Customer Reviews for

Bitter Frost (Bitter Frost Series

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not Another Twilight Book

Riveting from beginning to end. The action and romance will keep you suspended and wanting more. I became a fan of Miss Gow instantly and forward to her YA novels.

posted by BeautifulBooksForYA on June 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend

I found this to be a very good book. The end was rather abrupt but the plot was interesting. The story about with a magical fantasy and a bit of romance.

posted by 10539696 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I found this to be a very good book. The end was rather abrupt but the plot was interesting.
    The story about with a magical fantasy and a bit of romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    At first, I thought it would be an instant romance, and I guess

    At first, I thought it would be an instant romance, and I guess in a way it was, but there's much more to it. The story had me thoroughly engrossed, the plot was just starting to thicken, when it ended abruptly. I know there are more books in this series, but I felt like this book needed more of something in the ending. This won't stop me from reading more books in this series though. I think I'm hooked already. The author paints such a vivid world with her words, it's easy to lose yourself within the pages of Bitter Frost. Bitter Frost by Kailin Gow was provided to me by the author for review. The opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Ya-Aholic

    Bitter Frost, I have been wanting to read for sometime, unfourtantly the normal bookstore i am a member with does not carry ANY of Kalin Gow books (Weird?) So finally i got online and ordered it, and let me just say I am SO happy i finally got it. Bitter Frost starts off...well how all Fae books start. Breena is now 16..she is seeing weird things, and people that are close to her are acting weird. She then discovers she is a half breed, half human, half fae and her dad...well he is the summer king (of course)...she is in love with the winter prince (another 'of course') but cannot be with him. Oh and her best guy friend is in love with her also..but she loves the winter prince not him. (OF COURSE)

    When i first started reading Bitter Frost I was fairly annoyed with how similar it seemed to be of the Iron series by Julie Kagawa and the Glimmerglass series by Jenna Black, I happen to love both those series, but that doesnt make it any less annoying. After reading the book for a little while I found myself KICKING myself for saying that and loving this book!

    Kailin Gow has really put together a beautiful story, Breena is an average girl, and today is her 16th bday, it should be a normal day, but in turn its everything but that. First her mother is gone, second she is seeing things..things that arnt real, things that no one should be seeing and thirdly her best friend logan is acting extra weird today...this day turns around Breena's life forever. She goes threw a rollar coaster of action, magic, love and lost. And ends with a total cliff hanger that makes me want to scream until the next book gets to my doorstep!

    The main thing I loved about this book was the characters:
    Breena is the main character, and an ordinary girl. (so she thought) She is actually a Summer Princess and a halfling, half fae, and half human...and shes got powers she doesnt even know about. Breena was very caring and brave, putting herself in dangerous situations for the people she cared for and almost risking her life for them. She is in love with Kian...but at the same time you get this feeling she also has some hidden feelings for Logan? (I HOPE SO) Kian is the winter prince...and him and Breena were to be bethoerd once they got older...until the war started, now even though there is sparks between them niether of them can deny ...there meant to be mortal enemies. Logan is Breena's lifetime best friend..he's the best looking guy at school, but he doesnt care..he only cares for Breena..and all though she cant see it he loves her and always has..but even Logan has a secret that cant stay hidden forever.

    This book has everything you could ask for, Romance, magic, action, amazing characters, good settings, and good character build. After reading Bitter Frost I am patiently waiting for the arrival of Forever Frost (Bitter Frost#2), I am also now very excited to be a new fan of Kailin Gow and start reading a couple of her other YA series.

    -the reason this book DID NOT get 5 stars, is only because of how short the book is ):

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1