Customer Reviews for

Biting Nixie

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

GOOD BOOK!

Great plot, characters, romance and all! So the cover threw me off a bit, but the story is really good! Loved the story and characters. Yes, this is an ADULT romance, so therefore ADULT things happen. I would recommend this book. :)

posted by ASHLEYinFL on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I got this book because it was free and there were so many good

I got this book because it was free and there were so many good reviews. Wow was I disappointed. Half the time the main character spoke in slang that left me scratching my head and rereading it to see if I had actually read that right and I wasn't having a stroke. She w...
I got this book because it was free and there were so many good reviews. Wow was I disappointed. Half the time the main character spoke in slang that left me scratching my head and rereading it to see if I had actually read that right and I wasn't having a stroke. She would refer to one man as Emerson, Suitguy, Julian, and several other names. The authors continuity sucked. One page it is Thursday, the next Tuesday, the next back to thursday before going to Wednesday (what?????), It took approximately 256 pages before Nixie realizes what supernatural someone is (and it was more obvious here than that of Twilight, which is just sad).

The author mentions Buffy the Vampire slayer quite often and then has people of the same name within her book. She also names vampires after famous vampires (Nosferatu). This just makes me think she may be lazy in the creative department. And dear god it is slow

As for the adult content, didn't mind it until she would use clinical terms describing the sex. I am sorry there is nothing sexy when you say Mons, Labia or Vulva. It breaks up the scene and frankly is a huge turn off. Also having him be so well endowed just seemed painful. And one minute one of the vampires has FOOT LONG fangs, the next they are super small. It was too much supernatural and not done well. I see that this book is close to 13$ for a paperback and I would have been beyond angry paying that much for something like this. All of the German words/food that is incorporated also makes the book lag. Some german words are placed haphazardly throughout the book with no translation. I can find nothing good to say about the characters or the writing style.It was BORING and I don' understand how people say that the plot is good when we have 250+ pages of her "OH I like Julian but he is obviously vanilla even though he keeps saving me and I am a tiny punk girl that people think is still in middle school" and "Oh I will sleep with this guy to forget about that guy but then instead I will take one night stand to meet my parents" seriously try something else instead, like Shelly Laurenston, Patricia Briggs, Charlaine Harris, or if you are looking for serious sex LK Hamilton. I will not be continuing with this author

posted by tabascobaby on July 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    I got this book because it was free and there were so many good

    I got this book because it was free and there were so many good reviews. Wow was I disappointed. Half the time the main character spoke in slang that left me scratching my head and rereading it to see if I had actually read that right and I wasn't having a stroke. She would refer to one man as Emerson, Suitguy, Julian, and several other names. The authors continuity sucked. One page it is Thursday, the next Tuesday, the next back to thursday before going to Wednesday (what?????), It took approximately 256 pages before Nixie realizes what supernatural someone is (and it was more obvious here than that of Twilight, which is just sad).

    The author mentions Buffy the Vampire slayer quite often and then has people of the same name within her book. She also names vampires after famous vampires (Nosferatu). This just makes me think she may be lazy in the creative department. And dear god it is slow

    As for the adult content, didn't mind it until she would use clinical terms describing the sex. I am sorry there is nothing sexy when you say Mons, Labia or Vulva. It breaks up the scene and frankly is a huge turn off. Also having him be so well endowed just seemed painful. And one minute one of the vampires has FOOT LONG fangs, the next they are super small. It was too much supernatural and not done well. I see that this book is close to 13$ for a paperback and I would have been beyond angry paying that much for something like this. All of the German words/food that is incorporated also makes the book lag. Some german words are placed haphazardly throughout the book with no translation. I can find nothing good to say about the characters or the writing style.It was BORING and I don' understand how people say that the plot is good when we have 250+ pages of her "OH I like Julian but he is obviously vanilla even though he keeps saving me and I am a tiny punk girl that people think is still in middle school" and "Oh I will sleep with this guy to forget about that guy but then instead I will take one night stand to meet my parents" seriously try something else instead, like Shelly Laurenston, Patricia Briggs, Charlaine Harris, or if you are looking for serious sex LK Hamilton. I will not be continuing with this author

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    GOOD BOOK!

