Customer Reviews for

Bite Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A must read for Paranormal Romance lovers

Val is a mix between Buffy and Anita Blake, so is the book. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy this as much as I did, based on that fact alone. I love Buffy, and no one for me can compare. Anita, meh, not so much-but Val is a pretty cool girl. She has her own sarc...
Val is a mix between Buffy and Anita Blake, so is the book. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy this as much as I did, based on that fact alone. I love Buffy, and no one for me can compare. Anita, meh, not so much-but Val is a pretty cool girl. She has her own sarcastic, tough-girl swagger and I really like how she handles herself. The description above is pretty accurate, this is not a YA. It's a crossover and leans more toward Adult Fantasy, but regardless, I found many things I enjoyed that will appeal to young adults as well. Val has some pretty difficult things to deal with. One, her mother kicks her out because she doesn't want her vampire hunting influence around her full human sister. Val's relationship with her mother is strained even before this, and treats her as if she's not even her daughter. Two, she begins working for the Special Crimes Unit and has a smoking hot partner that she has to reign in the succubus side of herself around. Not so easy. And when she feels everyone is against her, and she'll never be accepted, that's when Val starts to figure some things out for herself. I really enjoyed the self-discovery in this story, and Val is a strong female character that I find likable and relatable. The overall plot reads like your typical 'who did it' with her and her partner trying to discover the big bad in her city, but I really liked it. It kept my guessing till the very end and rooting for Val the whole time. I would defiantly recommend this to anyone who loves Paranormal Romance, strong, butt-kicking girls with attitude, and a fun fast read with mystery.

posted by ParaBooks on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

!

Many thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posters who revealed everything about this book. Why do y ppl do that? Do u think that just because you've read it no one else deserves to read it? You have been reported to bn and i hope they ban all of u....
Many thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posters who revealed everything about this book. Why do y ppl do that? Do u think that just because you've read it no one else deserves to read it? You have been reported to bn and i hope they ban all of u. I am sick to death of u ruining books for other readers.

posted by 8888649 on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    A must read for Paranormal Romance lovers

    Val is a mix between Buffy and Anita Blake, so is the book. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy this as much as I did, based on that fact alone. I love Buffy, and no one for me can compare. Anita, meh, not so much-but Val is a pretty cool girl. She has her own sarcastic, tough-girl swagger and I really like how she handles herself. The description above is pretty accurate, this is not a YA. It's a crossover and leans more toward Adult Fantasy, but regardless, I found many things I enjoyed that will appeal to young adults as well. Val has some pretty difficult things to deal with. One, her mother kicks her out because she doesn't want her vampire hunting influence around her full human sister. Val's relationship with her mother is strained even before this, and treats her as if she's not even her daughter. Two, she begins working for the Special Crimes Unit and has a smoking hot partner that she has to reign in the succubus side of herself around. Not so easy. And when she feels everyone is against her, and she'll never be accepted, that's when Val starts to figure some things out for herself. I really enjoyed the self-discovery in this story, and Val is a strong female character that I find likable and relatable. The overall plot reads like your typical 'who did it' with her and her partner trying to discover the big bad in her city, but I really liked it. It kept my guessing till the very end and rooting for Val the whole time. I would defiantly recommend this to anyone who loves Paranormal Romance, strong, butt-kicking girls with attitude, and a fun fast read with mystery.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Good new series

    I liked it. It was a little different from other vampire books.
    Valentine who goes by Val is part demon who feeds off of Lust. Val has never let her though so to keep her demon self Lola she hunts vampires.
    val kills a vampire an all of a sudden her young sister is their. Jen had hid in the back seat of their father Rick's car. Val yells at her sister than makes her help pick up the body and put in the trunk. After they get body in car before they leave a policeman asks what they are doing and runs make on the car. Then asks to see whats in the trunk? Val does not know how to answer they can't take off he knows their address and names. Val asks,"What do you think is in the trunk?" and surprised answers she gets is vampire.
    Turns out the city knows about them and has special department for handling them. Finally she takes her sister home and mom's yells at her. Asks her to leave their home, leave job at family book store. Stay away from her sister. Val just turned 18 she hops on her motorcycle and goes to a park. Meets a dog who can talk to her a small fluffy dog who is part demon too. Fang is dogs name. I really like Fang.
    Val eventually calls the cop she met and tells him that maybe she can help them. That she was 18 and kicked out of house. He calls her back in an hour and she goes to Police station. The other cops laugh at her so she takes the bigest one and fights him. Wins.
    Her new boss knows what she is and makes Dan her new partner.
    Their first assignment is to find out if this new group of vampires that was meeting and starting blood banks were on the level or dangerous. Mean while Jen is asking everyone she meets if they know Val and shows picture so they all know she is the one killing vampires. Then Jen is missing.
    For a new series I do like it. The characters all have faults some good and bad. I hate the mother of val and Jen. Like the stepfather to Val. Lots of secondary characters that interact together. Lots of storylines I can see.
    I was given this book in exchange for honest review. I also receieved the next two books in the series so I will read them next.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    !

