Customer Reviews for

Bitter Is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass, or Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office

Average Rating 4
( 397 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Chic Lit in Real Life

Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly ...
Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly sarcastic, witty, and sometimes just downright mean, but you can't help to love her. The footnotes take a little getting used to, but the story flows so seemlessly it's hard to put down. And we all know where we were when her downturn happens. I recommend this book to people who enjoy biographies, chic lit, sex and the city, sarcasm, designer apparel, girly drinks, and really good books.

posted by HRH_Candice on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bitter & Boring

I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other thi...
I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other things, to no avail. I read this book about a year ago, and I am still bitter about wasting my time and money!

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Loved!

    Funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Funny

    I liked it. I found it funny and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    It's true, she's a self-centered smart-ass

    And it's just too much for me to take. Maybe a short story would have been enjoyable, but a whole book on her narcissistic saga is over the top. At least she's self-aware.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    My mink headband off to Jen Lancaster for the TRUTH be,hind her mess

    Loved it and totally understood that rise to the top and the humility of falling down in front of everybody. Jen did what real people do "they get back up and start over AGAIN!,,,"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Hilarious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    LOL

    Jen Lancaster is hilarious! I couldn't stop laughing. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Blind arrogance is the new black.

    Like many people now, this author is content being a victim of circumstance, and worse yet, still makes herself feel better by looking down her nose at everyone. I waited the entire book for her to have some life changing epiphany, and just as she might have been catching on that HER actions and choices may have lead to her circumstances, she is handed an easy out, on a silver platter, no less. In this book the bad guy wins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great book

    If you have ever used the phrase AssHat then you will love this book and all that follows!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    One of the funniest books I have ever read.

    When you first dive into this title, you are not entirely sure what to expect. In the beginning, Jen Lancaster comes off has mean and self-absorbed, but most importantly a strong willed female working in today's challenging and politcal economy. In her first memoir, she desribes a huge turn in her life that changed her for the better. Jen begins to look at herself and others in a new light. She is smart, funny, and relatable to just about any woman no matter the age range. There is a part in this book where she is driving through a bad neighborhood in a state of horrow that was so funny I almost cried from laughing so hard. I am a bookseller and I recommend this book as often as I am given the oppurunity. If I am ever given the oppurtunity to meet her I am going to bring her a plate of macadamia chip cookies for being so awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Self-absorbed, vain comedic princess

    Bitter is the New Black starts off with a loud mouthed scandalous main character who talks about taking a briefcase from a homeless man in exchange for a lunch with "crack peas" in it. Throughout the whole book she remains sarcastic and mean, even during the rough patches of her life she never loses her sense of humor. She also incorporates how the events of 9/11 impacted her life and how devastating many people felt after the recession started to hit and how unemployment rates went up. She documents how horrific it was to lose her high paying job and then trying to find work anywhere in the city, while trying to live the same old lifestyle she was accustomed to. With her outgoing personality she ends up making situations funny and awkward to some of her friends. I think it was kind of amazing how her boyfriend turned husband, Fletch still manages to stay with her even though she is egotistical and self-centered. I thought this book was hilarious and one of the best autobiographies I've read because it never seemed to bore you to tears with facts and sad endings. I think the author did a great job in writing this book, and I feel as if she got her point across in discussing how life can be hard sometimes but you just have to keep on going and believe that things will work out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    A hilarious read!!!

    The story started out on the slow side, but once things started crashing for Jen I became hooked. Every time I read I felt as though I was sitting down with a hilarious girlfriend and listening to her describe her life to me. Jen Lancaster is laugh-out-loud funny, and this novel is a must-read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

    I kept hoping this book would get better but it didn't.....forced myself to finish. Bought as a nook book. The footnotes were annoying and unnecessary making the download 500+ pages but the actual reading text was only 250. The main character is self absorbed and would not learn from her mistakes. She is annoying, and has a terrible often mean personality. I wish I could return my ebook...don't know why so many people liked this trash. Author is a Janet Evanovich wannabe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Not my favorite

    Not my favorite of her books! But I still liked it. In this book she shows how shallow she is, it was kind of annoying. But I have read all her other books and I love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious

    One of the funniest in the series her sarcastic humor kept me laughing the whole time....definitely a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended--Great Read.

    Loved the book--love Jen Lancaster's sense of humor. The book had me laughing out loud. I have recommended this book to all of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Hilarious

    This is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out Loud Funny...

    For the first 100 pages, I absolutely hated Jen Lancaster; she embodied every girl I couldn't stand in high school, but she made me laugh so I kept reading. For the next 100 pages I laughed out loud as she was brought down a peg with misfortune after misfortune. For the last few hundred pages of the book, I cheered as Jen finally figured out what was really important in life and started picking up the pieces. This is a fantastically funny and honest memoir and I can't wait to read Lancaster's subsequent books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    A Laugh Out Loud Book!

    Hilarious! I finished this is one day because I wanted to know what happenned next. My only question is why is the nook version more expensive than the paperback????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Wonderful wake up call

    A coworker suggested I check out this book because she said that the writing style screamed "me". She was right, I can identify with wanting to attack someone with a grapefruit spoon. However, this book was more than entertaining. It really described the struggle that my generation goes through with trying to make it. One day we are on the top of the world and the next we are unemployed, have no insurance, no medication, no rent money and have to move back home. There is light at the end of the tunnel though, things do eventually get better but it can take a very long time. I've been at the bottom of the employment heap and while I just made it to the top of the heap again reading this reminded me that family, relationships, happiness and following your dream are more important than the big paycheck. It is true, money can not buy happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20