Customer Reviews for

Bitter End

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm still crying.

    This book was amazing. My stomach was knots the whole time scared of what Cole might do next. I've seen too many of my friends go through this and Jennifer Brown did a wonderful job describing everything these girls go through. Including their friends. I know it was hard to stand by my friend while she was being abused and not admitting anything was wrong. This book reminded of it. I just loved it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Rating

    I hate thst guy I what to kick him!!!!

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    This is a very powerful book, and it's about an issue that is close to my heart. I can see some of the same things in myself and in the main character of my book, Meredith that I see in the main character of Bitter End, Alex.
    Ms. Brown really nailed what makes it possible to fall in love with the abuser, and what it takes to stay there. I think at a distance, anyone can say that would never happen to them, but truth is that it can happen so much easier than anyone things. It doesn't have to be necessarily physical abuse, although they are usually linked, but it can be harsh words, isolation, or constant assault of character and looks. This never comes out on the first day--it builds slowly until you feel that the guy is the only thing that's important, the only one who understand and loves you.
    I saw this through Alex, and really felt along with her.
    I like the secondary characters such as Bethany and Zack, and I really wish that I had, and that everyone has friends this close. True-there's the isolation and the tension, but at the end of the day, they are still there for her. I also really liked her boss, Georgia, I just wanted to give her a hug.
    There is secondary plots, that is crucial to Alex discovering who she is like the quest to find out more about her mom, their trip to Colorado, and the different family dynamics that we get a peek at through the different characters.
    This is a really powerful book and I recommend that everyone give it a read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    I can't lie this book was good, and realistic, but I got really

    I can't lie this book was good, and realistic, but I got really annoyed with the character a lot through out the book. It was like Jennifer was pushing Alex onto Cole. It became a little unrealistic how forgiving she was. she would say she was mad, and then in the same sentence she forgave him. i read many books about women and teen girls in abusive relationships and this girl Alex was the most annoying. I got teary eyed at one point in this book, which was unusual for me.
    So beware that you will get pissed off at Alex, pretty much throughout the book. Also I though Jennifer Brown did an excellent job at explaining Alex compassion toward her dead mother, and her friendship with Zack and Bethany. I wished I had a friendship like how they did. The book was just good all around. You will laugh and cry, and get pissed.
    READ IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    When Alex falls for the charming new boy at school, Cole a han

    When Alex falls for the charming new boy at school, Cole a handsome, funny, sports star that adores her, she can't believe she's finally found her soul mate, someone who truly loves and understands her. At first, Alex is happy. Sure Cole seems a little jealous of her relationship with her close friend Zack, but what guy would want his girlfriend spending all her time with another boy?? As the months pass, though, Alex can no longer ignore Cole's small putdowns, pinches, or violent threats.
    As Alex struggles to come to terms with the sweet boyfriend she fell in love with and the boyfriend whose love she no longer recognizes, she is forced to choose between true love and herself. One thing I liked about this book is how it really shows her side of things. one thing i disliked about this book was did Cole know what he was doing before he started to abuse her?? If i could give this book a rating between 1-5, I'd give it a 4. the reasoning's because its like i knew what was going to happen next but other than that, I definately suggest this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Perfection!

    Bitter End is wonderfully written and the reader is immediately pulled onto the rollercoaster ride of an abusive relationship. Each character is real and relatable. Jennfer Brown describes the text book case of teen dating abuse; the friends torn between wanting to help and givng up, the mom who is in denial and doesn't know how to help, the boyfriend's abusive family, and the girl who is in love with a dangerous boy. Jennifer Brown shows us that love is real even when it is not rational. She shows us why people stay in bad relationships and how hard it is to leave them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!!!

    AMAZING BOOK!!!! Hate List another great book writtin by Jennifer Brown is also AMAZING 2 of my favorite book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Librarian for TeensReadToo

    Alex feels lost. She has ever since her mother drove off, leaving the family behind, and dying in a terrible car accident on her way to Colorado. Alex has always wondered what Colorado meant to her mother. Why was going there more important than her family? In order to help her get over losing her mom, her two best friends, Bethany and Zack, start making plans to take a road trip to Colorado after high school graduation. During Senior year, a new boy moves to town and catches Alex's eye. Cole is attentive, athletic, and attractive. Soon, Cole begins to monopolize all of Alex's time. He shows signs of jealousy about her relationship with Zack, shows up where she works and hangs out until she gets off, and starts having violent mood swings. Alex finds herself in a difficult position. She knows Cole's behavior is wrong and she shouldn't put up with it, but at the same time, she doesn't want to be the "girl who is being abused." She's the poster child for domestic abuse. Will Alex find the strength to make the right decision? Will she be able to salvage her relationships with Bethany and Zack? Will she ever find out why her mother needed to get to Colorado so badly? BITTER END is a wonderfully-crafted story. The friendship between Bethany, Zack, and Alex is great and made me want to have friends just like them. Jennifer Brown did a lot of research in the area of domestic violence and it really shows. Everything rings true in this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    I Hate Cole And Love Zack

