Customer Reviews for

Bite Me

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is a wild biting satire that takes no prisoners as a vampire cat wrecks havoc on the City by the bay

The streets of San Francisco are not safe as a predatory vampire prowls them looking for prey. No one is safe from this feline. Perhaps the only humans who might end the biting cat's reign of terror are goth Abby Normal and her brilliant boyfriend, Stephen "Foo Dog" W...
The streets of San Francisco are not safe as a predatory vampire prowls them looking for prey. No one is safe from this feline. Perhaps the only humans who might end the biting cat's reign of terror are goth Abby Normal and her brilliant boyfriend, Stephen "Foo Dog" Wong although others like the Animals of Marina Safeway and the Emperor of San Francisco hunt the beast.

Abby and Stephen visit her Masters, vampire couple Jody and Tommy to obtain their help and guidance. The pair owes Abby for keeping them together when she made them immortal with her rendition of The Kiss starring the vamps as the couple. As they work to stop the sharp toothed cat, the team runs into three visiting ancient vamps with teeth to grind, the other hunters and SFPD homicide detectives Rivera and Cavuto who want all of them off the streets of San Francisco so the cops can solve the case.

This is a wild biting satire that takes no prisoners as a vampire cat wrecks havoc on the City by the bay. The story line is amusing and fast-paced but also contains too many cat lives that diverse from the prime plot of hunting the hunter who hunts those hunting it. Fans of the Normal acerbic paranormal tales (see After You Suck) will laugh out loud at Bite Me" A Love Story.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I wanna cry.

Christopher Moore is my all time favorite author, next to Dr. Seuss. He is hilarious, witty, and says f*cking France. What moore (like the play or words?) can a girl want? (fine accident i left there realizing the play on words)

I bought "Bite Me" since I've loved e...
Christopher Moore is my all time favorite author, next to Dr. Seuss. He is hilarious, witty, and says f*cking France. What moore (like the play or words?) can a girl want? (fine accident i left there realizing the play on words)

I bought "Bite Me" since I've loved everything by Moore so far. I liked "You Suck" the least out of his library until I read "Bite Me". How is it a love story anymore when no ones in love?

The problem, in my opinion, is that You Suck and Bite Me were demanded by fans. Because of that it wasn't what HE wanted to write which made it lesser then the predecessors. You suck still made me laugh the whole book through. Bite me however only had one scene where someone was saved because a cat humped a human, well vampire.

Anyways this is not a book to buy, to read once from the library. However, still buy it because Christopher Moore is so fantastic that he should get more money and more control over his books. He deserves it.

However, I would tell you to read any other book by him before this one, but what can I say? I'm a groupie. I will buy anything by this man to support his money but I cannot sit here and say this book is the best.

By the way, I hate vampire stuff, but Bloodsucking Fiends, it didn't matter.

posted by chelsibear on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Bite Me

    If you liked the move Zombieland, you will like this book. It is a different take on the vampire life, and will keep you laughing. I honestly picked this book up because it had such a unique looking cover. I was drawn into the story, and could not put it down until I had finished reading it. There was one draw back, I found out while I was reading this, that it was actually the third in this series. On the other hand this book, held up well in my opinion on its own. This is a book you could read without the others, but if you do read the other books it will increase the background of the book. If you are having a bad day this is the book to lift your spirts, and get you laughing again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Funny

    I find the story really funny. It had me laughing so much. GREAT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Fun read

    Christopher Moore has a great sense of humor. I find him to be a little dark and sarcastic. I find this book laugh out loud funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    Christopher Moore is a genious. He blends horror with extreme laughter and the characters are so well written you cheer for them, cry for them, laugh at them and feel as if you know them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Another Funny Gem From Moore

    If you like Christopher Moore then this is another fun ride...and the conclusion to the story. If you don't know Moore, you can read this as a stand alone, but you might start with the first book "Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story"...then "You Suck" in order to get the full story. The audio versions of all three are great and the recurring and crossover characters are wonderful. While this isn't my favorite of Moore's works, it is a fun ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    ONION RINGS

    THE COW GOES MOO THE DUCK SAYS MEOW. BARNEY ATE A PEAR NOW I KNOW MY ABC's

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    loved it!

    Once again Christopher Moore took me on a crazy wild ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Undoes the Damage from "You Suck"

    I was apprehensive considering how disappointed I was from reading the earlier "You Suck", but this makes up for it. It would be difficult to make any sense of this book without first reading the two preceding vampire novels, but new readers should also read "Fluke" to understand one of the more bizarre characters, whom the author assumes the reader will be familiar with. And a personal favorite of mine.

    It ain't art, but is extremely entertaining. That the same person can put together these colorful stories and also create "Lamb" and "Fool", two of the more intelligent yet oddball books I have read, is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Abby Normal's Story

    So glad Moore decided to do another vampire book with Abby as the main character. While the plot wasn't that great - Moore's characters more than make up for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Typical Moore

    This book follows the character Abby Normal and others from You Suck. I got this for my husband's Easter basket - he felt that it was something that Moore pushed out too quickly and was not of the usual quality. I read it after hearing that from him and thought it was quite good (perhaps because I expected it to be poor). The only problem is that you have a serious need to go back and read You Suck and A Dirty Job (and if you haven't read those, you should first), though Moore does a good job of reminding you of past plotlines and characters. It's a fun, quick read it you like sarcastic teenage vampire humor...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's hilarious

    This latest book in the continuing story of these vampires is so funny, silly. and kind of stupid, but a light read and very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This one was some wrap up to a much loved series. The same off the wall humor mixed with horror and the characters we've come to love, as well as new ones and even some surprise cameos. I have to say I was shocked by the twists in the story and the ending was certainly not what I expected, yet I found it satisfying. Some very amusing one-liners as always, like Abby feeling she had to be 'Emergency Backup Mistress', to seeing more into the personalities of Cavuto and Rivera, to vampire cats and getting an animal POV as well as the regular cast only enhanced it instead of making it confusing. I was glued to the story as it unfolded and didn't put it down till I was done, so roughly I read it in a day. What can I say, it's all the fun and wild ride we've come to expect from Moore's work. If you were looking for a happy ending to the series, like shippers of Jody and Tommy, I'd say it's 50/50. I can't say much more without spoiling, but it's well worth the read. Great book. Didn't wet your appetite enough? Okay, I'll sweeten the pot. Vampire parrots. "Clint, cleanup on isle 4!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can you have too much Abby Normal?

    Moore's latest vampire installment begs the question, "Can you have too much Abby Normal?" and the answer is, of course, "OMG, No, you nerdslice." Abby takes center stage in all her Goth perkiness and blood dipped gummi bears, and her opening chronicle of the story so far is alone worth the price of admission. Although her blogs aren't quite as fresh by the end of the novel, it's more due to familiarity than anything else. There are also plenty of antics from the rest of the usual suspects, including the important, and somewhat baffling, addition of a character in neon orange socks. While I was somewhat dissatisfied with certain aspects of the story's conclusion, it doesn't matter much because I'm not really here for the plot lines. Like a good sit-com, their presence is just a vehicle to put the outlandish cast in situations where they can act out hilarious scenes and dialogue. And thus I slap you, Mr. Moore, to let you know I'm not a total slut for your writing, which, of course, I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Can't Wait!

    It's tough to honestly review a book that won't be released until mid-March, so I'll just hope that it's as weird and funny as his previous gems!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5