    Many thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posters who revealed everything about this book. Why do y ppl do that? Do u think that just because you've read it no one else deserves to read it? You have been reported to bn and i hope they ban all of u. I am sick to death of u ruining books for other readers.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    Awesome new Vamp series!

    I had requested this book from NetGalley for two reasons. One, the cover was amazing. Two, I loved the title. Sure, the synopsis was good, but it was mainly the other two that had me interested in reading some more about it.

    Val Shapiro has a tough life. She hunts vampires, she's home-schooled and has no friends, her parents prefer her younger sister to her... oh and she's part demon. To satisfy her inner succubus, Val needs to hunt a vampire every now and then, which happens to help calm down said demon - Lola. One day whilst she's out on the usual hunt, killing a vampire and whatnot, he sister hides in the backseat and tags along. Not only that, but she's caught, by a cop trying to dispose of the body. To make matters worse, her parents are sick of her sister wanting to tag along in her lifestyle that they fire her from her job, and kick her out of the house... on her birthday. As she thinks life has sunk to a new low, with no family anymore, she wonders around and comes across a special dog, Fang. She then calls the cop who'd caught her asking for a job and he delivers, in addition to that he finds her a place to stay. Life was looking up! That is, until she goes out to investigate a ring of vampires haunting the area and killing innocents, only to find that every vampire out there knows who she is, and that she is a vampire slayer - a courtesy of her sister's stupidity. On the bright side, she realizes she's not the only half-demon out there, and there might be ways to co-exist with Lola without harming innocents.

    I have been in a very vampire-ish mood lately. I am not sure why, but I really have been into the whole theme, from series, to movies and books. So this book fit right into my mood quite well. I quite loved the fact that there were two mythical creatures here and not just one. And a part demon dog? I liked it. I enjoy everyone's particular take on vampires, and Parker's was a bit conventional, but the added demon part to the mix made it unique.

    Val was the typical stubborn and independent heroine, always up for a fight and rushes to situations she surprisingly manages quite well. I actually liked her, and didn't find her annoying like most lead women characters who think they can do everything and don't ask for help then end up in ridiculous scrapes. Dan was an okay partner I guess, though the dynamics between Fang and Val were more hilarious and in-sync. Shade is one character I'd love to know more about, and Micah too, as well as Gwen for some reason. I am still wary of Alejandro, and seriously hate Val's mother. I am hoping at some point there's an explanation for how pathetic she is! That and Jen as well, she's one of the stupidest younger sibling characters I've read of. One that doesn't think straight before getting herself into so much trouble - not to mention her sister alongside her. But I guess it all fits into the story.

    Parker's writing is quite good, funny at times, serious and emotional at others. It's a quick read and I absolutely enjoyed it!

    Rating: 4.5/5

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast, mindless vampire novel

    Parker Blue's Underground Series, which includes the titles Bite Me, Try Me, and Fang Me, left me with a feeling of lost time. Sentences tended to be choppy, and the characters were two-dimensional at best. Continual references to Buffy the Vampire Slayer made me want to bang my head against the wall at times. Check them out if you are looking for fast, mindless vampire novels.

    Disclaimer: Books provided by the publisher.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I was debating between 3 and 4 stars. When I think of other books I gave 4 stars to, I feel like a lot of them may have been slightly better written, or had better world-building or character development... but I can't help it, something about this just grabbed me.

    None of the characters are perfect, they have real faults but work to be good people. And no one was inherently 'evil-villain', which to me always makes a book more realistic and relateable. The real world doesn't tend to be black and white. As much as I wanted to hate her mom, even her I understood her motives and her fear, where she was coming from although I didn't agree with it.

    Some people commented that all the 'Slayer' comments were cheesy, and they were, but I don't think they went overboard with it and it didn't really bother me.

    I liked Val and I felt like her emotional responses to things were appropriate yet short-lived enough that she didn't get whiny or too self-pitying. She was a strong lead and while mature for age, there is a lot of room left for her to grow, which I am eager to see. I'm excited to see relationships develop: Val and Dan, Val and her family, Val and Micah, and well as meeting new characters like Ramirez's wife. Oh and p.s. Fang is awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Free on Amazon if you have a K as well as nook

    Free on Amazon if you have a K as well as nook

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    A highly enjoyable, short read. Bite Me is a Paranormal YA story

    A highly enjoyable, short read. Bite Me is a Paranormal YA story about a girl named Val whose life changes on her 18th birthday. I have to say that I admire the fortitude she has in dealing with her problems and the way her family treats her. My favorite character thought is Fang, the half hellhound dog. He steals the show every scene he is in.

    This book is what I would consider an older YA book. I definitely do not think it is appropriate for younger teens/preteens because the main character is part lust demon. I rate it four smiles:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Buttkicking good time!

