Customer Reviews for

Bitter Frost (Bitter Frost Series

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not Another Twilight Book

Riveting from beginning to end. The action and romance will keep you suspended and wanting more. I became a fan of Miss Gow instantly and forward to her YA novels.

posted by BeautifulBooksForYA on June 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend

I found this to be a very good book. The end was rather abrupt but the plot was interesting. The story about with a magical fantasy and a bit of romance.

posted by 10539696 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    Not Another Twilight Book

    Riveting from beginning to end. The action and romance will keep you suspended and wanting more. I became a fan of Miss Gow instantly and forward to her YA novels.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    Strong Family Relationship Explored in This Fairy Tale Told with a Twist

    Although this book has familiar themes found in some fey books, it is original in many ways. Yes, there is a fairy war, and there is a princess who grows up in the human world, unaware how special she is. But what makes this fey story stand out is the strong family relationships and friendships found throughout the series. This book series isn't about a teen girl lusting after a cold-hearted can't have love interest, it is about a teen girl, her friends growing up and reaching their destinies. Each one of them have their own destinies and challenges. There has been reviews downright critical of this book, which I believe are plants by a rival fey series. I, like so many other fans of this series, think this series is one of the best teen and young adult books out there. There are themes of growing up and being true to yourself. Read this book series for yourself and decide. I've read a few of the books before review this first one, and have now recommended this series to my daughter's school and Girl Scouts Group. I recommend reading this book in order.

    Bitter Frost, Forever Frost, Silver Frost, Frost Kisses, Midnight Frost, and Frost Fire.

    There is a spin-off series called The Wolf Fey. I recommend reading The Wolf Fey and The Red Wolf between Bitter Frost and Forever Frost.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Thousands of Fans Love This Epic series!!

    Having read all the books in the Frost series, I can honestly say this is one of the best teen/ya fantasy books out there.

    I fell in love with all the characters. Breena, Kian, Logan, Shasta, Rodney, the Fey Queens, Raine Malloy, even the bad pixie King Delano is sexy and charming. Who wouldn't want to be seduced by him?

    I'm so happy this series was chosen to become a worldwide major game by one of the biggest game companies. I can't wait. The world in this series is so rich, many fellow readers along with I have said we felt like we can escape real life and get drawn into Breena's world.

    I recommend you reading Book 2 right after Bitter Frost. Then Book 3 and the rest.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Exciting short read!!!!

    It was alot better than i first expected it to be. The story line progresses pretty fast, but it was still very enjoyable!!! Its totally one of my new favorite YA novels. I highly reccomend this exciting new series!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Story of Forbidden Love and Destiny - A Must Read!

    If you like beautiful strong fairies with some darkness and edge to them, then you will love Bitter Frost. This series reminds me of Wicked Lovely because there is a war going on between Summer and Winter. Breena is the Summer princess. I truly liked that the author made her strong from the beginning. Not once was she a whiny heroine. She's also pretty in her own way to begin with, not later on in so many YA books where suddenly, they become instantly beautiful. I love all things fantasy so this definitely fits what I love. I highly recommend the Bitter Frost Series and everything else from this author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    New beloved series

    Over Christmas, I received book 1, 2, 3. Bitter Frost was great, but Forever Frost and Silver Frost were much better. Silver Frost alone was epic. Now I have to get Frost Kisses.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable and Addictive

    A quick read, I found myself reading the entire book in one sitting. I can't stop, it was engaging from start to finish. I picked up the second book and the third book right after. Emotionally engaging. Good series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    This was a wonderful adventure. Breena has always been a bit ou

    This was a wonderful adventure. Breena has always been a bit out of step with everyone except her best friend Logan. She's dreamed of Feyland and of learning a dance with her intended. Kian is his name and it is all just a dream, right? That is what she thought until she turned 16 and everything changed!
    The author does a wonderful job painting pictures with words. I loved my journey into Feyland and meeting all the characters there. Breena is wonderful and does an amazing job consiering the circumstances she is thrown into. Kian, I wasn't sure I was going to like and now absolutely love. I can't wait to see what happens to them next!
    I rate this a 5/5. It is a great start of the series!
    Thank you to Reading Addiction Book Tours for the review copy of this book. I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Bitter Frost Review <3

    I adore this book, though this is not my typical read, I loved it from the get go! You just have to know what is going to happen with these characters. I am literally on pins & needles trying to find the next one. Kailin Gow is an exceptional writer and this is an easy series to follow. You will most definitely connect with these characters.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fairies

    I really like this series so far. It is about fairies and the summer, winter courts and all the normal fairy details. She has definately taken it and done her story and I really like that it is differrent from other fairy books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful YA Faerie Read!

