Customer Reviews for

Bitter Blood (Morganville Vampires Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

In the new Morganville book it starts off with Claire who isn't

In the new Morganville book it starts off with Claire who isn't in a happy mood. She got a grade she didn't like and the professor isn't around. On her way to work with Myrnin, she nearly gets hit by a police car, and then is confused about the ID he asks for. Putting i...
In the new Morganville book it starts off with Claire who isn't in a happy mood. She got a grade she didn't like and the professor isn't around. On her way to work with Myrnin, she nearly gets hit by a police car, and then is confused about the ID he asks for. Putting it aside she gets to work,  and finds that Myrnin is a mess again. His outfit choice is odd and he made a mess of the lab. Claire is only there for a short time before she leave for her home. Still in a bad mood she arrives finding that the mail hadn't been taken in and there is another note on the door. They have been getting notes from those who hate the marriage between Michael and Eve. At this point they just start throwing them out, nothing will break them two apart. In the kitchen she drops the mail and notices they all got mail from the founder. Probably the new ID's the cop was talking about. Everyone's is the same except for Michael's, his is gold. For Shane, Claire, and Eve, they have ID's with pictures, blood types, protector info, things in case something happens to them. Oh and it's chipped. Michael's however is gold, with a letter saying that the card entitles him into one free kill and any accidents that may follow. Angry Eve tells Michael and he say's that he won't do any of that, not to mention he tried to talk to Amelie about it. What happens is that shortly Claire and Shane head out to do something about it. When plan A doesn't work, Claire and Micheal visit the founder. That plan also didn't work, so they head home and talked about everything going on. Later that night Miranda comes into Claire's room and they talk. Miranda is the new live in ghost. She is only real at night, during the day she is a ghost. Tonight she and Claire talk about how lonely she is, the new movies shes been watching and that Michael and Eve are talking. They are talking about moving into their own place to feel like a real married couple. The girls talk into the late hours. The following morning, Shane comes in with some coffee, maybe start something but Eve quickly stops that. (Shane needs to close doors) Anyway they both leave to put up posters of Monica all over the town. After they finish, they go home. Being for for maybe a few minutes before Michael and Eve bring up the moving situation. They want to move to be a real couple, but so many things come up. It's his house, so Shane and Claire should maybe get their own place. They are stronger together, and not to mention Eve may be in even more danger. People are still not keen on their situation, especially the vamps. Then what really makes the night crazy, is when Micheal pretty much wants to leave because of Miranda. She over hears them and then decides she will just leave. However she CAN leave. When Michael was a ghost he coulsn't go past the doorway, but Miranda can. She made it all the way into the street without any problems. That however didn't last very long. Before they can get her into the house, Miranda just poofs. They all go back inside and just sit around. Eve and Michael soon go upstairs, while Claire and Shane fall asleep on the couch. Hours later they hear a blast sound. Shane goes to check then comes back running. The house is on fire. Claire goes to get Eve and Michael. The girls run out back while the guys go to the front of the house and try to put out the fire. Suddenly Claire is thrown on the ground and a vamp called Pennyfeather goes after Eve. Saying if Michael won't do his job as her husband then he will. Claire quickly helps Eve before the vamp can bit her. Claire then runs into the house and gets some of their equipment. Eve throws powder at the vamps face and he is quickly taken care of. The girls run back inside, the guys already got the fire put out with only damage to the entry part of the house. Michael comes running to Eve and once they tell the guys what happened, they rush after the vamp. Leaving the girls in the house....I'll stop there, but I must say the ending is so heartfelt. I need the next book right now, because Bitter Blood has to be my FAVORITE book of them all. This book get 5 stars

posted by lovelysheild on January 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great

I love this series. I'm sad it close to ending. This book was great. enjoyed the plot. I'm excited to see what happens next.

posted by BranT12 on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    In the new Morganville book it starts off with Claire who isn't

