Customer Reviews for

Bitter in the Mouth

Average Rating 3
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Like a rich chocolate cake.

Each sentence of this book was worth considering, reading twice. The reading was slow going because I had to reread various parts to make sure I understand the nuances and references, but the topic and relationships were fascinating. It's not a light read or one for t...
Each sentence of this book was worth considering, reading twice. The reading was slow going because I had to reread various parts to make sure I understand the nuances and references, but the topic and relationships were fascinating. It's not a light read or one for the beach, but it's smartly written and worth picking up.

posted by kfrye111 on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hated it

I can't believe this book was recommended as the top books of 2010. It was a painful read. The author "tasted words" Every other sentence read like this: "Thisgreenbeans bookpeaches wascherries a wastecandied yams of timemint."It was beyond distracting and I am stunned ...
I can't believe this book was recommended as the top books of 2010. It was a painful read. The author "tasted words" Every other sentence read like this: "Thisgreenbeans bookpeaches wascherries a wastecandied yams of timemint."It was beyond distracting and I am stunned that the book was able to be published.

posted by 6116614 on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    Hated it

    I can't believe this book was recommended as the top books of 2010. It was a painful read. The author "tasted words" Every other sentence read like this: "Thisgreenbeans bookpeaches wascherries a wastecandied yams of timemint."It was beyond distracting and I am stunned that the book was able to be published.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Like a rich chocolate cake.

    Each sentence of this book was worth considering, reading twice. The reading was slow going because I had to reread various parts to make sure I understand the nuances and references, but the topic and relationships were fascinating. It's not a light read or one for the beach, but it's smartly written and worth picking up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    A very different kind of story set in the South.

    Bitter in the Mouth, the title, has more than one meaning in this very different story of a young woman growing up the in the South. The story turns and twists and captures you in feelings for the characters and their relationships with each other. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    recommended

    slow moving, but intriguing read, I have read other books by this author this was not my favorite. Good discussion book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Ok, tried to like it but...

    When you write a story it shouldn't be merely free assotiation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Strangley Perfect

    I really liked this book. It was definitely a bit strange but it kept me interested and wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    JUST NOT WHAT I WAS EXPECTING

    HAD HIGH EXPECTATIONS, WHICH WERE NOT MET. A SLOW READ, DIDN'T LIKE THE CHARACTERS

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    A great read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story.  The characters were real, relatable and honest.  With the many obstacles that Linda had to over come, her story is of surviving.  Bitter is just one taste our lives experience and I think Linda is just a little bite of sweet and sour.  Then again, aren't we all?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Sucked

    Hard to pick up. I'm only half way through and I just want it to STOP! Where the hell is it going anyway??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Fascinating!

    Linda Hammerick can taste words....as she narrates her life complete with descriptions of the tastes, her story unfolds. Although she describes how difficult it was at times, I found myself wishing I too had this type of synesthesia.....The characters were beautifully drawn--uncle Harper especially is a delight! I will be reading more of Monique Truong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Save your money

    I was very disappointed in this book. I read it but would not recommend it. I would not read any other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    MAY BE THE BEST BOOK I READ THIS YEAR AND IT IS JAN 1ST

    This book was beautiful, stsrt to finish, with a surprise turn in the middle. Was a stunningly written novel, I was sorry when it ended. Every character had a sympathetic side...even though it took time to see some of them. This book made me get right online to read her first book, which won a huge amount of awards and accolades. I am a huge reader of fiction and non-fiction and I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4