Customer Reviews for

Bitter Frost (Bitter Frost Series

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not Another Twilight Book

Riveting from beginning to end. The action and romance will keep you suspended and wanting more. I became a fan of Miss Gow instantly and forward to her YA novels.

posted by BeautifulBooksForYA on June 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend

I found this to be a very good book. The end was rather abrupt but the plot was interesting. The story about with a magical fantasy and a bit of romance.

posted by 10539696 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Perfect!!

    I'm so happy to be doing this tour for Kailin. Because I just so love her books! Like really. I'm not going to do my usually assembled reviews. Instead, I'll just have my rants about how much I love Bitter Frost. LOL. 

    Bitter Frost is another one of those fairy books, yes. But have you heard of half-fairies? Or half-fairy princesses? And a god damn hot Prince of Winter? Who is the  Princess of Summer's intended? It sounds so romantic. 

    So Breena has been having those dreams where she is a fairy princess and she is dancing with Prince Kian of Winter. When one day, the pixie King comes to her own house on her sixteenth birthday, Breena was suddenly taken to a world called Feyland, the same as her dream. Precisely, Kian saved Breena from the pixie King who seems like a rapist, but Kian is keeping Breena as a prisoner. Yes, Kian was Breena's intended. But that was before the war. Before everything. Before Breena was banished from Feyland by the Summer Queen (which is not Breena's mom).

    I feel like the Summer Queen is even more evil than the Winter Queen. Either way, along the way of Kian and Breena's journey to the Winter Queen's palace, Kian and Breena just can't help but fall in love. And their romance is like totally romantic. ;) 

    At the end, I can feel a love-triangle brewing up. I can totally feel it. And as much as I love him (the third wheel),  I totally love Kian more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Bitter Frost" is the first book in the 'Bitter Frost

    "Bitter Frost" is the first book in the 'Bitter Frost Series". A well written plot that catches your interest right from the start where Breena, the main characters dreams and reality are mixed together. An amazing adventure of fantasy and realms that exist within our own minds with characters that are interesting and well developed.  Be warned there is a major cliffhanger at the end that will keep you wanting more.  A total must read for all YA and adults who love the fantasy, magickal genre.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy which was provided for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    I've yet to find a book by Kailin I don't like and from her trac

    I've yet to find a book by Kailin I don't like and from her track record so far I don't think that's going to happen.
    Bitter Frost is the first book in the Frost series, a fast paced, entertaining read, which is a great debut to what seems to be a great series.
    Pretty much right from the start we're into the action, Breena wakes up on her sixteenth birthday and from that point forward life will never be the same.
    After an incident at her home after school she discovers that Logan her best and only friend is not exactly human and neither is she.
    And those dreams that she's been having for as long as she can remember about a boy named Kian and his sister Shasta , she has dreamed of them since they were children, they were both promised to each other to marry, but a war between the Summer Court and the Winter Court (where Kian is Prince has nullified their marriage promise) she finds that they're real and he saves her and takes her into Feyland, where he acts cold and indifferent towards her.
    She discovers that there is a warrant with her name on it and Kian has arrested her to take her to the Winter Court to be seen by the Queen.
    And so their adventure begins through Feyland and constant attacks and kidnappings, which only add to the drama and excitement that this book delivers.
    I can't wait to continue on with this series and see where Breena, Kian and Logan's adventures take them, and after the ending in this book I'm eager to find out how the ending resolves itself.
    A great read and one I suggest everybody checks out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Great start to a beautiful series filled with heart-stopping act

    Great start to a beautiful series filled with heart-stopping action and a romance that's as epic as the adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    highly recommend it!

    highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Amazing could not put it down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Alternatively intriguing as to kagwa's seires

    Iif you are looking for a faster iron queen then b sure to pick this book up. Great romance and exotic passion. An ending that makes ur hear swell

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I found this to be a very good book. The end was rather abrupt but the plot was interesting.
    The story about with a magical fantasy and a bit of romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Bitter Frost

    While the plot was enjoyable i noticed mistakes in spelling and grammer quite frequently. Now being that im not the best at both of those i find that those mistakes are pretty obvious and being that this is a published book they should be fixed. i also found when reading that there is alot of info that just seems left out and the story seems to rush by too fast.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    read a review

    i am a nook owner..really wanting to read this book. not absolutely sure if i want to buy the actual book. wondering if someone knew when it would be release on ebooks? and additonal feedback is great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Review: When winter comes in, it is sometimes light as snow flut

    Review: When winter comes in, it is sometimes light as snow flutters upon the tongue and then it comes in like two paddles of electricity to the heart.