    I like this book cuz it is so deep and finally Alex told everyone what happen. I'm so proud for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Tear jerker

    This book is really good! I love how the characters r so realistic. Its like I knew them an felt every emotion they were feeling. I highly recomend this book to everyone! Have tissues ready!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Omg

    This book was awsome and so...... DEEP. Its totally true how this book was page turning. i love this book. its part of my top 5 favortie books. Big props to Jennifer Brown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Page turning book

    Jennifer brown really made you feel how Alex did. This is an amazing book and once you start reading it...you cant put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I think Jennifer Brown could write a

    I really enjoyed this book. I think Jennifer Brown could write about a rock and I would still love the book. I swear, she just never fails me. This book is definitely an amazing and quick read that will make you feel. I always think that's so exceptional, if a book can make you feel. And Jennifer Brown is a legit master of that. You won't regret this buy. :) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Intense and Touching I loved this book. As Cole changes from Swe

    Intense and Touching
    I loved this book. As Cole changes from Sweet yet slightly dangerous boy to violent yet slightly nice and romantic, I couldn't help but feel for Alex as she suffered through Cole's wrath. Whenever I felt Alex really messed I cringed. You see her mistakes and her delusions and you want to reach in the book and shake her like "Why can't you see what you're doing?!!!" this book will really get your thoughts and emotions. Intense book. definitely good read. I am definitely going to look into more of this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Amazing!!

    This was an amazing book. It kept me wanting more. I couldnt put the book down. A need to read book, especially if you are a teen ( like me ). It teaches you a lesson, and has a very powerful message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Ausllyshippermbav

    Is there a sequel to this? Message me if you ship auslly!!!!(austin and ally, for the people who don't know the greatest couple eva!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Love, love, love!!! Bitter End is a book about a girl named Ale

    Love, love, love!!!

    Bitter End is a book about a girl named Alex.  Alex's mother died while she was still young, and on top of searching for closure on her mother's death, she must cope with the every day drama of her life.  These dramas include planning the trip she and her best friends have been dreaming of forever, her close friend Zack and new boyfriend not getting along, and eventually, an abusive boyfriend.  Throughout the book, Alex struggles to deal with everything in her life, hiding a dangerous secret that Jennifer Brown portrays perfectly.

    I really enjoyed this book.  Every page was well thought out and written extremely accurately, from the feelings of the main character to the real life consequences that these fictional characters have to deal with.  Total thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    i think that this was a good book. if i had to rate this book on

    i think that this was a good book. if i had to rate this book on a scale of 1-10 i would rate it a 9. It had things that could happen to people in real life and it was very descriptive. I like the author Jennifer Brown because she has this very good style of writing. I would recommend this book to people who like books about getting through tough times and being able to have more self confidence. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    This book was really inspiring and it was also a good book to re

    This book was really inspiring and it was also a good book to read!1 I owuld definetly but this book if i already didnt rent it from the library

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    **Spoiler** If you want to read a true story, on how well an aut

    **Spoiler**
    If you want to read a true story, on how well an author can make you get mad and sad at the same time, then read this book!
    It is a very good read and I recommend you try it. This book, Bitter End by Jennifer Brown, deals with the topic of abuse.
    She is an actual author who would address the topics most writers wouldn't even dare talk about . But that''s what makes it
    more real and interesting.This book deals with a girl named Alex, who, has a hard time at home (a dysfunctional household)
    after her mother leaves and dies when she is 8. she has an older sister Shannin who was 12 and a younger sister who was 5. Alex
    has always felt a little empty in her life and has developed an obsession with going to the mountains in Colorado.

    She has two best friends - Zach and Bethenny who join with her on the trip since they have been there since the beginning. Soon, as
    they are in their senior year (Celia is in ninth) a new kid moves to their school. after they start dating the author creatively uses tons
    of foreshadow to show the dangers ahead.This soon introduces the relationship abuse. She also shows the very common case
     of "I love him he won't hurt me again" or "I'm too afraid to leave" scenario. I, for one, got very pissed off at Alex in this novel as well as
    her boyfriend, Cole. But I also felt so much pity for her especially because of her predicament. It is also very good to realize the
    connection of Cole's family in order to understand WHY Cole is like that (the actual reason) and how bad his and Alex's relationship
    can get.
    There are some parts when the reader gets a sense of dramatic irony or even situational irony which happens many times in the
    beginnning, middle, and end. You can also count verbal irony (there are some as well, that is not sarcasm).
    I definitely recommend people to read this book because it is awesome and there's a lot of description and great detail. It's also good
     how the author always seems  to "signal" when something is about to happen. If you want to be on the edge of your seat/chair/desk
    then read, read, read! hopefully, you'll like it as much as I did.  Sorry for Spoilers, This is an English project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4