Customer Reviews for

Biting Bad (Chicagoland Vampires Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Chicagoland Vampires was one of the first paranormal romance ser

Chicagoland Vampires was one of the first paranormal romance series that I’ve ever read. Some Girls Bite hooked me in and Chloe Neill hasn’t let me go yet. Merit and Ethan keep me enthralled. I preorder ever book in this series. I read the new release the day it comes o...
Chicagoland Vampires was one of the first paranormal romance series that I’ve ever read. Some Girls Bite hooked me in and Chloe Neill hasn’t let me go yet. Merit and Ethan keep me enthralled. I preorder ever book in this series. I read the new release the day it comes out. I couldn’t wait for Biting Bad.

Merit is one of my all-time favorite heroines. She’s strong, independent and deals with whatever life throws her way the best way she knows how. And believe me, life has thrown a LOT her way. Ethan is such a sweetie to Merit. I love that in Biting Bad we see their relationship progressing (FINALLY) and I hope that we will get to see more of that in Howling for You (a novella set to release early January) and Wild Things, book 9, which is set to release in early February.

The GP needs to go down and I can’t wait for the other houses to realize that as well. I believe Scott is almost there and I have no clue what Morgan is up to. I can’t wait to find out. Mallory is back and I’m hoping that she proves Merit right and that Ethan is worrying for nothing, as he sometimes does.

Biting Bad is an awesome addition to the Chicagoland Vampires series. There is drama galore and it also shows how much Ethan and Merit have grown with each other and how their relationship has developed. I definitely recommend you start this series from the beginning, let Chloe spin her web and see if she traps you in it like she did me. I’m just sitting here patiently waiting for January 7th.

posted by slinkydennis on August 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

8/17/13 - 13 out the 21 5 Star Reviews are by nook/texters - no

8/17/13 - 13 out the 21 5 Star Reviews are by nook/texters - no relation to the book - get a life.

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    Chicagoland Vampires was one of the first paranormal romance ser

    Chicagoland Vampires was one of the first paranormal romance series that I’ve ever read. Some Girls Bite hooked me in and Chloe Neill hasn’t let me go yet. Merit and Ethan keep me enthralled. I preorder ever book in this series. I read the new release the day it comes out. I couldn’t wait for Biting Bad.

    Merit is one of my all-time favorite heroines. She’s strong, independent and deals with whatever life throws her way the best way she knows how. And believe me, life has thrown a LOT her way. Ethan is such a sweetie to Merit. I love that in Biting Bad we see their relationship progressing (FINALLY) and I hope that we will get to see more of that in Howling for You (a novella set to release early January) and Wild Things, book 9, which is set to release in early February.

    The GP needs to go down and I can’t wait for the other houses to realize that as well. I believe Scott is almost there and I have no clue what Morgan is up to. I can’t wait to find out. Mallory is back and I’m hoping that she proves Merit right and that Ethan is worrying for nothing, as he sometimes does.

    Biting Bad is an awesome addition to the Chicagoland Vampires series. There is drama galore and it also shows how much Ethan and Merit have grown with each other and how their relationship has developed. I definitely recommend you start this series from the beginning, let Chloe spin her web and see if she traps you in it like she did me. I’m just sitting here patiently waiting for January 7th.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    8/17/13 - 13 out the 21 5 Star Reviews are by nook/texters - no

    8/17/13 - 13 out the 21 5 Star Reviews are by nook/texters - no relation to the book - get a life.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    I'm a faithful fan & have to say I found this very disappoin

    I'm a faithful fan & have to say I found this very disappointing. The romantic aspect was bland & where did Merit, the tough kickass vamp go? Also, next to no plot advancement or evolution in terms of character development so it feels like a filler book. Too bad, I've really enjoyed this series but you could safely save your money & wait for the 3 books/novella coming out in 2014 & easily pick up the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Losing interest

    I absolutly loved books 1-6 . Book 7 slipped a bit but at halfway thru book 8 I must admit I am quite thru with the series. All of the hatered aimed at the house from the public, the city leaders and the GP makes it a hard read. The story line has from danger with witty, funny and tender thrown in to nothing but hatered and anger. I've just had enough and called the series quits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Merit never imagined a pizza dinner with Mallory would end up in

    Merit never imagined a pizza dinner with Mallory would end up in the middle of a anti-vampire riot. The target was a Blood4You production centers. But this is only the beginning, anti-vampire riots start hitting randomly all over the city. It’s a race against the clock to find the common thread in these attacks before the powder keg of anti-supernatural prejudice explodes… or is there something much more sinister behind these attacks.

    While traversing the Chicago anti-vampire politics, the GP starts to play their games once again. When another GP house is attacked, Merit and friends run to their rescue but accepting help from the “rogue” house is considering treason. As you can imagine this creates and even greater divide between the Chicago and European vampires.

    During this story, we experience a good amount of character growth in Merit. She is still working on coming to terms with this new life that was involuntarily forced upon her. She must also face many difficult and possibly life altering decisions. I was pleased with her choices and appreciated her strength in making the hard but right options priority. 

    I completely adore Ethan’s and Merit’s relationship. Surrounded by Valentine’s Day fair, their romantic plans get shot to hell…but the sweet thoughtfulness abounds causing swoon worthy moment.

    Biting Bad is a purely impressive, action packed read. I’m unsure where the story will be heading next, but I hope there are more shifter involved. No matter the direction, this loyal Chicagoland Vampire fan will be there anxiously absorbing Neill’s next imaginative adventure.

