Customer Reviews for

Bite Me

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A must read for Paranormal Romance lovers

Val is a mix between Buffy and Anita Blake, so is the book. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy this as much as I did, based on that fact alone. I love Buffy, and no one for me can compare. Anita, meh, not so much-but Val is a pretty cool girl. She has her own sarc...
Val is a mix between Buffy and Anita Blake, so is the book. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy this as much as I did, based on that fact alone. I love Buffy, and no one for me can compare. Anita, meh, not so much-but Val is a pretty cool girl. She has her own sarcastic, tough-girl swagger and I really like how she handles herself. The description above is pretty accurate, this is not a YA. It's a crossover and leans more toward Adult Fantasy, but regardless, I found many things I enjoyed that will appeal to young adults as well. Val has some pretty difficult things to deal with. One, her mother kicks her out because she doesn't want her vampire hunting influence around her full human sister. Val's relationship with her mother is strained even before this, and treats her as if she's not even her daughter. Two, she begins working for the Special Crimes Unit and has a smoking hot partner that she has to reign in the succubus side of herself around. Not so easy. And when she feels everyone is against her, and she'll never be accepted, that's when Val starts to figure some things out for herself. I really enjoyed the self-discovery in this story, and Val is a strong female character that I find likable and relatable. The overall plot reads like your typical 'who did it' with her and her partner trying to discover the big bad in her city, but I really liked it. It kept my guessing till the very end and rooting for Val the whole time. I would defiantly recommend this to anyone who loves Paranormal Romance, strong, butt-kicking girls with attitude, and a fun fast read with mystery.

posted by ParaBooks on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

!

Many thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posters who revealed everything about this book. Why do y ppl do that? Do u think that just because you've read it no one else deserves to read it? You have been reported to bn and i hope they ban all of u....
Many thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posters who revealed everything about this book. Why do y ppl do that? Do u think that just because you've read it no one else deserves to read it? You have been reported to bn and i hope they ban all of u. I am sick to death of u ruining books for other readers.

posted by 8888649 on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    A must read for Paranormal Romance lovers

    Val is a mix between Buffy and Anita Blake, so is the book. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy this as much as I did, based on that fact alone. I love Buffy, and no one for me can compare. Anita, meh, not so much-but Val is a pretty cool girl. She has her own sarcastic, tough-girl swagger and I really like how she handles herself. The description above is pretty accurate, this is not a YA. It's a crossover and leans more toward Adult Fantasy, but regardless, I found many things I enjoyed that will appeal to young adults as well. Val has some pretty difficult things to deal with. One, her mother kicks her out because she doesn't want her vampire hunting influence around her full human sister. Val's relationship with her mother is strained even before this, and treats her as if she's not even her daughter. Two, she begins working for the Special Crimes Unit and has a smoking hot partner that she has to reign in the succubus side of herself around. Not so easy. And when she feels everyone is against her, and she'll never be accepted, that's when Val starts to figure some things out for herself. I really enjoyed the self-discovery in this story, and Val is a strong female character that I find likable and relatable. The overall plot reads like your typical 'who did it' with her and her partner trying to discover the big bad in her city, but I really liked it. It kept my guessing till the very end and rooting for Val the whole time. I would defiantly recommend this to anyone who loves Paranormal Romance, strong, butt-kicking girls with attitude, and a fun fast read with mystery.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Good new series

    I liked it. It was a little different from other vampire books.
    Valentine who goes by Val is part demon who feeds off of Lust. Val has never let her though so to keep her demon self Lola she hunts vampires.
    val kills a vampire an all of a sudden her young sister is their. Jen had hid in the back seat of their father Rick's car. Val yells at her sister than makes her help pick up the body and put in the trunk. After they get body in car before they leave a policeman asks what they are doing and runs make on the car. Then asks to see whats in the trunk? Val does not know how to answer they can't take off he knows their address and names. Val asks,"What do you think is in the trunk?" and surprised answers she gets is vampire.
    Turns out the city knows about them and has special department for handling them. Finally she takes her sister home and mom's yells at her. Asks her to leave their home, leave job at family book store. Stay away from her sister. Val just turned 18 she hops on her motorcycle and goes to a park. Meets a dog who can talk to her a small fluffy dog who is part demon too. Fang is dogs name. I really like Fang.
    Val eventually calls the cop she met and tells him that maybe she can help them. That she was 18 and kicked out of house. He calls her back in an hour and she goes to Police station. The other cops laugh at her so she takes the bigest one and fights him. Wins.
    Her new boss knows what she is and makes Dan her new partner.
    Their first assignment is to find out if this new group of vampires that was meeting and starting blood banks were on the level or dangerous. Mean while Jen is asking everyone she meets if they know Val and shows picture so they all know she is the one killing vampires. Then Jen is missing.
    For a new series I do like it. The characters all have faults some good and bad. I hate the mother of val and Jen. Like the stepfather to Val. Lots of secondary characters that interact together. Lots of storylines I can see.
    I was given this book in exchange for honest review. I also receieved the next two books in the series so I will read them next.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I was debating between 3 and 4 stars. When I think of other books I gave 4 stars to, I feel like a lot of them may have been slightly better written, or had better world-building or character development... but I can't help it, something about this just grabbed me.

    None of the characters are perfect, they have real faults but work to be good people. And no one was inherently 'evil-villain', which to me always makes a book more realistic and relateable. The real world doesn't tend to be black and white. As much as I wanted to hate her mom, even her I understood her motives and her fear, where she was coming from although I didn't agree with it.

