Customer Reviews for

Bitten (Women of the Otherworld Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 689 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(409)

4 Star

(172)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Bitten by Bitten

I don't think Armstrong could've started out her "Women of the Otherworld Series" any better. This is one of her best books ever. This book inspires fear, hope, and so many other emotions its hard to count.

She never lets you down with this first book and she never ...
I don't think Armstrong could've started out her "Women of the Otherworld Series" any better. This is one of her best books ever. This book inspires fear, hope, and so many other emotions its hard to count.

She never lets you down with this first book and she never falters to let you care about the characters. Every single one of them. I highly recommend it for a good urban fantasy with some heartbreaking romance on the side.

posted by 1171079 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Bitten

After simply loving the fantastic timing and characters in Kelley Armstrong's The Awakening and The Summoning, I thought I'd check out her backlist to see if her adult novels were just as good. I knew in picking up Bitten that I'd be getting a werewolf novel (perfect ti...
After simply loving the fantastic timing and characters in Kelley Armstrong's The Awakening and The Summoning, I thought I'd check out her backlist to see if her adult novels were just as good. I knew in picking up Bitten that I'd be getting a werewolf novel (perfect timing for Halloween) but didn't know much else. What I stumbled into was a complex and very character driven story about a strong female werewolf, trying to build a life for herself outside of the Pack. Since werewolves are only born male, Elena was bitten (against her will) and has never really gotten past that little detail. Even though her Pack has helped her try to accept this new part of her life, she's determined to break all ties with them in favor of trying to make it on her own in the city. She does pretty good for a while, even moving in with her boyfriend Phillip - a kind and patient man who has absolutely no idea what she really is. That is until the Alpha Jeremy calls asking for help and her return does she start to panic. Even though she's been gone more than a year, Elena still hasn't really sorted out her feelings about being a werewolf or her fellow wolves. She really doesn't know what to do about Clay, Jeremy's foster son, the man who stole her heart but who ends up breaking it since he tends to act more like a wolf than a man. Unwillingly, Elena returns to help the Pack only to discover they are on the brink of an all-out war with loner-wolves who will stop at nothing to get what they want.

Elena's story moves at a fast clip with plenty of action and some truly memorable characters to lead the way. Unfortunately, as I got more settled into Bitten, I continued to have issues with a few aspects Elena's story. The characterizations are all there and there were even some really good Pack dynamics happening - I just couldn't get over my irritation with Elena. That's not to say I didn't like her at all, I actually did - she's had some pretty rough things happen in her life and has come out a strong, determined woman - very admirable, but I couldn't stand the way she treated Clay and Phillip. I mean, I know Elena had moved away, trying to make a clean break from her life with the Pack and had set up shop with Phillip; but when things change does she break it off with Phillip or even ask for some time apart? No, the girl doesn't know what she wants (somewhat understandable) and so continues to keep both men stringing along. Very bad form. I understand that there was a lot going on to distract her from making up her mind, but she was so dang slow about it just ended up hurting my head. Probably part of the reason is because I became super attached to Clay. Southern drawl and all, the man is a total package so just maybe, I might have ended becoming a little defensive where he was concerned. That said, Bitten spun an intriguing story full of what I like best: believable characters - I just wish some had acted a little differently.
seemichelleread.blogspot.com

posted by SeeMichelleRead on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 409 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bitten by Bitten

    I don't think Armstrong could've started out her "Women of the Otherworld Series" any better. This is one of her best books ever. This book inspires fear, hope, and so many other emotions its hard to count.

    She never lets you down with this first book and she never falters to let you care about the characters. Every single one of them. I highly recommend it for a good urban fantasy with some heartbreaking romance on the side.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Bitten

    In Kelly Armstrong's book, Bitten, the reader will be pulled into a completely different world filled with drama, action, and romance. The main characters Elena and Clay have a love hate relationship that many people could relate too. Their constant fighting and drama will catch the attention of the reader. This book is so different from all the other werewolf books because it relates back to real human life and the struggles, but of course adding the twist of a werewolf life as well. This is the type of book that the reader will not be able to put down. Page after page it gets more and more intense as the fight for territory, revenge, and the only female werewolf unravels. This is an unending story, leaving the last page of the book as open interpretation. The only way to find out what happens next is to continue reading the series to find out more to this intense story of Elena and Clay. Armstrong's words just fly off the page and gives the reader very vivid images and grab their attention. This book will pull the reader into a world of unending imagination. While reading Bitten, the reader themselves will feel as if they are a character in the story as well, imagining what it would be like to actually be their fighting, going through "the change", and living everyday life as one of them. This is the first book of a series that will change the way the reader looks at "Women of the other world."

