Customer Reviews for

Bitter Harvest: A Woman's Fury, a Mother's Sacrifice

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Must Read Story of the 90's American Dream turned Tragic

Ann Rule is one of my favorite true crime authors to date. Readers become so absorbed in her books that they feel true emotions for the victims and families. In this one, "Bitter Harvest" it tells of a woman named Deb Greene who kills 2 of her children because her husba...
Ann Rule is one of my favorite true crime authors to date. Readers become so absorbed in her books that they feel true emotions for the victims and families. In this one, "Bitter Harvest" it tells of a woman named Deb Greene who kills 2 of her children because her husband wants a divorce. Ann Rule described the psyche of Mrs. Greene and how her childish personality turned her into a cold blooded murderer. Those who love true crime should pick up this book. There are a lot of interesting aspects of the story that I cannot sum up here, but should be read. I highly recommend it!

posted by Lindsie on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ann should have been a little less biased

She is obviously writing this book from Michaels standpoint. But why wouldn't you belive him he was the victim right? yeah right. Maybe ann should try to get her facts straight before writing another book.

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read Story of the 90's American Dream turned Tragic

    Ann Rule is one of my favorite true crime authors to date. Readers become so absorbed in her books that they feel true emotions for the victims and families. In this one, "Bitter Harvest" it tells of a woman named Deb Greene who kills 2 of her children because her husband wants a divorce. Ann Rule described the psyche of Mrs. Greene and how her childish personality turned her into a cold blooded murderer. Those who love true crime should pick up this book. There are a lot of interesting aspects of the story that I cannot sum up here, but should be read. I highly recommend it!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    WOW!

    This book holds you till the end. As with all of Ann Rules books you can't put it down. It's horrible to know what a person could do to their own spouse and children.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    COULDN'T PUT BITTER HARVEST DOWN!

    This was one of Ann Rule's best novels. I couldn't put it down...very good thriller!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    A Real Page Turner!

    Excellent book! Could not put it down. Ann Rule makes true crime read like fiction. One of her best!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    This is the Best!

    I have read almost all of Ann Rule's books and this is her best. I just couldn't put the book down. Ms. Rule is the best at writing true crime.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2003

    Last Dance Last chance was Great!!!!!!!!!

    Ann Rule is the best on true crime this book tells all and makes you feel like you know the people she is writing about. An excellent book to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    Yay for Ann Rule!

    I think that this is one of Ann Rule's finest novels, as well as the usual in impressive writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    Best Book so far I've read

    The book kept me awake and ended like most of her books do.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Love Ann Rule

    People who say that Ann needs to "get her facts straight" really have no idea what they are talking about. Ann Rule investigates ALL of her books thoroughly, leaving no stone unturned. She is fair and accurate, always telling the whole story. This is another masterpiece from Ann Rule and I was unable to put it down. If you love true crime from a writer that tells it ALL perfectly, you will love this story of a woman willing to kill her own children because her husband wants a divorce. Get into the sick and childish mind of Deborah Green, a woman who had it all, her own medical practice, a beautiful home and family and getting her own way was all that mattered. Great job Ann, another great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2002

    Fascinating Book!!

    This book was amazing! Ann Rule did a wonderful job- it was written so smoothly, and i loved the way that the characters were described with such detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2000

    Don't Miss This One!

    No one does it better then Ann Rule when it comes to investigative research in preparation for full length true crime books. As usual, Ann Rule fully explores the backgrounds of those involved and provides full character descriptions. 'Bitter Harvest' will not disappoint and her hard work shows in this smooth flowing rendition of the terrible crimes committed by Debora Green against her children and husband.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Tffzx klbdwqqdlij Hhcfsfrryyuiiooopojjhvvvllkjhggfappoyttrqqwertyuio OoiuyytrddssNgccZddffzdfsZdftgycuk


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    highly recommend

    Very interesting story.... one I would highly recommend to book clubs... it would make for a very interesting discussion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Must read

    I have read everythin by ann rule some books more then once must read for anybody into true crime!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Y

    I used to live in a house in the same neighborhood. The plot of where her house used to be was right behind mine. The neighbors told told my dad who told me the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great

    Another great book by Rule .. to think a mother, wife could do this to her family, so sad .. Bn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Phyllis 9/12

    I've read all of Anne Rule's books and this one is still my favorite-I am reading it for the second time, an interesting read and definitely holds your interest!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Ann Rule's e-books

    I'm hoping someone out there can help me. Just recently I was given a nook and after going through some of peoples reviw, I have one VERY important question. Does Ms. Rule's e-books contain pictures. You see, for me, the pictures of the victim & the detectives helps me to get more "vested" in each story. I truly LOVE Ms. Rule's books,but if her e-books are w/o the pictures, I would rather buy the paperback and save my credit on other books.
    I would appreciate any help you could give me on this issue.
    Thanking you in advance, M.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    One of her best

    As a fan of true crime novels, I have always enjoyed Ann Rule. She never disappoints. Her books are well researched.I have to wonder, however, why her husband left & didn't bring the children with him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    Absolutely fascinating

    I remember this story and the characters vividly even though I read it years ago.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3