had potential but was just crude and all about sex. I did not get through it. Definitely not worth reading.

    Home for the Holidays by Jeaniene Frost however was much better. I actually enjoyed it. It is the first I have read from this author so I did not know the characters but the story stood well on its own. I now have a desire to read previous stories to get some more background on them. This story was a typical paranormal bad guys try and take over good guys. Only some of the good guys are not affected and have to fight for all.

    There is a lot of language in it and a sex scene between a married couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Disappointing, to say the least....

    I have purchased most of Sand's ARGENEAU series and was very satisfied with the story line and characterizations in previous works. BITE BEFORE CHRISTMAS is a serious descent beneath Sand's works in this series.
    -------LME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Great reading.

    I enjoyed the suspense and story line. This was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Loved it !!!

    Very good, great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    N

    Both are awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Two great stories!

    Two of my favorite authors in one book, can't get better then that!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9