    Bite Me, Try Me, and Fang Me by Parker Blue
    Bite Me is the first book in the Underground Demons series and it's a really fun kickass beginning. Val is a part Succubus demon, part human, and a just turning 18 teenager. She battles and kills the vampires in Texas that prey on humans, and she has to learn to keep her succubus side, whom she calls Lola, under tight control using lust power as an advantage in her fights with the vamps. After discovering that their daughter, Val's half sister Jen has been following Val and wants to be just like her, Val's mother and Stepfather kick her out of the house on her 18th birthday. Val hits it lucky when she runs into a part demon hellhound named Fang who is full of attitude and can talk telepathically to her and other demons. She also ends up working for the police and the San Antonio Special Crimes Unit with a really hot partner who doesn't make it easy for Val to hold Lola back. It seems there are MAYBE some good Vampires after all who want to set up blood banks where humans can donate blood to the Vamps to keep them from going after humans for their food. Val discovers there are some vampires that don't like that idea at all because they like toying with their food. They are out to stop the good Vampires which means Val and her team are out to stop them. Even without Val being there her half sister Jen still gets involved with the Vampires. When Val goes to get her out she sees that Jen has been influenced by one of the Vampires, which is against the laws of the good vampires and their leader Alejandro. Val and her trusty hellhound Fang set out, with a little help from her friends, to put a stop to it. Lots of fighting with a little mystery and romance on the side.

    Try Me by Parker Blue:
    The second in the Underground Demon series. In the second installment Val is being ignored by her partner Dan, even though she thought they had a thing going, he obviously can't handle her demon side. Good thing there is her new friend and hot crush Shade, who is a Shadow Demon and more than willing to teach Val how to control her Succubus demon. Val's part demon father had given her some books when she was a child and Val learns that those books are very powerful. After Val learns that the head of the Demon Underground is a cousin of sorts and that they want to help her she agrees to give them the books, however they are stolen at a party. Now it's up to Val and friends to not only find the books but protect the good Vampires when somebody starts poisoning them with something that makes them go crazy and kill anything in their path.

    Fang Me by Parker Blue:
    The third book in the Underground Demon series. Val is still looking for the magic books when a man shows up proclaiming to be a keeper and wanting to help them find the books that have his father trapped within them by magic. Val doesn't trust him at all and doesn't understand why all but her trusted dog Fang seems to really like him. Val's team on the police force find out that she is part demon and it doesn't go over well. She keeps looking for the books, all the time with her and Shade getting closer and her family coming closer to accepting her as she is. With more Vampires, Demons, Witches, and Magic, this is another exciting addition to this series. My favorite part of this series is Fang, the part hellhound part attitude rolled up in a little dog body. He's funny, he's always loyal to Val. Really good, exciting series. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    highly entertaining

    Val Shapiro is an unlikely heroine. Was not sure about reading this book. Book was fast paced . I could not put it down. look forward to the rest of the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    A great start to a new series!

    Fast paced, suspenseful, a touch of romance, and a humorous world view, BITE ME is the great start to a new series. I thoroughly enjoyed it and am looking forward to the next Val Shapiro adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Val Half-Succubus Vampire Slayer

    Valentine Shapiro is no ordinary 18 year old. She is half-succubus and a vampire slayer, yes like Buffy but minus the friends and school part. The eve of her 18th birthday her mother and step dad, somewhat kicked her out of the house, not only that they fired her at the bookstore (which they owned). They think her kid sister Jennifer is obsessed on what she can do and therefore branded as a bad influence so they ordered her to keep a distance for her safety. Hurt and feeling betrayed she decided to drive around in her Honda Valkyrie, she then met this cute little dog, he is half-hellhound, I'm telling you a Terrier that is half hell hound. Funny. And whatdya know they can talk telephatically. Anyway his name is Fang, they became friends right after Fang bit a vampire in his nether regions. In pursuit of job, home and money for everything else, she decided to call police detective Dan, who found her and Jennifer that fateful night with the body of a dead vampire. Apparently San Antonio have a special unit that deals with the paranormal. The chief hired her and knows of her nature. They both agreed that part has to be left as a secret. One night Val and Dan decided to check out this new group that calls themselves New Blood Movement. There they met Alejandro the leader who looks like he wanted peace among men and vampires by introducing the blood bank, voluntary donation and/or compensation by either pleasure or monetary. They also met Dan's ex-fiance. Lily who now turned Vamp. After doing their preliminary investigation on this organization, they did see impressive "intentions and standards" that seems to point that they really do consider human, not only equal but someone that they also need to respect and take care of, but after the meeting Val, Dan and Fang got aatacked by three vampires. Who is the real enemy here? Is the New Blood Movement only fronting?

    Fast-paced, with a fair amount of humor, unoriginal yes, but it was still entertaining. I am still willing to check out the sequel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    Kala - Add

    I'm sorry Kels, but I have to sleep. Text me, kik me, messge me whatever! Tell me what's going on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2015

    Si

    The liquid forgot.. i am gona leave. Thank you fallen i kiss you and disappear to "talk" to a little girl about 4,9 with black hair and killer eyes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    Figure

    I can find them. Si sounds familar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    pat

    Huh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    Fallen

    I can't...no phone right now...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Bruce

    Hey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Selna

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    BIOS

    Flamekraken. A sleek red tom with ailver eyes and very long claws. Age-28moons. Mate-none.crush- none.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4