    Some people commented that all the 'Slayer' comments were cheesy, and they were, but I don't think they went overboard with it and it didn't really bother me.

    I liked Val and I felt like her emotional responses to things were appropriate yet short-lived enough that she didn't get whiny or too self-pitying. She was a strong lead and while mature for age, there is a lot of room left for her to grow, which I am eager to see. I'm excited to see relationships develop: Val and Dan, Val and her family, Val and Micah, and well as meeting new characters like Ramirez's wife. Oh and p.s. Fang is awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    A highly enjoyable, short read. Bite Me is a Paranormal YA story

    A highly enjoyable, short read. Bite Me is a Paranormal YA story about a girl named Val whose life changes on her 18th birthday. I have to say that I admire the fortitude she has in dealing with her problems and the way her family treats her. My favorite character thought is Fang, the half hellhound dog. He steals the show every scene he is in.

    This book is what I would consider an older YA book. I definitely do not think it is appropriate for younger teens/preteens because the main character is part lust demon. I rate it four smiles:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Buttkicking good time!

    Bite Me, Try Me, and Fang Me by Parker Blue
    Bite Me is the first book in the Underground Demons series and it's a really fun kickass beginning. Val is a part Succubus demon, part human, and a just turning 18 teenager. She battles and kills the vampires in Texas that prey on humans, and she has to learn to keep her succubus side, whom she calls Lola, under tight control using lust power as an advantage in her fights with the vamps. After discovering that their daughter, Val's half sister Jen has been following Val and wants to be just like her, Val's mother and Stepfather kick her out of the house on her 18th birthday. Val hits it lucky when she runs into a part demon hellhound named Fang who is full of attitude and can talk telepathically to her and other demons. She also ends up working for the police and the San Antonio Special Crimes Unit with a really hot partner who doesn't make it easy for Val to hold Lola back. It seems there are MAYBE some good Vampires after all who want to set up blood banks where humans can donate blood to the Vamps to keep them from going after humans for their food. Val discovers there are some vampires that don't like that idea at all because they like toying with their food. They are out to stop the good Vampires which means Val and her team are out to stop them. Even without Val being there her half sister Jen still gets involved with the Vampires. When Val goes to get her out she sees that Jen has been influenced by one of the Vampires, which is against the laws of the good vampires and their leader Alejandro. Val and her trusty hellhound Fang set out, with a little help from her friends, to put a stop to it. Lots of fighting with a little mystery and romance on the side.

    Try Me by Parker Blue:
    The second in the Underground Demon series. In the second installment Val is being ignored by her partner Dan, even though she thought they had a thing going, he obviously can't handle her demon side. Good thing there is her new friend and hot crush Shade, who is a Shadow Demon and more than willing to teach Val how to control her Succubus demon. Val's part demon father had given her some books when she was a child and Val learns that those books are very powerful. After Val learns that the head of the Demon Underground is a cousin of sorts and that they want to help her she agrees to give them the books, however they are stolen at a party. Now it's up to Val and friends to not only find the books but protect the good Vampires when somebody starts poisoning them with something that makes them go crazy and kill anything in their path.

    Fang Me by Parker Blue:
    The third book in the Underground Demon series. Val is still looking for the magic books when a man shows up proclaiming to be a keeper and wanting to help them find the books that have his father trapped within them by magic. Val doesn't trust him at all and doesn't understand why all but her trusted dog Fang seems to really like him. Val's team on the police force find out that she is part demon and it doesn't go over well. She keeps looking for the books, all the time with her and Shade getting closer and her family coming closer to accepting her as she is. With more Vampires, Demons, Witches, and Magic, this is another exciting addition to this series. My favorite part of this series is Fang, the part hellhound part attitude rolled up in a little dog body. He's funny, he's always loyal to Val. Really good, exciting series. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    highly entertaining

    Val Shapiro is an unlikely heroine. Was not sure about reading this book. Book was fast paced . I could not put it down. look forward to the rest of the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Full of action

    This book is full of action, sarcastic comments from Fang (my favorite character) and even has some romance. I would recommend this book who likes action, sarcasm, romance, and a female lead who can take care of herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Happy Birthday to me: On my 18th birthday, my little sister sneaked into the back of the truck while I went hunting for vampires. The result? Two angry parents who kicked me out of the house for being a bad influence on sixteen year old Jen. Now I'm on my own with out any idea where to live and no friends. My parents have kept her out of public school because I'm not your average girl. There's a demon inside me that can make me do crazy things, especially around the opposite gender. I mostly keep the demon under control, except for the occasional vampire kill. Not sure where to turn one minute, and the next minute I have a smart mouth hell hound for a friend. Together we decided to forces our way into a special forces police unit interested in taking down vampires. Although I prefer to work alone, the chief sets me up with Dan. He sets me up with a living situation as his sister needs a roommate. I don't need charity, but he seems to want to be friends. If only I can keep my demon side to myself, this could work out. What I don't realize is that while we're trying to take down vamps, my sister has been showing my picture to every vamp in town claiming I'm the next Buffy. It's beginning to get on my nerves - more so when I realize she's moved out of the house and is living with vampires running the blood bank. It's an interesting idea, but I'm not sure I trust the head vampire running the place. We're keeping an eye out on them and making sure nothing happens to Jen. But she's not exactly stepping away from danger. This could get messy....

    Parker Blue creates a new vamp book with the kick-butt smart and snarky attitude of Buffy in Val and an awesome side-kick dog who can talk. It's perfect for teens craving more vampire books or those who love dark paranormal tales. And who can resist the title?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1