    In the new Morganville book it starts off with Claire who isn't in a happy mood. She got a grade she didn't like and the professor isn't around. On her way to work with Myrnin, she nearly gets hit by a police car, and then is confused about the ID he asks for. Putting it aside she gets to work,  and finds that Myrnin is a mess again. His outfit choice is odd and he made a mess of the lab. Claire is only there for a short time before she leave for her home. Still in a bad mood she arrives finding that the mail hadn't been taken in and there is another note on the door. They have been getting notes from those who hate the marriage between Michael and Eve. At this point they just start throwing them out, nothing will break them two apart. In the kitchen she drops the mail and notices they all got mail from the founder. Probably the new ID's the cop was talking about. Everyone's is the same except for Michael's, his is gold. For Shane, Claire, and Eve, they have ID's with pictures, blood types, protector info, things in case something happens to them. Oh and it's chipped. Michael's however is gold, with a letter saying that the card entitles him into one free kill and any accidents that may follow. Angry Eve tells Michael and he say's that he won't do any of that, not to mention he tried to talk to Amelie about it. What happens is that shortly Claire and Shane head out to do something about it. When plan A doesn't work, Claire and Micheal visit the founder. That plan also didn't work, so they head home and talked about everything going on. Later that night Miranda comes into Claire's room and they talk. Miranda is the new live in ghost. She is only real at night, during the day she is a ghost. Tonight she and Claire talk about how lonely she is, the new movies shes been watching and that Michael and Eve are talking. They are talking about moving into their own place to feel like a real married couple. The girls talk into the late hours. The following morning, Shane comes in with some coffee, maybe start something but Eve quickly stops that. (Shane needs to close doors) Anyway they both leave to put up posters of Monica all over the town. After they finish, they go home. Being for for maybe a few minutes before Michael and Eve bring up the moving situation. They want to move to be a real couple, but so many things come up. It's his house, so Shane and Claire should maybe get their own place. They are stronger together, and not to mention Eve may be in even more danger. People are still not keen on their situation, especially the vamps. Then what really makes the night crazy, is when Micheal pretty much wants to leave because of Miranda. She over hears them and then decides she will just leave. However she CAN leave. When Michael was a ghost he coulsn't go past the doorway, but Miranda can. She made it all the way into the street without any problems. That however didn't last very long. Before they can get her into the house, Miranda just poofs. They all go back inside and just sit around. Eve and Michael soon go upstairs, while Claire and Shane fall asleep on the couch. Hours later they hear a blast sound. Shane goes to check then comes back running. The house is on fire. Claire goes to get Eve and Michael. The girls run out back while the guys go to the front of the house and try to put out the fire. Suddenly Claire is thrown on the ground and a vamp called Pennyfeather goes after Eve. Saying if Michael won't do his job as her husband then he will. Claire quickly helps Eve before the vamp can bit her. Claire then runs into the house and gets some of their equipment. Eve throws powder at the vamps face and he is quickly taken care of. The girls run back inside, the guys already got the fire put out with only damage to the entry part of the house. Michael comes running to Eve and once they tell the guys what happened, they rush after the vamp. Leaving the girls in the house....I'll stop there, but I must say the ending is so heartfelt. I need the next book right now, because Bitter Blood has to be my FAVORITE book of them all. This book get 5 stars

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    I love this series. So much so that words cannot fully express h

    I love this series. So much so that words cannot fully express how much.
    This book is told from several points of view including Myrnin’s which was a huge plus for me (I love Myrnin).




    This book, I felt, wasn’t as good as some of the others in the series but it was still great. It started out a little slow, but the pace soon picked up and we were greeted with some good old-fashioned Morganville violence, hatred and warfare and once again its down to Claire and her friends to help save the town from the vampires, save the vampires from the town and hope that every one gets out alive.




    I was not a fan of the ending, but that’s because I hate when a book that I am enjoying ends, especially when I have to wait 6 months for the next instalment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    This one was good, not a favorite but still good. Has its moments though. And liked that we got a POV chapter with Myrnin. Two more books left in the series. Really good series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Great

    I love this series. I'm sad it close to ending. This book was great. enjoyed the plot. I'm excited to see what happens next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. My interest in the ser

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. My interest in the series was waning, and this really did a great job of getting my interest peaked again. Now Im hooked for the next couple

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I Love Morganville and I Love This Book

    I LOVE Morganville and the gang. After defeating Bishop the series seem to slow down and then when the draug come into the 11th and 12th book the series picked up again and I loved them both. I was afraid to read this one because I thought maybe that it would slow down and not be as good but I LOVED how Rachel Caine gave us a twist towards the end with Michael and Claire. Ahhhhhh! I had to put down the book and just repeat in my head “Oh my gosh, oh my gosh…” I was crying and just really surprised! If you have read other Morganville books you should definitly read this one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    i loved it!!!!! best one yet! i just know im gonna cry when book

    i loved it!!!!! best one yet! i just know im gonna cry when book 15 comes out. i really hope myrnin finds loves he is defiantly my favorite character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    These books are amazing!

