Customer Reviews for

The Bite Before Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

these are two thrilling vampire romances

"The Gift" by Lynsay Sands. Port Henry Police Chef Teddy Brunswick is snowed in without electricity at Marguerite Argeneau's isolated Colorado cabin. He cannot escape as downed trees block the road and his truck is frozen. Next door is Katricia Argeneau who tells him...
"The Gift" by Lynsay Sands. Port Henry Police Chef Teddy Brunswick is snowed in without electricity at Marguerite Argeneau's isolated Colorado cabin. He cannot escape as downed trees block the road and his truck is frozen. Next door is Katricia Argeneau who tells him she has food while he has a fire in the fireplace. Tricia is excited as she cannot read her fellow stranded traveler, which means that Marguerite is probably right that the man who looks like her grandfather is her life mate. She tells him she is in law enforcement as a Council Enforcer in New York and that Marguerite is her aunt; he knows what she is but is unsure what he is to her.

"Home for the Holidays" by Jeaniene Frost. Cat arranges a surprise birthday party for her beloved husband Bones the vampire. Fabian the ghost, Spade, Ian, Mancheres, Denise and Kira arrive, but Annette fails to show up. Ian goes to see why. Blood is everywhere and Annette looks like she was tortured but refuses to say by who in spite of her sire Bones demanding she does. Bones catches a vampire in the woods; he says he is his half-brother Wraith. Ian distrusts Wraith while Cat has doubts too. After a few hours, Cat decides to kill Wraith in order to save her beloved who acts as if he is entranced. She obtains help from Ian and Denise, also affected by Wraith.

With strong casts, these are two thrilling vampire romances that are part of each author's respective series (Lynsay Sands' Argeneau saga and Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress saga).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Major Disappointment

I purchased this in hopes of reading full story about the Argeneaus. Similar to the other negative reviews, I wanted a more involved story about them rather than one from an author that I am not familiar with. The amount of pages dedicated to Lynsay Sands characters w...
I purchased this in hopes of reading full story about the Argeneaus. Similar to the other negative reviews, I wanted a more involved story about them rather than one from an author that I am not familiar with. The amount of pages dedicated to Lynsay Sands characters were far less than the Frost story. In addition, the cost of this book was significantly higher. Rather than paying for a novel with combined authors, I would have preferred to pay less for a short story from a single author. I would not make this purchase again in the future.

posted by Zbones on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Here Is A nice Tie

    i thought this book on jeaniene frost end helped tie in well with the other Cat and Bones book. I really liked how it allowed Bones not to be without family despite everything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I love Linsay

    Another great book from Lynsay Sands! I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Great series! If you love vampire romance with a twist this is for you!!!

    Fell in love with A Quick Bite & couldn't get enough of this series!!! Once you start reading you can't put them down & then wait to start the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    A quick read, entertaining

    Way to much sex....but entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Recommened- a must read

    Sooo good couldn't put it down. If you follow the Argueneau series or the night huntress this is a must read book. Teddy will have you laughing out loud while Kat keeps you on your toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Don't bother!

    Info did not state it was excerpts only. Saw the book at the store and looked it up to purchase digitally by the authors name. What a waste of money. You can get the same for free with free samples of the two stories, which were published previously. So to read the whole story, you must pay more money. After paying for the excerpts, what a scam!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    vampire book

    it was cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Awsome Trilogy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    To you 2 writers

    I loved this book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I'm still excited about this book even after reading it. I was u

    I'm still excited about this book even after reading it. I was unfamiliar with Sands work but heard good things about what she writes. I was not disappointed either. Her story was cleverly crafted and the characters were believable. Just putting Sands work with my favorite author Frost. You've got one killer combo for a book in a Christmas setting. This book will definitely be one that I'll return to again and again. Here are the highlights of each story:

    The Gift
    Teddy Brunswick is a police chief in his hometown of Port Henry that didn't want to spend another Christmas being a charity case. So he rented a cottage to getaway from everything. When he wakes up to a freezing cottage decides to investigate the problem. He discovers a downed powerlines is the cause. Teddy meets Katricia Argeneau he's surprised by her beauty and feels drawn to her. Katricia upon meeting Teddy can't read his mind like she can with others. She thinks Teddy might be her lifemate. Can they weather the storm together? Will Teddy admit his attraction to Katricia? Is Teddy really Katricia's lifemate.

