Customer Reviews for

Bitter Is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass, or Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office

Average Rating 4
( 398 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Chic Lit in Real Life

Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly ...
Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly sarcastic, witty, and sometimes just downright mean, but you can't help to love her. The footnotes take a little getting used to, but the story flows so seemlessly it's hard to put down. And we all know where we were when her downturn happens. I recommend this book to people who enjoy biographies, chic lit, sex and the city, sarcasm, designer apparel, girly drinks, and really good books.

posted by HRH_Candice on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bitter & Boring

I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other thi...
I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other things, to no avail. I read this book about a year ago, and I am still bitter about wasting my time and money!

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Not my favorite

    Not my favorite of her books! But I still liked it. In this book she shows how shallow she is, it was kind of annoying. But I have read all her other books and I love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Far from great

    ehhhhh. it was kinda funny. that's about it. i wouldn't wanna read it again. and there were a handful of typos which really annoys me. also, her reenactment of drunk dialogue is exaggerative & not realistic. slurring is one thing, but sorry--nobody exclaims "i likessshh congressshh!" when they're drunk & trying to say i like congress. i didn't hate it, but i don't think i'll be reading any of her other books anytime soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A little too self-involved for this small town midwestern girl

    Lancaster "loses everything" but doesn't truly change her ways. It was a good book for light reading on vacation, but not one that I have to keep in my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    Random Pleasure

    It's been a while since a book made me laugh. This book delivered. I caught myself laughing out loud on the train. I know someone like the character so it was funny reading something, that I have first hand experience. The only thing I didn't like about the book, which is funny to me also was that when I saw the author's photo on the back cover, I didn't want to believe that she could praise herself as much as she did. Cruel? Yes. But the author would appreciate it. I never judge a book by the cover. Fortunately for me, it was the back cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    When you hit rock bottom you bounce back!

    Ok, 'The Grapes of Wrath' this book is not. Looking for a compeling plot line or deep philosphy, not present in this tome. What this book is is the story of a journey by one person. It's a lot lighter than Joesph Conrad's 'Heart of Darkness,' thankfully! The plot is simple, Jen is 'canned' by her incompetant rival, her boss Kathleen. The book documents a downward spiral from Jen being self-centered 100K VP of Sales to a person selling off personal possessions to make the rent. When you put this book down at the end you realize this was not a fictional work, but a real person's journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Bitter is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smartass, Or, Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office

    If you're in the market for a self-help book to get you back on your feet after getting laid-off like me, then this ISN'T the find you're looking for. I don't even know how the book got listed here where people search for guidance. I was disappointed because I was looking for advice not entertainment. If you want a great little gem to get you back from the black hole of feeling sorry for yourself than invest in 'Unemployment Boot Camp: Tactics for Suriviving and Thriving in the 21st Century' by R.A. Long. To find it on this website put in 'Unemployment Boot Camp' and you'll see the jazzy red, white and blue camoflauge cover that will whip you into mental fitness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3