    Written by: Chloe Neill
    Series: Chicagoland Vampires 
    Sequence in Series: Book 8
    Paperback: 368 pages
    Publisher: NAL Trade 
    Publication Date: August 6, 2013
    ISBN-10: 0451415183
    ISBN-13: 978-0451415189
    Rating: 4 Stars
    Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal
    Age Recommendation: 17+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Ok, as far as suspense is concerned.  However, this was sent to

    Ok, as far as suspense is concerned.  However, this was sent to my email, with other romantic reads, supposedly to my liking.
    There is absolutely nothing of a romantic nature to it.  It's extremely bland.  Also if you do not follow the series, it's kinda hard
    to get accustomed what going on.  She needs to develop a short back story so people who haven't read the other books
    can understand the gist of the story.  A lot of dallying around with the story line also.  I'd put this as a teen read if anything.
    Not that great a story or plot twist.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    As always another great adventure for Merit and the gang. This o

    As always another great adventure for Merit and the gang. This one was really captivating and kept you on your toes. Twists and turns galore. I was happy to see more of our Grey house friends as well as Catcher and Mallory. Never crazy about cliffhangers but on the upside it just means the gang is coming back for another adventure. And can I say I am really loving Merit and Ethan's relationship. Things fall apart around them but they remain strong together. Definitely gets 5 stars from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I can't believe that I have just finished book 8 in the Chicagol

    I can't believe that I have just finished book 8 in the Chicagoland Vampire series by Chloe Neill.  There is only one more to go before I am caught up. The series has over all been very good. This latest release had a slower feel to it, the pace and action, building slowly over time, till by the end I couldn't believe where they ended up. I will say that if I hadn't had the next book ready to go, I would have been upset about the bit of cliffhanger ending.

    Merit, the Sentinel of Cadagon House, has been slowly becoming more confident and sure in her position of the last eight books.  Even though she was turned to save her life, it was without her permission. When she found out that her father played a part in the attack and subsequent save, she is beyond upset with him. Merit has continued to wonder and wish certain days that she could go back to her human existence. What happens at the end of this book, finally allows Merit to decide once and for all, just who she wants to be.

    The were some very interesting scenes in this book. Merit faces down rioters, takes Sullivan home for dinner with her parents, there's a fight with the GP on the front lawn, battling a burning building and even an uber-romantic Valentine's moment. Merit once again ends up in the thick of things, proving that she is the go-to girl for investigating the supernatural problems of Chicago. 

    This book wrapped up some things from previous books, but opened up a whole host more issues for the upcoming books.  The overall story line has been well thought out and I continue to adore the secondary characters that are vital to keeping the story moving, although I think the author was a giant tease with giving us basic instructions on making that flourless chocolate torte with raspberry chocolate ganache glaze, but not sharing the recipe! And the worst part? We didn't even get to listen to Merit eating any of it either. I cry foul! Overall, I liked the slow build, with tension rising until the big finish. It was a nice change of pace and gave the book a different feel, helping with the idea that the story will be moving in a new direction. A 4 star read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Great Series

    Loved the series. I liked how the book went. I tied up many loose ends!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this series

    I like to think of a series (book) sometimes like its a show. You have each book where you have characters come back for some other adventure, wondering what they'll be up to next and how they will solve whatever predicament they find themselves in. That's why I think some not all, YA or well, a book series should be a movie. Sometimes it can work and sometimes it fits better as a TV series, IMO. And with that little rant out of the way, let's get to the eighth installment of the Chicagoland Vampires series. First off, I love that cover, the dark/light purple, with Merit looking out at the city of Chicago at night, her trademark Katana by her side and I'm noticing, without her signature hairstyle, what with the nickname Ponytail Avenger. I'm not really complaining to much, but just wondering. I mean yeah you can see the bangs on some of the covers. All the covers yes but still. Sorry getting off topic again. So, you have Merit and the characters wondering the what why who (well its a little obvious) on some riots that have been happening around the city. What I like the most about the series, is not only the writing but its writing on the characters and of course the character development they grow through with each book in the series. From Ethan, to our MC to of course the other series like, Jeff, Mallory, even a certain someone Merit isn't quite a fan of, etc that get their moment. There's even some things that are brought again like a certain something Gabriel had mentioned and well something Mallory mentions as well. Which makes you wonder, what will the next book have and if it will be addressed again? At the same time, eight books in and you wonder, what new foe will be introduced. After what these guys been through, you think the next villain better up the ante or something. Oh and thanks for not spoiling much in the summaries. Lately it seems most book summaries, giving an idea on what the books about, gives something away. This one doesn't as far as I know. I don't know what else to say that I haven't said about the series thus far. I'll say that this was a good 4.5 read, uh sequel and looking forward to the next book in the series to see what these characters will have to solve next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Rose

    " im rose "she grinned - sure-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Melissa

    She went to her room

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    To evryone

    If you want gay sex or want to chat tyipe in gay porn and go to
    Result 3 or5

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Sex

    Eney one

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Tal

    "Tal no dont!" Tal pushed past Kasha and helped Korno steady himself "Are you alright?"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Kyla

    Moans softly

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Myth

    "Woah what's going on?" ((Sorry had to gi mewhere. Couldnt te my nook.))

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Taylor

    Walks in wearing a thong and bra dats all

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4