Customer Reviews for

Bitter Is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass, or Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office

Average Rating 4
( 405 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Chic Lit in Real Life

Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly ...
Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly sarcastic, witty, and sometimes just downright mean, but you can't help to love her. The footnotes take a little getting used to, but the story flows so seemlessly it's hard to put down. And we all know where we were when her downturn happens. I recommend this book to people who enjoy biographies, chic lit, sex and the city, sarcasm, designer apparel, girly drinks, and really good books.

posted by HRH_Candice on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bitter & Boring

I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other thi...
I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other things, to no avail. I read this book about a year ago, and I am still bitter about wasting my time and money!

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 227 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great book

    If you have ever used the phrase AssHat then you will love this book and all that follows!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    One of the funniest books I have ever read.

    When you first dive into this title, you are not entirely sure what to expect. In the beginning, Jen Lancaster comes off has mean and self-absorbed, but most importantly a strong willed female working in today's challenging and politcal economy. In her first memoir, she desribes a huge turn in her life that changed her for the better. Jen begins to look at herself and others in a new light. She is smart, funny, and relatable to just about any woman no matter the age range. There is a part in this book where she is driving through a bad neighborhood in a state of horrow that was so funny I almost cried from laughing so hard. I am a bookseller and I recommend this book as often as I am given the oppurunity. If I am ever given the oppurtunity to meet her I am going to bring her a plate of macadamia chip cookies for being so awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious

    One of the funniest in the series her sarcastic humor kept me laughing the whole time....definitely a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended--Great Read.

    Loved the book--love Jen Lancaster's sense of humor. The book had me laughing out loud. I have recommended this book to all of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Hilarious

    This is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out Loud Funny...

    For the first 100 pages, I absolutely hated Jen Lancaster; she embodied every girl I couldn't stand in high school, but she made me laugh so I kept reading. For the next 100 pages I laughed out loud as she was brought down a peg with misfortune after misfortune. For the last few hundred pages of the book, I cheered as Jen finally figured out what was really important in life and started picking up the pieces. This is a fantastically funny and honest memoir and I can't wait to read Lancaster's subsequent books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    A Laugh Out Loud Book!

    Hilarious! I finished this is one day because I wanted to know what happenned next. My only question is why is the nook version more expensive than the paperback????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    Hilarious! Laugh outloud funny!

    Recommended for those down and out of luck in the current job market. Jen Lancaster writes and has said the things we all wish we could have!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    LOVED IT!

    I just finished this book and I couldn't stop laughing! I guess I'm a little late on the bandwagon of Jen Lancaster, but that's the story of my life! I'm now on to the other 4 for the summer... Can't wait! I love her writing style and like everyone else, feel like she is the best friend I always wanted to have. Two very big thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HYSTERICAL!

    If you want a book that will have you laughing out loud from page one, this is for YOU! I am presently running out to buy her second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Laugh out loud funny!

    Bitter is the New Black is such a fun, entertaining read! I couldn't put the book down and I couldn't stop laughing. I would literally laugh out loud while reading this funny self "portrait" of Jen Lancaster. She actually says the things we all think to ourselves. I liked this book so much that I went online and bought all the rest of her books and promptly read through them as well. I will axiously await, and purchase any book written by Jen Lancaster. Her books are a fun, enjoyable and relaxing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious, Sarcastic and Engaging

    I love Jen Lancaster's writing style. It took me a little while to get into this first book, but once it got going, I couldn't put it down! Since reading this book, I've read several of her others. I think each one gets better, although this is still my favorite.

    The most appealing thing about Jen's writing is that she's sharing true-life-stories but clearly doesn't take herself too seriously. While parts of the book can be annoying, like the fact she never actually changes despite everything that happens, I feel like you're there sitting listening to her story. So really, the annoyingness is the same as a friend who complains about the same thing over and over, but never changes anything to prevent it from happening.

    If you need a laugh, or you feel like you're down on your luck and need a pick-me-up, I would suggest reading this book. It will definitely have you laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    One of the funniest books ever!

    This is one of the funniest books I've ever read! I read it on an international flight and I'm sure other passengers wondered why I was laughing out loud. I've bought several copies since and given them as gifts. Jen Lancaster is like the funny, sarcastic friend you'd love to have (if you don't have one) and this is my favorite book of hers. It's a great read and one you don't want to put down until you're finished with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jen Lancaster is my new soul sister!

    Loved this book! I can't remember the last time a book made me laugh out loud to the point of tears! Thanks for the pick me up, Jen! Now I've got to dive into all your other books--I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Jen Lancaster is a great writer. She writes how every woman wishes she could talk in every situation. "Bitter is the New Black" is about Jen's work life, from having a great job to getting laid off, to her never-ending search for employment... the story goes on. If you want to seriously laugh out loud on practically every page, pick up this book. It's a quick read because you won't be able to put it down, it's original because it's a memoir, and it's hilarious because Jen is a fantastic writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the funniest books I have read in a long time!

    This book had me laughing out loud from the beginning to end. Jen Lancaster paints such a vivid picture as she tells a story. Loved it and will be buying others! Definitely would recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lancaster writes what the rest of us think.

    Like one of my other favorite authors Bill Bryson, Lancaster writes like she thinks. She writes like most of us think but don't say out loud outside the confines of our homes. I love it. Bitter is funny, human and honest. This world needs a lot more of those qualities!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Roller coaster of emotions

    While reading, I found myself shocked, angry, depressed, and laughing out loud right with the character. Lancaster doesn't hold back on how she feels, and when the mood strikes, uses footnotes to further emphasize her point. Rarely do I pick up a piece of non-fiction to read for pleasure, but I found myself truly engaged in this book and cannot wait to read the rest in her collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read!

    I loved this book. I saw so much of myself in it and learned a few valuable lessons along the way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 227 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12