Customer Reviews for

Bitterblue (Graceling Realm Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 349 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

It's been 8 years since Leck died and Bitterblue ascended the th

It's been 8 years since Leck died and Bitterblue ascended the throne. Her days consist of meetings, mounds of paperwork, and attending to the mundane inner-workings of her rule. She is 18 now, living a lonely existence surrounded only by advisers and servants, having es...
It's been 8 years since Leck died and Bitterblue ascended the throne. Her days consist of meetings, mounds of paperwork, and attending to the mundane inner-workings of her rule. She is 18 now, living a lonely existence surrounded only by advisers and servants, having essentially been locked away in an ivory tower. Becoming frustrated at her isolation, she begins to disguise herself at night and sneak out into the streets of the city. She has been assured that her kingdom is well-run and that her people are educated and happy, but life outside the castle is very different from what she has been led to believe. She has been lied to about many things. Vast parts of the city are in disrepair, the majority of the people are illiterate, and those who wish to tell the truth about events that occurred during Leck's reign are being attacked and killed. She realizes that her kingdom is broken, still reeling eight years later from the effects of Leck and his sadism. Can she be the queen her people need her to be, when she fears that she may be broken, too?

This book is so rich in its storytelling. Bitterblue is just as smart and fierce as we saw her in Graceling, but she is also sad and lonely and confused. The closer she gets to the truth, the more lengths certain people will go to hide it. Little by little she finds the pieces of the puzzle and begins to construct the true picture of Leck's legacy, but we are never entirely sure whom of those around her can be trusted. The truths that Bitterblue uncovers are heartbreaking and terrible, but she must persevere in order for her kingdom to move forward and heal.

We see quite a bit of Po, and some of Katsa as well as a few other characters from the first book (Giddon, Bann, Raffin, Skye), and it's interesting to see how very little they've changed over the years. I thought one or two of them might be married by now, might have families, etc, but no. They are heavily involved in the Council, which has become much more powerful throughout the seven kingdoms.

The beginning was great, I was hooked immediately; the ending is satisfying, all the loose ends are tied up. My one quibble with the book is the bloated middle. It could have been trimmed down and the story would have flowed better, in my opinion. There are too many subplots involving too many minor characters and after a while it became tedious. Enough bits of the main story kept bobbing up to keep my interest, but I think it should have been more concise. Overall, though, I loved it. I hope Cashore keeps writing about strong female characters. It's so refreshing.

posted by OliviaMay on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

This book is disappointing. Started out great then gets horribl

This book is disappointing. Started out great then gets horribly bogged down in castle politics that never ends. Very disjointed unsatisfying read.

posted by Eileen204 on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Graceling was amazing, one of my all time favorite books. I expe

    Graceling was amazing, one of my all time favorite books. I expected Bitterblue would be great too. I was so wrong The plot line was dull and would move forward only to to move back again so it seemed like Bitterblue was always in the same position. The Graceling world had few Gracelings and their abilities weren't a major part of the story. Most of the new characters were letdowns, much less well developed than those of Graceling. Worse, almost all the characters were brought back from Graceling... and ruined. Characters like Katsa, Po, and Raffin were way different than in Graceling. Katsa is barely there and when she is she and Po fight. I mean a lot. 

    I could have just said that the sequel wasn't as good if it wasn't for Kristina Cashore's worst mistake: modernizing everything. Suddenly, Bitterblue was saying "balls" when she got upset. 3 characters from Graceling were now gay. It was taking the world and making it something it wasn't before in a way that was so forced and left the reader "what just happened?!". 

    Overall it wasn't a good read and really changes your view of Graceling. I wouldn't even give this one star if I could.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Not a fan...

    I've read both frie anx graceling, and enjoyed them immensly. But this book was simply too much. It makes very little sense and feels jumbled and ruahed. I cohtinued reading hoping tat in the end things would click into place. Nothing ever did. It makes some sense, but I got a very Alice In Wonderland odd feel about this book that I simply didn't enjoy at all. A decent book, but no where near Fire or Graceling.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Decent

    I enjoyed this read. The book is filled with puzzles and the mystery that surrounds Leck. It is also nice to still have interactions with previous characters from the first novel.
    Why only three stars then? I' m not quite sure.... It was all around nice, good, decent and enjoyable but there was something missing that made it enthralling. Maybe Bitterblue would have made a good third book rather than sequel. Maybe Po's story should have been the sequel...or not.
    Regardless to whatever is amiss, it has been days since i finished the novel and i still find myself thinking of the world with gracelings, corrupt kings and seven kingdoms. Recommended read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Okay

    A bit dissapointing. Nothing compared to graceling. Bitterblue is a bit of a whiny damsel in distress.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Not sure how i feel about this one?

    I adored the first two books snd love how the author incorporated katsa and po, they were my favorite charactors. I just feel that BB storyline with saf was pointless. I really enjoyed his charactor, but he wadls under developed. There were just to many potentially great charactors that got lost in the very confusing plot and shuffle of the book . The book just felt much more detached than the first two, and left me feeling bored and wanting more in the end . Somewhat dissapointed with this one .

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Review 1335790593248

    This is a really nice book! 1335790593248

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    OMG!!!

    Love this author and cant wait!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Yesss!!

    Ive been waiting so long i dnt care tht i have to preorder it

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    OMG!!

    I have been waiting FOrever 4 this book & it's finally here!!

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Vincent

    Attcked

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Raven

    Ate reeses for breakfast.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Officer percy

    Die!!! Hits you with ballin sword

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Dawn

    I have read this book its really good if you read it get graceling first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Changeling

    I allowed a vote?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Read please read this comment Please read this

    I have not read this book yet but it sounds wonderful now i justwri want to read it more and i am still reading the first cant wait thanks for getting me all worked up guys thanks kristen for writting these wonderful books please please write more you are a wonderful writter

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Hey PEOPLE i NEED a REPLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I havent read the book but im asking does either fire or katsa come out in the book!!!!!!????(if u read this book and the other two

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is as good as the last two. The defiant bitterblue is nothing like i imagined her in graceling.. sh is even better. Thi book is a must read . Extremley creative and amzingly written anyone can faall for kristins amazing writing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    Blown away by the mind-boggling intrigue of the Graceling/Dellian universe

    I didn't think Cashore would be able to top Graceling and Fire, but Bitterblue blew that opinion to shreds. It took me a couple chapters to get into the book (mostly because it's been a while since I've read the other 2 books and my head is stuffed with homework readings) but when I got into it I read it in a single day. I just love how she ties in both Fire and Graceling, and like it says on the inside cover you don't have to have read the other 2 to read Bitterblue, but having read them just makes it all the more interesting. I definitely recommend this to anyone who read Graceling and Fire, and recommend it to all readers, especially for teens and up, as some of the subtle intrigue can be a little mystifying to younger readers. Overall though, a fantastic novel - 5+ out of 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Bitterblue

    This book was amazing a must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18