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I love Kelley Armstrong's style of writing. She can capture the reader and keep them hooked. I couldn't put this book down until I reached the end, then I went and bought the whole Otherworld series. She has a great balance of drama, mystery, romance, and fantasy. This is definitely a book I will read many times.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bitten

    Bitten happens to be my first paranormal book and I really enjoyed it. I would talk to my family and friends about it and get them into Bitten too. I love how it's not the men that's always saving the day, but the women this time. Very Romantic and love the action. Kept me reading more and want me know more about what is going on. I don't think there's a word for me to descibe how good this book is to me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I WAS LOST FOR WORDS BUT IN A GOOD WAY

    I THOUGHT I SAW MY FAIR SHARES OF SERIES BUT THIS ONE WAS OFF THE CHAIN..I FELL IN LOVE WITH THE CHARACTERS AND THE WAY KELLEY WRITES...I CAN PICTURE EVERY DETAIL IN THE BOOK...SHE SET THE THEME IN SYRACUSE WHICH IS WHERE I AM FROM AND IT HAD ME THINKING FOR A MINUTE IF THERE WAS REALLY WEREWOLVES OUT HERE LOL...SHE HAS BECOME MY FAVORITE AUTHOR...I CANT WAIT TO GET THE REST OF THE SERIES...IM STUCK WITH WATS GONNA HAPPEN NEXT EVEN THO I STARTED THE SERIES FROM THE THIRD BOOK!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A well-crafted novel where detail is packed in every inch of each letter of each page.

    Armstrong does a remarkable job in introducing her world with this first book. Her writing style really fills in the gaps of each character as if you known Elena, the main character, and others for years. The fact that she pokes in small stories or flashbacks as the story progresses makes it as if your reliving the character's life. Not only, but she also pokes in werewolf history and culture in her stories so not even the reader is left with a question mark or an overly scratched head. Armstrong truly made her book original and stand out from the rest. Personally, this book has become a well weaved novel that not only does its duty as a great romance book, but contains a plot and a story line hidden behind the pages that truly deems this a great book overall. Armstrong also does a great way of communicating her thoughts while leaving you chuckling at the sarcastic humor that covers each page. I will definitely say that this is a must read for all werewolf romance readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Kelley Armstrong has the best wolves around!

    After reading quite a few other books with werewoves involved I really wasn't a big fan of the fury things. After reading Ms Armstongs version of werewolves I am hooked! The whole series is great (currently on book 6) and I plan to read every book she has wrote.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Bitten

    A abused woman grows up and falls in love with a man who doesn't reveal that he is actually already bitten her and is expecting her to still want him in the end.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definately "Bitten" by the Armstrong Bug

    In all my reading, and I read a lot, there's no love story to compare to that between Clay and Elena. I love all the Women of the Otherworld novels, but there's not a story among them that's as powerful as Armstrong's first, "Bitten."

    Elena is a young woman torn between the normal life she wants and the supernatural world she craves. Bitten and turned into a werewolf by the man she loves, Elena has left that world to find her place among the humans. On call, though, drags her back into the life that she's tried so hard to leave behind, and the arms of the man who she feels betrayed her.

    Armstrong presents the age-old story of werewolves in a new light that is all her own. They're sexy and smart and completely enthralling. There's nothing more appealing to me than a story built around a woman who can kick butt and "Bitten" delivers. Strong emotions, but the strongest is love and forgiveness. You won't be disappointed.

    (not for kids)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Bitten

    So, I came into Bitten having read nearly all of the other books in the Women of the Otherworld series. In fact, the books with Elena narrating are the only ones I haven't read. It was very interesting to read this one, knowing it was the first in the series and already knowing in broader strokes who major players like Elena, Clayton, Jeremy, and Karl, are.<BR/><BR/>The narration in this book is much darker than in her more recent works, where the women seem more vibrant and infused with personality, and it took me a few chapters to get comfortable. Once I got used to Elena's voice, however, I found that I quite liked that it was not so light in tone. Elena's story is darker, for one thing. She struggles with a difficult childhood and a terrible betrayal as an adult, as well as her dual life as a werewolf, and so the darker tone in appropriate, I think. I remember not liking Paige as much, right away (Dimestore Magic was the first Armstrong I read); I think I actually came to like Elena more quickly, or maybe I just found her easier to relate to than sheltered girly girl Paige.<BR/><BR/>Elena's first story, which focuses on her return to the Pack when it is threatened by a group of outsiders, is really about her coming to grips with herself, not only as a werewolf, but who she is as a person. She has to learn to accept certain things about her nature, and reconcile her past with her life now. She also has to resolve her feelings for Clay, the wolf who she fell in love with, and who betrayed her in the worst way possible, by making her a werewolf without his consent. I found her personal journey just as compelling as the more action-oriented parts of the plot.<BR/><BR/>There were a few elements in the book that I struggled with. One, the infidelity. Elena has constructed a human life for herself, living with a human man and holding down a regular job. When she returns to the Pack, her feelings for Clay resurface, and while she struggles with the emotional side, she easily gives in to the physical. I think having suffered infidelity in a serious relationship in own life, I find it very difficult to sympathize with those who commit it. The other issue I had was learning to like Clay. I see his biting Elena without her consent as a form of rape, worse than anything her foster fathers did because she trusted him and loved him, and rather than offering her a choice she might well have taken, he made the decision for her. Elena eventually decides that being a werewolf is a good thing for her, but she was still made one without the opportunity to say yes or no. In the long run, I just had to buy into Elena's way of thinking, and roll with her decisions.<BR/><BR/>Overall, though, I thought Bitten was excellent. The plot revolving around the Pack was full of action, but Elena's emotional journey was the meat of the story for me. I'm very glad I finally picked this book up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    LOVED IT!!! IT WAS HARD TO PUT DOWN