    Great plot, characters, romance and all! So the cover threw me off a bit, but the story is really good! Loved the story and characters. Yes, this is an ADULT romance, so therefore ADULT things happen. I would recommend this book. :)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Liked it!

    Stats: 708 nook pages. Comedic paranormal romance with graphic violence and detailed sex scenes. As long as you accept that nothing in this book is plausible and everything is exaggerated, you just might enjoy it. It has a zany Twin Peaks feel with a dash of small town quirkiness like in Northern Exposure. Apologies if you don't get my ancient references. I doubt I'll pay for more books in this series, but this free book was a pleasent surprise.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Pretty good

    If you consciously chose to purchase an adult book about vampires - you will love this. Anyone who complains about the content clearly didn't read the description. I found it to be hilarious and sexy at the same time - not an easy feat! My only (and I do mean only) complaint is that with the dates that B&N has listed next to the books - I thought this was the first one in the series. It's not - its the second installment. Try going to her website to get the correct reading order.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You really don't get what you pay for...

    I had high hopes for the book even though i had not heard of the author. Many people had given the book great ratings and reviews, as soon as i started reading i noticed a common theme. EROTICA, the author uses so much description about certain things it makes you want to take a shower, and not in a good way. If you can manage to get over the language then you have to work through the fact that the main character is childish in so many ways(she constantly throws tantrums) when she tries to tell people not to treat her like a child.

    Overall the book was a waste of money and time, it was vulgar(not in a good way at all, mostly trashy) and the reading was difficult to get through because it wasn't very interesting.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    kathy5051

    The story line was ok, but book was written slang which made it very confusing. I don't know if it was written for teens or what. Not a keeper, I deleted it after reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Crap

    The book is slow. The slang is painful to read. The main character annoyed me she acted dumb about figuring out aboutthevampires. It wasa painful read I could notfinish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Wow

    This is a good read if u like vampire romance with humans. The book contains oh so hot sex (who knew fangs can be exotic) and some kick ass. Nixie and julian sound sooo hot. Julian is protective of nixie. If u think ima tell u abot the dets ur soo wrong. All im gonna say is read the book. U wont be disappointed. -K

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Great!!!!

    Funny as hell and romantic i loved nixie she was funny and had great sense of humor. I loved this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Dawne

    Well I don't know how the whole book is because it went about 25 pages and started at the beginning again. Then went about 15 pages and back to the beginning AGAIN. Don't want to waste money on something that bad.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Fangy fun!

    v--v Humorous & Steamy! A feel good read v--v

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Very corney, but I really liked I! I'm off to check out her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    704 pages

    Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Really good

    This book was a fun read...lots of humor with a great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Fun Story

    I would recommend this book. It's fun and exciting with some seriousness mixed in. If you like comedy and paranormal in your stories, you'll love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Fun Read

    Fun, fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Delightful! Loved it!

    Its a quick read, but I loved it! Sheer escapism!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Great story despite the lingo

    After getting past the unintelligible vernacular and the lazily borrowed character names, the reader will find this to be a very enjoyable tale. Very detailed descriptions of small town life where everyone knows everyone, but their secrets are a bit more outlandish than one would assume. This tale of forced responsibility & "happy ever after" makes one think the intended audience is young, but the intimacy & heated scenes between romantic characters tells another story. Despite a few "hard to swallow" events (like a 3-minute perusal of bookshelf spines suddenly causing the complete understanding of the strange pop-culture references used by the main character) the story moves quickly and keeps the reader engaged, if a little confused about time of day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Great Read

    Nixie was a bit childish but it was still a great story. The male leads were strong enough to keep you sitting on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Great Fun!

    Silly. Funny. Sexy. Nonsensical. Vampires. LOL Enjoyable. Did I mention Vampires, especially one very Hot Vampire?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5