Customer Reviews for

Bite Me

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A must read for Paranormal Romance lovers

Val is a mix between Buffy and Anita Blake, so is the book. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy this as much as I did, based on that fact alone. I love Buffy, and no one for me can compare. Anita, meh, not so much-but Val is a pretty cool girl. She has her own sarc...
Val is a mix between Buffy and Anita Blake, so is the book. I really thought I wasn't going to enjoy this as much as I did, based on that fact alone. I love Buffy, and no one for me can compare. Anita, meh, not so much-but Val is a pretty cool girl. She has her own sarcastic, tough-girl swagger and I really like how she handles herself. The description above is pretty accurate, this is not a YA. It's a crossover and leans more toward Adult Fantasy, but regardless, I found many things I enjoyed that will appeal to young adults as well. Val has some pretty difficult things to deal with. One, her mother kicks her out because she doesn't want her vampire hunting influence around her full human sister. Val's relationship with her mother is strained even before this, and treats her as if she's not even her daughter. Two, she begins working for the Special Crimes Unit and has a smoking hot partner that she has to reign in the succubus side of herself around. Not so easy. And when she feels everyone is against her, and she'll never be accepted, that's when Val starts to figure some things out for herself. I really enjoyed the self-discovery in this story, and Val is a strong female character that I find likable and relatable. The overall plot reads like your typical 'who did it' with her and her partner trying to discover the big bad in her city, but I really liked it. It kept my guessing till the very end and rooting for Val the whole time. I would defiantly recommend this to anyone who loves Paranormal Romance, strong, butt-kicking girls with attitude, and a fun fast read with mystery.

posted by ParaBooks on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

!

Many thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posters who revealed everything about this book. Why do y ppl do that? Do u think that just because you've read it no one else deserves to read it? You have been reported to bn and i hope they ban all of u....
Many thanks to harriet klausner and all the other plot spoiling posters who revealed everything about this book. Why do y ppl do that? Do u think that just because you've read it no one else deserves to read it? You have been reported to bn and i hope they ban all of u. I am sick to death of u ruining books for other readers.

posted by 8888649 on October 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    Awesome new Vamp series!

    I had requested this book from NetGalley for two reasons. One, the cover was amazing. Two, I loved the title. Sure, the synopsis was good, but it was mainly the other two that had me interested in reading some more about it.

    Val Shapiro has a tough life. She hunts vampires, she's home-schooled and has no friends, her parents prefer her younger sister to her... oh and she's part demon. To satisfy her inner succubus, Val needs to hunt a vampire every now and then, which happens to help calm down said demon - Lola. One day whilst she's out on the usual hunt, killing a vampire and whatnot, he sister hides in the backseat and tags along. Not only that, but she's caught, by a cop trying to dispose of the body. To make matters worse, her parents are sick of her sister wanting to tag along in her lifestyle that they fire her from her job, and kick her out of the house... on her birthday. As she thinks life has sunk to a new low, with no family anymore, she wonders around and comes across a special dog, Fang. She then calls the cop who'd caught her asking for a job and he delivers, in addition to that he finds her a place to stay. Life was looking up! That is, until she goes out to investigate a ring of vampires haunting the area and killing innocents, only to find that every vampire out there knows who she is, and that she is a vampire slayer - a courtesy of her sister's stupidity. On the bright side, she realizes she's not the only half-demon out there, and there might be ways to co-exist with Lola without harming innocents.

    I have been in a very vampire-ish mood lately. I am not sure why, but I really have been into the whole theme, from series, to movies and books. So this book fit right into my mood quite well. I quite loved the fact that there were two mythical creatures here and not just one. And a part demon dog? I liked it. I enjoy everyone's particular take on vampires, and Parker's was a bit conventional, but the added demon part to the mix made it unique.

    Val was the typical stubborn and independent heroine, always up for a fight and rushes to situations she surprisingly manages quite well. I actually liked her, and didn't find her annoying like most lead women characters who think they can do everything and don't ask for help then end up in ridiculous scrapes. Dan was an okay partner I guess, though the dynamics between Fang and Val were more hilarious and in-sync. Shade is one character I'd love to know more about, and Micah too, as well as Gwen for some reason. I am still wary of Alejandro, and seriously hate Val's mother. I am hoping at some point there's an explanation for how pathetic she is! That and Jen as well, she's one of the stupidest younger sibling characters I've read of. One that doesn't think straight before getting herself into so much trouble - not to mention her sister alongside her. But I guess it all fits into the story.

    Parker's writing is quite good, funny at times, serious and emotional at others. It's a quick read and I absolutely enjoyed it!

    Rating: 4.5/5

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    A great start to a new series!

    Fast paced, suspenseful, a touch of romance, and a humorous world view, BITE ME is the great start to a new series. I thoroughly enjoyed it and am looking forward to the next Val Shapiro adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Selna

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    BIOS

    Flamekraken. A sleek red tom with ailver eyes and very long claws. Age-28moons. Mate-none.crush- none.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Ass kicking "LUV" child!!!

    Part LOVE DEMON, Vampire slayer whats not to love?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Si

    He shrugged and walked out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Cricket

    She shrugs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Fallen

    Address: 460 155th Ave. Turtle Lake, WI 54889 <br><br>
    Name: Kelsey Olson <br><br>
    Si, Kala, l expect you two to write letters. I don't care what your parents say. You guys are now a part of me. A part l cannot lose. Okay? Please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Interesting book

    I'm not a follower of vampire books, but his one I found to be interesting as the main character has a demon in her and she is a vampire killer. I found the story interesting enough to purchase the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Finally.

