Customer Reviews for

Bitter Is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass, or Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office

Average Rating 4
( 398 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Chic Lit in Real Life

Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly ...
Jen Lancaster is one of my favorite authors ever. I have had to buy Bitter several times because I've either worn it out or loaned it out and it got passed so far that it was lost. This is her real story of riches-to-rags, love, and a bad-luck purse. She is bitingly sarcastic, witty, and sometimes just downright mean, but you can't help to love her. The footnotes take a little getting used to, but the story flows so seemlessly it's hard to put down. And we all know where we were when her downturn happens. I recommend this book to people who enjoy biographies, chic lit, sex and the city, sarcasm, designer apparel, girly drinks, and really good books.

posted by HRH_Candice on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Bitter & Boring

I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other thi...
I forced myself to continue reading this book - hoping it will get better. I was bored in the first chapter, and then I was just disgusted by Lancaster's pomposity. It was by far one of the worst books I have ever read. She tries really hard to be funny, among other things, to no avail. I read this book about a year ago, and I am still bitter about wasting my time and money!

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 400 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 20
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Recommended - fast and funny read

    Jen Lancaster continues to entertain and provide new material with each book. She lets the reader enjoy her misery of everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    Predictable

    A story about someone who learned from her mistakes the hard way. Life forced her to develop character, mature, and get a new perspective. It was too predictable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    Hilarious! Laugh outloud funny!

    Recommended for those down and out of luck in the current job market. Jen Lancaster writes and has said the things we all wish we could have!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Complete Waste of Time!!

    Do not bother with this garbage!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    LOVED IT!

    I just finished this book and I couldn't stop laughing! I guess I'm a little late on the bandwagon of Jen Lancaster, but that's the story of my life! I'm now on to the other 4 for the summer... Can't wait! I love her writing style and like everyone else, feel like she is the best friend I always wanted to have. Two very big thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HYSTERICAL!

    If you want a book that will have you laughing out loud from page one, this is for YOU! I am presently running out to buy her second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    Do Not Waste Your Time! (or MONEY)

    This book starts out with a very snobby/cold-hearted woman and I didn't make it through maybe a third of it. The lead character is so concerned with high-end material items and has a terrible personality. She is generally mean and judgmental. I was totally put off by what I read and how she treats people I wish I could return my ebook. I am not sure how this book was received so well by so many people.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Witty Look at Unemployment

    When Jen loses her job as a vice president she starts by applying for every job that she sees online. She goes through the different stages of grief initally thinking that she is too good to collect unemployment checks since she thinks of them as a form of welfare. She gives her opinion of the unemployment office since she is stuck in a group of Hispanics who only speak Spainish and she demands that the talk is given in English instead of Spainish since she is in America. She is politically incorrect in her view of life as being unemployed. She is fortunate at first since her live in boyfriend is gainfully employed but her luck runs out when he is downsized from his job as well. The two of them are forced to downsize their lifestyle which Jen doesn't like at first since she is used to living the high life. She eventually starts her own blog documenting her unemployed situation in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Laugh out loud funny!

    Bitter is the New Black is such a fun, entertaining read! I couldn't put the book down and I couldn't stop laughing. I would literally laugh out loud while reading this funny self "portrait" of Jen Lancaster. She actually says the things we all think to ourselves. I liked this book so much that I went online and bought all the rest of her books and promptly read through them as well. I will axiously await, and purchase any book written by Jen Lancaster. Her books are a fun, enjoyable and relaxing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Witty, funny and honest.

    Jen Lancaster is a tell it like it is kind of person who tells her story with wit, humor and honesty. She is thrown a curve ball in life and tells the story of how her life changed and what she did about it. She keeps you entertained the whole time you are reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious, Sarcastic and Engaging

    I love Jen Lancaster's writing style. It took me a little while to get into this first book, but once it got going, I couldn't put it down! Since reading this book, I've read several of her others. I think each one gets better, although this is still my favorite.