    These books are amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Team myrnin

    Awwww yea!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Love this book so much

    I love this book so much cant wait till the next one this book needs more than five stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    Okay to pretty good

    This storyline I didn't like. I didn't like it in Fade Out. But for both books, it does have its moments. And glad to have a Myrnin chapter for once. So, while I liked this one, it wasn't as good as the other books so far. Some not all. Also, you'd think by now, the vampires would appreciate Claire and co. after all they helped them with? Even Oliver. But no, still same old same old with them isn't it? Anyway, an okay to pretty good sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Sweet book

    It is a great book for supernatural lovers. IT IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Who knew it would be so great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I like this series.

    It always feels like I am visiting with old friends when I read a Rachel Caine book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Love this series!

    While this is considered a young adult series, it has a great story line and even though its not geared towards adults I cant put them down. Love Myron!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Bonnie-anne

    Sits drinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    I'm in love with this series, its romantic and action pack it also keeps you guessing on some parts.

    My favorite characters are Eve, Clair, Michael, and Shane but my favorite vampire is Myrin ( he's so adorable)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    *SPOILER*  Can't talk about these books without spoilers.  Just

    *SPOILER*  Can't talk about these books without spoilers.  Just can't.  A little crazy in this book. 
    "Ah, Morganville. Where dressing to hide bloodstains was just good daily planning."
    No surprise that Naomi reared her savage head, but boy - did it get ugly!!  I never felt comfortable with the idea of a 'romance' between Oliver and Amelie, but learning that Naoimi had bitten him explained why that was so awkward.  Still, I can't help feeling that there might be a real spark there after all - even tho' they go a long way to supress it. That's what vampires do, right?  They have plenty of time to work thru their relationships. The heart wrenching part was when Naomi got Michael!  OMG!!!  And the scene in the hospital when he kissed Claire and everything fell apart - just sad and so wrong.  I never saw that coming.  I knew he was ordered to end it with Eve, but that?  Was so unexpected.
    Myrnin's experience in the 'oubliette'.  Wow!!  Hardcore reminder of just how savage people can be.  The way Rachel describes his feelings - the darkness and closed in feeling - unbelievable.  And then, being BLIND!!! What??? It goes a long way as a testament to his ability to endure things that no one else would ever dream of conquering.  Then, he talks to his bunny slippers - yeah, he's still the old Myrnin - gotta love that.
    The stuff with the ghosts was a little out there for me. Maybe that will seem more sensible as the story progresses.  I guess Rachel needed something that would allow Miranda to get out of the house.  Jason - crazy Jason - I think that kid is beyond all hope. Oh! and loved the posters Shane made for Monica's run for mayor (lol!!).  Poor Hannah - that had to be horrible for a strong woman like her to be used the way she was.  
    This book was a really suspenseful episode.  There's a quote in the book: "Apparently, prejudices didn't die, even when people did."  That's really powerful and such a true statement regardless of who, what, where or when - prejudice never seems to die out completely.
    Also, loved this quote when Shane and Michael were ganging up on Pennyfeather in Myrnin's lab (that was really intense, btw): "He's not getting out of here again", Michael agreed. "But you don't have to go all Marquis de Sade on him, either. Just kill him. Or let me."  Ha!!!
    Still love Rachel's writing.  And now - can't wait for the next book out May 7th. Sad to think that Claire is actually planning to leave Morganville.  It'll be interesting to see how those stories intermingle - between Boston and Morganville.  Hmmmmmmm.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Blake

    And im the re blake...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great book! must read series! Rachel Caine is such a great writer :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Love the series!!

    I absolutely love Claire and Shane. I don't want anything to break them apart. I hope Myrnin finds a different love thats not Claire. I can't wait for the next book! All of them are so good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5