    This book started out like flutters on the tongue and then turned into a shock to the heart. I did not realize this author took Breena, Kian, and Logan to use them as little demons to dig deep into my heart.




    I fell in love with Logan. That character grabbed my heart the most. He is soft in his words, completely trustable, and will do the unthinkable for the one he loves.




    The words rib bit me to search for the next word on the page. I kept reading just to find out what would happen next. It was from Breena’s point-of-view, but it was worth not knowing anyone else’s mind due to having enough to deal with having it from her point-of-view.




    Even though Feyland is a fiction place, it felt like I could picture it enough to go there. I wanted to jump into the book, just so I could go to the factious place to see it with my own eyes instead of my imagination.
    My only warning to all is the cliffhanger ending and has a love triangle tangled all through the book.




    5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    At first, I thought it would be an instant romance, and I guess

    At first, I thought it would be an instant romance, and I guess in a way it was, but there's much more to it. The story had me thoroughly engrossed, the plot was just starting to thicken, when it ended abruptly. I know there are more books in this series, but I felt like this book needed more of something in the ending. This won't stop me from reading more books in this series though. I think I'm hooked already. The author paints such a vivid world with her words, it's easy to lose yourself within the pages of Bitter Frost. Bitter Frost by Kailin Gow was provided to me by the author for review. The opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Familiar?

    This is the same as the iron king series by julie kagawa.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Ripoff

    ... of the Iron Fey series by Ms. Kagawa. Dull writing, grmmatical errors, no love for the characters whatsoever. I will not be finishing this series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Ya-Aholic

    Bitter Frost, I have been wanting to read for sometime, unfourtantly the normal bookstore i am a member with does not carry ANY of Kalin Gow books (Weird?) So finally i got online and ordered it, and let me just say I am SO happy i finally got it. Bitter Frost starts off...well how all Fae books start. Breena is now 16..she is seeing weird things, and people that are close to her are acting weird. She then discovers she is a half breed, half human, half fae and her dad...well he is the summer king (of course)...she is in love with the winter prince (another 'of course') but cannot be with him. Oh and her best guy friend is in love with her also..but she loves the winter prince not him. (OF COURSE)

    When i first started reading Bitter Frost I was fairly annoyed with how similar it seemed to be of the Iron series by Julie Kagawa and the Glimmerglass series by Jenna Black, I happen to love both those series, but that doesnt make it any less annoying. After reading the book for a little while I found myself KICKING myself for saying that and loving this book!

    Kailin Gow has really put together a beautiful story, Breena is an average girl, and today is her 16th bday, it should be a normal day, but in turn its everything but that. First her mother is gone, second she is seeing things..things that arnt real, things that no one should be seeing and thirdly her best friend logan is acting extra weird today...this day turns around Breena's life forever. She goes threw a rollar coaster of action, magic, love and lost. And ends with a total cliff hanger that makes me want to scream until the next book gets to my doorstep!

    The main thing I loved about this book was the characters:
    Breena is the main character, and an ordinary girl. (so she thought) She is actually a Summer Princess and a halfling, half fae, and half human...and shes got powers she doesnt even know about. Breena was very caring and brave, putting herself in dangerous situations for the people she cared for and almost risking her life for them. She is in love with Kian...but at the same time you get this feeling she also has some hidden feelings for Logan? (I HOPE SO) Kian is the winter prince...and him and Breena were to be bethoerd once they got older...until the war started, now even though there is sparks between them niether of them can deny ...there meant to be mortal enemies. Logan is Breena's lifetime best friend..he's the best looking guy at school, but he doesnt care..he only cares for Breena..and all though she cant see it he loves her and always has..but even Logan has a secret that cant stay hidden forever.

    This book has everything you could ask for, Romance, magic, action, amazing characters, good settings, and good character build. After reading Bitter Frost I am patiently waiting for the arrival of Forever Frost (Bitter Frost#2), I am also now very excited to be a new fan of Kailin Gow and start reading a couple of her other YA series.

    -the reason this book DID NOT get 5 stars, is only because of how short the book is ):

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    :(

    Didn't like the book. Not worth the time.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3