    A great story w/ very few slow spots. I trully loved the book and I'm happy to hear there is a sequel to it... can't wait to read it as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    FANTASTIC !!! MUST READ!! and I'm not a werewolf fan.

    If you ever wanted to know what it would feel like to be a werewolf or dog, there is no more accurate rendition of that feeling...I'm sure..than the one described by Kelley Armstrong. What a thrilling story and to learn that it is her first, that blew me away. Not only are her story lines exciting in 'Bitten' and 'Stolen' the second book, but I think what I enjoy most is her description of all the senses that a werewolf/dog experiences. This book was an unexpected surprise....A MUST READ! PS. it's gruesome, exciting, sexy and thrilling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Waiting for the sequel!!

    From the first page to the very ending I lived, slept even breathed the book. I enjoyed the book very thoroughly and even went back and read it a second time before starting a new one. When I heard there was a sequel I rushed out and bought it full price. This is the most amazing book I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Couldn't Put It Down!!!!

    Truly a great story. I first noticed the authors second book, which looked very interesting. Of course I wanted to start at the beginning....so I read Bitten. It was definately not what I expected at all. But I am soooooo glad I read it. What a great twist on an old story. Kudos to Kelly Armstrong.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    The world of Werewolves through Elena's Eyes

    This book was wonderful. If you are looking to get into werewolve culture, this is the book to read. You'll enjoy it's face paced and savage nature. You won't be able to put it down untill it's done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    Great Read Even For the Pickiest of Readers

    I can honestly say this is one of the best books I have ever read. The plot flows perfectly, the characters are believable, and the writing style flows so nicely that pages just melt by. Armstrong has done everything perfectly in every way. Usually books in a series leave things hanging, but Armstrong wraps everything up aimiably. This is one of the greatest literary achievements, and I recommend you don't miss it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Amazing Book

    This book is AMAZING! The characters are great and interesting. It has a great story and the characters are so... well lets just say I fell in love with Clay and Jeremy. Elena the main character of the book is a really strong female and doesn't apologize for her behavior. It is fast paced and engaging read. Highly recommend. I loved it so much I had to order the next book Stolen from canada b/c I couldn't wait for it to be released in the US.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    Incredible Story!

    From Lon Chaney to teenagers to an American in London to more recently a cadre of dog soldiers, werewolves have long been a staple of the motion picture horror genre, but have trailed far behind vampires in popularity among authors and readers of print fiction. For anyone fortunate enough to come across this gem of a story, however, that lagging popularity should change. Ms. Armstrong evokes a thoroughly believable othersociety were good manifests the human qualities of love, honor, and personal sacrifice while confrounting the equally human evil of murder, mayhem, greed, and betrayal. I read the book in just two marathon sessions and as the last words faded into my memory, two thoughts immediately came to mind: first, that for the sake of our peace of mind, if not our blood pressure, we must come to some accomodation with those aspects of our lives that we cannot change, no matter how disagreeable they may be; and second, so skilled is the author at portrayal of this othersociety that I was fascinated by the possibility of living as a Pack member, able to leap tall walls in a single bound, heal quickly, romp with Elena, Jeremy, Clay and the other members on the grounds of Stonehaven, and, of course, keep those mutts in line. Bring on the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    Goodness Gracious- this book rocks! it was amazing, Jeremy and Clay were perfectly written, and Elena was surperb!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2003

    A bright new star is born

    This is a wounderful book I read this and I just couldn't take my eyes off of it. I had to keep on reading again and no matter what it was soooo great. WHenn I saw this book I thought Hey why not? I'm a little board and this may just let me read a little bit. I was taken aback to find out that this is Kelly's first book I can not wait to get ahold of her next book and I hope it will be just as good. Kelly keep up the fantastic job please I beg you to keep on writing I think I am now addicted to your books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 409 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21