    In Breena's world dreams and reality are mixed. In fact her dreams are so real that it haunts her until she can express it on canvas. Even though her best friend, Logan, is the hottest guy in school, her high school experience is not pleasant. Her dreams and her art is what gets her through the day. On her 16th birthday, things start changing. First she starts to see faeries around town and Logan gets very protective of her. When she sees Kian, the fae prince of her dreams, and is kidnapped into Faerie, she finds that sometimes dreams hold the key to reality.

    The adventure continues in Faerie with Breena finding herself a huge political asset to those wanting to capture her. Not to mention other creatures just bent on destroying anything in their path. Breena grows up quickly and finds strength within herself that she never knew she had. Unfortunately, as this story reaches a pinnacle, it suddenly stops. It's more than a cliffhanger... you sort of fall off the cliff. However, it does make it so you really want to find out what happens in the next book, due to be published in September 2010. I for one, will have to read this one to find out what happens next. :)

    I give this book 3 1/2 stars. I do recommend it for those looking for an interesting YA faerie read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    First off I do love Fey books, just something about them that m

    First off I do love Fey books, just something about them that makes reading about Fey amazing. Moving on. Breena is a sweet girl who dreams about Fey, and how they exist in other lands. She is learning to dance with this cute guy. Breena loves to dream. In her dreams everything is lovely and she is happy. Everything from her reality is non-existent in her dreams. Now when her 16th Birthday comes, things start to get strange. Before she knows it, everything is about to change, Everything about her dreams is about to come a reality. Breena will enter the world of Fey. Here Breena will learn alot of things and along the way will have an amazing journey. I must say that after I finished the book I was very annoyed that I didn't have the next book to drive into. That's how good the book was!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I received the e-book of BITTER FROST from the author as part of

    I received the e-book of BITTER FROST from the author as part of the blog tour hosted by Reading Addiction Blog Tours.

    BITTER FROST is a fae story. The descriptions used to describe the land, the people, the surroundings are very well done. It was easy to be swept away into the magical world created by Kailin Gow.

    Breena is the Summer Court princess. She's had dreams for as long as she can remember of being in the court with Kian, the Winter Prince. They are destined to be together until the Minotaurs attack. That's when the courts go to war. On her sixteenth birthday everything changes for Breena. She is kidnapped by Kian because of his mother's decree.

    Kian doesn't want to have feelings for Breena, but you can tell that there is something there. However, duty comes first and he is determined to carry out his mother's orders in order to gain her favor.

    I always find it interesting to read fae books. They are similar in so many ways, yet the great authors will find a way to make their book stand out. In BITTER FROST, I believe it is Kailin's word use that makes this stand out. With each sentence you are whisked away into another part of the world. Her descriptions not only set the visual scene, but they bring the emotion off the page. I was intrigued by how captivated I was. Overly descriptive stories tend to lose me very early on, but BITTER FROST kept my attention. It is a shorter book, about 150 pages or so, but there's plenty of excitement from beginning to end.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    I was absolutely blown away by this book! I had heard many good

    I was absolutely blown away by this book! I had heard many good things about it and was so happy to get a chance to read it!

    Breena is in for the shock of her life. Even though she dreams about Fairies, who would have thought that they are actually real!?! For years she has had so many questions and finally she has the chance to get some answers, even if she doesn't always like what she hears.

    Breena goes through a transformation in this book. SHe not only has to learn to trust others around her, but she also has to learn what it means to be able to trust yourself which at times can be the hardest thing to do. Kian was also a pleasant surprise in this book. I was so hoping that he would let his defenses down and let Breena be part of his life!

    I was mesmerized not only by the world that Gow created, but by all the characters as well. The writing itself was beautiful and left the reader feeling like they too were in Feyland.

