Customer Reviews for

Bitter Harvest: A Woman's Fury, a Mother's Sacrifice

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Must Read Story of the 90's American Dream turned Tragic

Ann Rule is one of my favorite true crime authors to date. Readers become so absorbed in her books that they feel true emotions for the victims and families. In this one, "Bitter Harvest" it tells of a woman named Deb Greene who kills 2 of her children because her husba...
Ann Rule is one of my favorite true crime authors to date. Readers become so absorbed in her books that they feel true emotions for the victims and families. In this one, "Bitter Harvest" it tells of a woman named Deb Greene who kills 2 of her children because her husband wants a divorce. Ann Rule described the psyche of Mrs. Greene and how her childish personality turned her into a cold blooded murderer. Those who love true crime should pick up this book. There are a lot of interesting aspects of the story that I cannot sum up here, but should be read. I highly recommend it!

posted by Lindsie on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ann should have been a little less biased

She is obviously writing this book from Michaels standpoint. But why wouldn't you belive him he was the victim right? yeah right. Maybe ann should try to get her facts straight before writing another book.

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    A very interesting story

    This is quite an interesting and tragic story. I was pulled in to the world of Dr. Green and could not put this book down. I however, felt that I never really got to know her mind or the reasons behind what she did. I was told of her life, but never gained insight into what drove her to such depths of despair. I find it hard to believe that her husband was the driving force behind all her evil and hateful ways.

    I think this book could have been written in a more objective way. Mike was never a shining example as Rule makes him out to be. I think he should share some of the blame for the breakdown of this family. Women who are committed and are on several meds should not be raising children. It's not alright for Mike to walk away and not shoulder some of the blame. Rule allows him to ramble on about his horrible wife, but she never questions him on why he stood by and watched this downward spiral.

    I would love to see a book about this family from someone willing to point fingers at all of the involved parties. From Mike Farrar to his parents and Debora Green's family, they should be ashamed that a woman who was so obviously a nut case was allowed to raise small children alone. Deplorable! and Ann Rule should have broached that subject. This story didn't unfold in the 50's before people understood mental illness. This was in the late 90's after numerous other mother's had plunged over the edge of sanity and killed their children. No one saw this coming? Oh, Please. Rule should have gone into this project with the same question for all involved, Why didn't you do something to prevent this from happening?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Portrait of Borderline Personality Disorder?

    After first reading this fascinating character study, I checked forensic psychology websites and stumbled onto the traits of borderline personality disorder that, IMO as a layperson, fits Debora Green to a 'T'. Bearing in mind the specific criteria, I reread Bitter Harvest. Not to be missed is the chilling depiction of Debora Green's jovial aspect during her middle-of-the-night interview at the local police station while firemen were still at the scene of the fire and she was unaware of the fate of her son and youngest daughter. When the detective asked where her children went to school...'They all go to Pembroke Hall' she said speaking so fast it was hard to make out the words, 'At least the living ones do.' paperback pg 182 Another reviewer has been critical the Ann Rule got some details wrong; but if the dialogue and description on this one page is accurate, that alone is worth the price of the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    Ann definately ''rules''

    Ánn does it once more..enticing me to grip this book without the need to let go. The language she uses is simple yet profound, not too bombastic yet insightful. I look forward to reading more of Ann Rule's work

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    excellent as usual

    Am a big Ann Rule fan. She doesn't disappoint in this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2001

    Wow, my parents rule......

    I found this book very interesting, and read it in one day. It was a very in depth case study into the personality disorders of Deborah Green. She seemed to be completely apathetic toward her marriage until it fell apart; her response to its eminant failure and her treatment of her children during its demise was so horrific that I truely believe that she has to be severly mentally ill. Any mother that would harm her children, in my opinion, must be somewhat crazy, not just evil.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Anne Rule: A Guided Tour of Horror in the Heartland

    Bitter Harvest is an engaging account of a professional woman accused of killing two of her children in a house fire that she, herself, set. Rule sets the stage by probing the past of Debora Green and her husband, Michael Farrar, and making an account of how and why her busband finally sought a physical relationship outside the marriage. The only unexplored theme is why Deborah Green really did what she did. In reading Rule's account of the behavior pattern, I can only surmise that Debora Green was a sociopath--one so charming and convincing that her spouse never thought to to seek protection from her. These kind of individuals are comsummate actors. They convince those around them that they are really okay, and the spouse often questions his or her own sanity. Some may hold Michael Farrar accountable for failing to remove his children from that home, but having lived with a sociopath myself, I can attest that time has to pass before any spouse of a sociopath finally gets the message to get out of the way. My sympathies go to Michael Farrar. He, like I, was simply trying to get along with what he thought was a contentious woman. However, there is no cure for a sociopath and no counseling can help. It is unfortunate those children suffered at Debora Green's hands. I am surprised that Anne Rule did not consider the possibility of Green's condition and consult a psychologist when she wrote this book. With that added dimension, this work could have served as not only a good read, but also as an educational tool for other spouses trapped in a similar situation. I was much luckier than Michael Farrar. My child and I escaped with our lives and our sanity.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    GOOD READ

    I couldnt put it down! Thats my four star rule!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2000

    Interesting Book

    Ann Rule does a fine job in writing Bitter Harvest. It makes you think about people. It's a must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    SICK MOTHER

    ANN RULE IS A WONDERFUL AUTHER. SHE REALLY SHOWS IT IN THIS BOOK. IT IS ALMOST INPOSSIBLE TO PUT THIS BOOK DOWN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1