Customer Reviews for

Bitter Is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass, or Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office

Average Rating 4
( 398 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Chic Lit in Real Life

Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly ...
Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly sarcastic, witty, and sometimes just downright mean, but you can't help to love her. The footnotes take a little getting used to, but the story flows so seemlessly it's hard to put down. And we all know where we were when her downturn happens. I recommend this book to people who enjoy biographies, chic lit, sex and the city, sarcasm, designer apparel, girly drinks, and really good books.

posted by HRH_Candice on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bitter & Boring

I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other thi...
I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other things, to no avail. I read this book about a year ago, and I am still bitter about wasting my time and money!

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Bitter & Boring

    I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other things, to no avail. I read this book about a year ago, and I am still bitter about wasting my time and money!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Bitter is my new black

    ....bitter for this book. With trying to be minimally judgmental, the author of this book is respectively not successful in sharing useful insight or lessons on life that could help or inspire any of us. So maybe my expectations were not the right ones. Her humor was dry and I found no comfort in her life for it seemed shallow and frivolous. I read through FIFTY PAGES and no substantial plot was created. I give Jen Lencaster kudos on 'trying' to make her audience laugh but all I honestly heard were crickets...for days.. I recommend reading the first chapter or two and if you like it then you share her humor, if not, be warned that it doesnt get any better and save your precious 'economy-strained' dollars.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Bitter and boring bile

    Jen Lancaster's paperback 'memoir' chronicles her self-absorbed downward career spiral. Unlike James Frey, this is no tale of redemption as Ms. Lancaster's book ends with her at the same mean-spirited and self-centered place she began. The power of the internet means that even the most caustic blogger will have their 15 minutes of fame and it is telling that Ms. Lancaster's book is endorsed by another blogging blowhard, Jessica Cutler of Washingtonienne infamy. Hopefully this book ends up on the remainder table where it should remain.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Blind arrogance is the new black.

    Like many people now, this author is content being a victim of circumstance, and worse yet, still makes herself feel better by looking down her nose at everyone. I waited the entire book for her to have some life changing epiphany, and just as she might have been catching on that HER actions and choices may have lead to her circumstances, she is handed an easy out, on a silver platter, no less. In this book the bad guy wins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY

    I kept hoping this book would get better but it didn't.....forced myself to finish. Bought as a nook book. The footnotes were annoying and unnecessary making the download 500+ pages but the actual reading text was only 250. The main character is self absorbed and would not learn from her mistakes. She is annoying, and has a terrible often mean personality. I wish I could return my ebook...don't know why so many people liked this trash. Author is a Janet Evanovich wannabe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    Predictable

    A story about someone who learned from her mistakes the hard way. Life forced her to develop character, mature, and get a new perspective. It was too predictable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Complete Waste of Time!!

    Do not bother with this garbage!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    Do Not Waste Your Time! (or MONEY)

    This book starts out with a very snobby/cold-hearted woman and I didn't make it through maybe a third of it. The lead character is so concerned with high-end material items and has a terrible personality. She is generally mean and judgmental. I was totally put off by what I read and how she treats people I wish I could return my ebook. I am not sure how this book was received so well by so many people.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Just tries too hard

    While this book was a fast and a very easy read, I found it to be extremely aggravating and most annoying. The footnotes are a ridiculous way to inject humour. She is not Kinsella, Giffin, Sykes, Weisberger, etc., should stop trying to be and find her own voice. And, after reading her latest blog entry about losing her dignity at her latest temp job, I don't buy for a second she has learned any sort of lesson throughout her 'ordeal.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2