    If you haven't had a chance to read this beautiful book, I suggest you do so as fast as possible! I can't wait to read the next book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I am a "not so young" adult who enjoyed reading this b

    I am a &quot;not so young&quot; adult who enjoyed reading this book. Its a fantasy novel which isn't even my usual reading genre. There is some romance but not in a trashy kind of way. if you like fairies and fantasy worlds give this book a try. I have read all the books in the series

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bitter frost

    Omg this book is so good must buy every one

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    awsome action/ romanse filled awsomeness

    this book captured my atntion after just reading the back cover (though in my opinion it was a little wrong the back cover) this in totall was an asome book well put together (though they editters realy need to get fired they were terable) the characters were very engageing the story line was great id recamend it to every one (: !

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review taken from Ramblings of a Teenage Bookworm

    Bitter Frost has taking place in a familiar world full of fey and werewolves that we all enjoy(especially those who have a Fairy obsession*ahem.mio*). It's a mix of Julie Kawaga's The Iron Fey series and Carrie Jones' Need series.

    When I first started Bitter Frost, i was so drawn into the story i didn't want it to end!But I felt like I was in forward mode. I wanted it to kind of slow down, so I could get to know the characters more and enjoy it's awesomeness.

    I really did enjoy reading about the characters, but I wanted more connection with them.My favorite character is Logan. He is strong, brave and everything a honorable character should be.Bree and Kieran are very alike in so many ways. Just think of Kieran as the new addition to Ash's brothers from The Iron Fey. Bree she is clever(but not when it comes to boys) I found Kieran to be not as cold hearted as i expected, but the wall isn't completely down. Hopefully Bree will get through that cold handsome exterior.

    Kailin writing is full of surprises. I really liked her twist on the Fey. She almost had me going there with Logan.I have to say the ending made me so happy, it was a complete shocker.

    Overall I felt like I just did a taste of Kailin's world. The story was similar to other books I've read but still enjoyable. Bree story has only began, I can't wait to see how it plays out in Forever Frost!

    Finished copy courtesy of Author for Traveling to Teens blog tour.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Why did I wait so long to read this book? Now I have seven more


    Why did I wait so long to read this book? Now I have seven more books to read in order to catch up on this series!

    I was entranced with Bitter Frost almost from the beginning! The descriptive scenery and the creatures made it truly feel like I was out of this world.

    The romance was sweet and who doesn't like a love triangle at the beginning of a series? I go on record saying that as of right now, I am totally team Logan. However, I reserve the right to change my mind as I read more of this series!

    The plot had action, mystery, romance, supernatural creatures, a fairy war, a beautiful place called Feyland, and more!

    If you like YA paranormal books, this is a must read!!! My only regrets after reading this book is that I didn't read it sooner and that I have to wait to read the rest of the series. :(

    Bitter Frost also contained a short book called The Wolf Fey which told a little bit of a background story about Logan. It was short but well written and I've added the other books in that series to my TBR list too.

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. I thought it was great and I'm looking forward to catching up with both of these series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVED this Book. A Fey Series I am hooked on! Such FUN! A Must Read for Fey and Fantasy lovers out there.

    I found my new favorite Fey series! I had the biggest book hangover after my favorite (still is a fav) the Iron Fey series. This one, so far anyway, reminds me of it, but in its own unique way. It is loosely based off the Dutch Folklore of the Snow Queen and Jack Frost.
    This book is written very well, and I found myself flipping my kindle pages faster and faster. I had to know what was going to happen.

    I warmed up to the main character Breena really fast, and found Logan to be awesome, loved him. I really warmed up to Kian the Winter Prince pretty quickly too.
    This is as pretty short story, in the Kindle is 2413 at the end of Bitter Frost (most books are 3500-8500), I do have the 2 books in one, with The Wolf Fey, ( I wasn't counting that part) a prequel of Logans story, which I look forward to reading. I am hooked on all things Bitter Frost series, so will be reading them all as I can get them, and will review some more of them here.

    I will not be telling you a lot, but will say it's a fun adventure following Breena into Feyland, and I really liked the beginning how she has the dreams that seem like memories at times.
    I really enjoyed reading the time she and Kian were able to spend together, and liked how it seemed their love grew. Their love took time to develop, even though it had already been there, from them actually growing up together when she was young, but she doesn't remember it well, just in her dreams.

    I highly recommend this series; it's really fun, suspenseful and keeps you on the edge of your seat. I will be getting book 2 soon for sure, as the ending kept me wanting more. A bit of a cliffhanger, but a good one.

    5 out of 5 big stars!

    I was provided a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3