    I had been trying to get these book for years before I finally got a nook. Definitely worth remembering it for so long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    highly recommended

    enjoyed all the way to the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Annymous

    The book was great who knew lily did it i thought alexjandro

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    A Quick Fun Read

    A heroine to cheer for. You will enjoy this innnovative and fast paced book to the very end. Val is a sympathetic character you can relate to no matter your age. Just bought the second in this series...looks like another sleepless night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Qgxc

    W-++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story

    (My Thoughts) 5 STARS!!!!!
    Bite Me made my emotions range from angry to sad, happy, and then laughing myself crazy. THIS BOOK WAS GREAT! Val is a strong, sassy, tough kick your butt vampire slayer. And she doesn't like to be called Buffy. Val, at 18 years old, is told she has to move out. More like her mom throws her out. Needless to say, Val's mom has some serious issues. One, she needs to take responsibility for her own actions instead of using Val as her scapegoat. Val packs up, sucks it up, though, and heads out into the world. She meets Fang, the half hellhound terrier, who's homeless, too. Fang becomes her sidekick, and he's just as kick butt as Val when it comes to taking out vampires. Fang also has one heck of a since of humor. Now on her own, Val decides she needs a job. Dan, who works for the SCU (special crimes unit) offers her a job after witnessing her taking out a vamp.They become partners. They develop a heated love/hate relationship. Val's stepsister, Jen, idolizes her big sister and although she has the best intentions of helping Val, ends up making her already bad situation with the local vamps even worse. And when Dan discovers Val's half succubus, and he shuns her, it breaks my heart. I won't tell you if they work it out or not, that's part of the good stuff, but I can't wait to read the next book to see where things lead. This book is defiantly worth the read. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cat for TeensReadToo.com

    Val Shapiro doesn't patrol the streets of greater San Antonio hunting vampires for kicks, nor is she fulfilling some sacred, ancient prophecy. She's just trying to cope with life as a demon/human offspring and sate the lust of her succubus half (Lola) by dusting vamps after dark. When her little sister, Jennifer, tags along on the nightly hunt without permission, Val returns home to find herself kicked out and forbidden from making further contact with her family, all on her eighteenth birthday.

    Having met up with Special Crimes Unit hunky detective Dan Sullivan while patrolling the night before, it's not long before Val's on her way to earning a living from her slaying duties. With her new half-terrier/half-hellhound sidekick, Fang, in tow, and Dan's sister, Gwen, as a roommate, Val's just in time to investigate the New Blood Movement. While NBM's leader, Alejandro, says the group wants nothing more than an improvement in vampire/human relations, Val and her SCU colleagues have their doubts. When a rash of innocent humans are targeted by rogue vamps and New Blood's most recent volunteer disappears, Val's no longer letting Lola out just for kicks.

    In some ways, Parker Blue's BITE ME treads familiar ground, specifically a young girl hunting big bad beasties in the night; but that trope is turned on its head in several ways. The slayer herself is half-demon and has not taken up the call of vampire hunting to fulfill a lifelong destiny. Val is, quite simply, an isolated, neglected young girl with limited options when it comes to satisfying her demon's desires. Ms. Blue takes the idea of self-determination a step further by not making vampires evil by nature.

    Obviously, there are vampires who drink humans dry, but the members of the New Blood Movement demonstrate their ability to make the choice for themselves. We can make a similar assumption about demons, given Val's choice to protect people who would otherwise be defenseless against creatures with superhuman abilities. The importance of choice becomes even clearer when Val meets fellow half-demon Micah Blackburn and sees how he employs his incubi powers as a dancer at the club Purgatory rather than seducing unwitting females.

    The best thing about BITE ME, though, has to be its characters, due mostly to the portrayal of their humanity - yes, even in the demons and vampires. Val may be sarcastic and sassy while kicking vampires to the curb, but she's also a little lost and unsure. Dan may be a salt-of-the-earth detective and devoted sibling, but he's not without prejudice against all things supernatural. Stepfather Rick is obviously torn about keeping his wife happy and protecting their daughter, Jennifer, at Val's expense. My favorite character has to be Fang. With his ability to sniff out vampires, telepathy, snarky humor, and motorcycle goggles, he's the cherry on top of the BITE ME sundae.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Parker Blue provides an entertaining romantic supernatural thriller

    Val Shapiro is a teenager who is part succubus, but seven-eighth humans. All her life she has tried to suppress the demon she calls Lola as if it was a separate part of her. Two things appease Lola¿s appetite: sex and the bloodlust of battle. Since she almost killed a boy she kissed, Val uses Lola¿s bloodlust to fight vampires killing humans.<BR/><BR/>One night when she is fighting a vampire, she discovers her sister Jen has snuck in the back seat of her car. When they return home, their mother kicks Val out and forbids her any contact with Jen and her step-father agrees. Needing a job, Val obtains work with the Special Crimes Unit that deals with paranormal crime; executing vamps preying on humans. She is assisted by a sidekick dog who is a hell hound and who becomes her friend. She is partnered with Dan, a man she likes more than is safe for his well being due to Lola, but she is unable to dampen the sparks between them. They search for a vampire lair while the vampire Alejandro has started a movement to get humans to donate blood to a blood bank and they will be paid in cash or enthrallment. Val has to rescue Jen before she is turned and find her missing stepfather.<BR/><BR/>The heroine¿s mom comes across like Cinderella¿s stepmother, throwing out of her home the offspring she loathes to protect the daughter she loves. Jen¿s father seduced her using his incubus powers and the woman has never forgiven him and struck back at him through a surrogate: his child. Teenagers will empathize with Val whose differences set her apart from her peers, but make her a strong SCU operative. Parker Blue provides an entertaining romantic supernatural thriller that fans of Stephanie Meyer will want to bite into the tale.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2