    The most appealing thing about Jen's writing is that she's sharing true-life-stories but clearly doesn't take herself too seriously. While parts of the book can be annoying, like the fact she never actually changes despite everything that happens, I feel like you're there sitting listening to her story. So really, the annoyingness is the same as a friend who complains about the same thing over and over, but never changes anything to prevent it from happening.

    If you need a laugh, or you feel like you're down on your luck and need a pick-me-up, I would suggest reading this book. It will definitely have you laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    One of the funniest books ever!

    This is one of the funniest books I've ever read! I read it on an international flight and I'm sure other passengers wondered why I was laughing out loud. I've bought several copies since and given them as gifts. Jen Lancaster is like the funny, sarcastic friend you'd love to have (if you don't have one) and this is my favorite book of hers. It's a great read and one you don't want to put down until you're finished with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Far from great

    ehhhhh. it was kinda funny. that's about it. i wouldn't wanna read it again. and there were a handful of typos which really annoys me. also, her reenactment of drunk dialogue is exaggerative & not realistic. slurring is one thing, but sorry--nobody exclaims "i likessshh congressshh!" when they're drunk & trying to say i like congress. i didn't hate it, but i don't think i'll be reading any of her other books anytime soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A little too self-involved for this small town midwestern girl

    Lancaster "loses everything" but doesn't truly change her ways. It was a good book for light reading on vacation, but not one that I have to keep in my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    sarcastic and fun

    Bitter is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smartass,Or, Why You Should Never Carry A Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office
    Jen is a vice-president at a major finance firm in Chicago. She is very high-maintenance, spoiled, and self-involved. But when her world comes crashing down in the post 9/11 recession, she is forced to re-evaluate her life. But she fights it all the way. And she does it with humor, sarcasm, and bluntness.
    my review: I decided to read this memoir after reading a review of it by Rebecca from Lost in Books.
    This book was incredibly funny with its biting humor. Reading about Jen's search for a job, from those equal to what she was doing and eventually down to a barrista at Starbucks, while scary in this economic climate, was hilarious. Jen and her fiance', Fletch, who also has job problems of his own, struggle to maintain their lifestyle, but deal with eviction, repossession, and almost get to the point of moving in with her parents. She is not particularly PC and even though she is a Republican :), I couldn't help but like this strong-willed woman and enjoyed her antics. She eventually begins blogging about her adventures and gains a following, which led to the writing of this book.
    This was the perfect antidote for what ailed me. I will definitely be checking out more of her work.
    my rating: 4/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Jen Lancaster is my new soul sister!

    Loved this book! I can't remember the last time a book made me laugh out loud to the point of tears! Thanks for the pick me up, Jen! Now I've got to dive into all your other books--I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    Jen Lancaster is a great writer. She writes how every woman wishes she could talk in every situation. "Bitter is the New Black" is about Jen's work life, from having a great job to getting laid off, to her never-ending search for employment... the story goes on. If you want to seriously laugh out loud on practically every page, pick up this book. It's a quick read because you won't be able to put it down, it's original because it's a memoir, and it's hilarious because Jen is a fantastic writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Hilarious!

    There were times in this book when I was laughing so hard I was crying! This hilarious look into the author's downward spiral is just what the doctor ordered if you're looking for a funny riches-to-rags story that will keep you turning those pages.

    Jen Lancaster's transformation is a good one. I highly recommend this author and have added her other books to my must read list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    Random Pleasure

    It's been a while since a book made me laugh. This book delivered. I caught myself laughing out loud on the train. I know someone like the character so it was funny reading something, that I have first hand experience. The only thing I didn't like about the book, which is funny to me also was that when I saw the author's photo on the back cover, I didn't want to believe that she could praise herself as much as she did. Cruel? Yes. But the author would appreciate it. I never judge a book by the cover. Fortunately for me, it was the back cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the funniest books I have read in a long time!

    This book had me laughing out loud from the beginning to end. Jen Lancaster paints such a vivid picture as she tells a story. Loved it and will be buying others! Definitely would recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 400 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 20