    Home for the Holidays
    Cat is trying to surprise Bones which is difficult because he always seems to know what she's up to. Cat invited Bones closest friends for his surprise birthday party. When Ian calls Bones to tell him that someone attacked Annette. Bones is furious and demands answers from Annette but she's not talking. When a strange vampire announces that he's Bones long lost brother everyone is wary of this being true. Yet when Wraith does nothing but talk about himself Cat realizes something is off. Bones and company except Ian and Denise are acting strange. What is really going on? Why aren't Ian, Denise, and Cat affected? Will this be a happy holiday?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Love it

    Great stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    Both stories are fantastic. An excellent read for a paranormal romance buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A piece of the Argeneau Vampire series

    I have now read all of the Argeneau Vampire series to date, and truly enjoyed all of them. Sexy, suspenseful, and a great twist on the vampire genre, Margeruite Argeneau and her family definitely leave you wanting more. Read them, you will be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS # 6.5 I am working my way through The N



    HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS # 6.5

    I am working my way through The Night Huntress novellas and outtakes, my little fixes before I get another book in the series to read.

    Bones and Cat are that addictive!!

    I loved this 153 page read. I could quite easily have seen this story as a full blown book.

    A relative comes to visit and all is a bit squiffy. Ian is absolutely t-shirt worthy in this novella. Ian has slowly been creeping into my t-shirt hemisphere. He is so blunt and honest about how he feels about a situation. He is a real keeper..... such a smart pants, I have a big crush on him.

    This is the second time Jeaniene has paired Ian and Cat up in a humorous and this time, a little lusty , scene. All in the name of good, although I can’t help thinking Ian is enjoying himself a little too much.

    This novella mixes, demons, lust, love, a birthday party, of course the uber smexi moments between Bones and Cat * fans one self* and a little mystery/puzzle that needs to be solved to save the ones they love.


    The next spinoff is ‘Night Prince # 1’ , Vlad and Leila’s story, titled ‘Once Burned’ , due for release 26th June 2012. Vlad is a fave of mine, so I am looking forward to his book.





    FAVE QUOTES:

    He unzipped his pants and tugged them down. I whirled just in time, barking, “ I don’t care what you think, your junk does not have special abilities. And I already heard about the piercing,” over my shoulder.

    “ That’s not what I wanted to show you,” he replied in an implacable voice. “Now stop being a twit and look.”

    “This better not be one of your sick jokes,” I muttered, turning around. Thankfully , the first thing I saw wasn’t Ian waggling Mr One Eye at me, though he didn’t seem concerned that his hand didn’t totally conceal the flesh behind it.



    “Wow,” I whispered.

    He grunted. “If I had a pound for every time a girl said that while in your position.”


    HA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Disappointment

    I wish Ms Sands would just write her own short story and let it be I was so disappointed when the book ended so quickly and cost so muc for 80+ pages. What she did write about Teddy was very good just so cramed in alot you had to already know was coming. To bad she had great opportunity to write another great book. The female character in this book was good very believable. What a change. I would give the short story a 4 star the rest of the book sucked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Sucked

    Dont buy this book. Wasted my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Good

    Got hooked on the Argeneaus from the 1st book and cant seem to get enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Twists and Turns

    Loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Awsome authors

    I am so excited to read this book love both of them and the perfect christmas treat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Excellent short read

    Lynsay Sands' book The Gift is an awesome addition to the Argeneau Vampire Series. Sheriff Teddy Brunswick was definitely a great supporting character in other books in the series so it was nice to see him finally get his happy ending. Katrisha Argeneau definitely brings out his playful side in the book, too. Which was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9