Customer Reviews for

Bittersweet Magic: A Novel of The Order

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    BITTERSWEET MAGIC is the second instalment in Nina Croft¿s adult

    BITTERSWEET MAGIC is the second instalment in Nina Croft’s adult, contemporary The Order paranormal/fantasy series.  This is Piers and Roz’s story. Although it is the second in the series, it can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty.
    Piers is one of the oldest living vampires and head of the regulating vampire body, known as The Order of the Shadow Accords, that polices the supernaturals of the world; and Roz is ‘not quite human’. Indebted to the demon Asmodai for the past five hundred years, Roz is tasked to perform one final job before being released from her obligations- to find The Key-a key that will open the portal between the worlds. 
    Told from third person POV, the storyline follows Roz as she is targeted by several supernatural factions on her adventure in search for The Key. Not only does the Key open the door to other realms but it will free one of the most powerful demons the supernatural world have ever known. Enter Piers-the vampire with whom Roz will fall in love but not before said powerful demon makes him an offer he can’t refuse-Piers will sacrifice himself to save the world.
    The relationship between Roz and Piers is slow to build. As Roz endeavors to discover the truth about her heritage and the missing Key, Piers will take advantage of Roz’s special blood on more than one occasion. Believing he is mesmerizing Roz, Piers will continue to feed from the woman all the while she is well aware of what is going on. The sex scenes are sensual and seductive; there is a true feeling of love between the vampire and his mate.  But Roz has a secret buried deep within her mind and her heart, and it will take someone from her past to bring that knowledge and power to the present.
    The secondary characters play a pivotal role including former head of The Order and vampire Christian Roth, and his mate Tara, whom we met in the first storyline Bittersweet Blood. We will be reintroduced to Ryan-a close friend of Roz- a human and police detective, who will become the liaison between the human and supernatural world. 
    BITTERSWEET MAGIC is an enchanting and fascinating storyline that was slow to build and quick to resolve. The previous storyline characters are colorful, add emotion and history, and brought a sense of continuity to the series.  The reader is pulled into a story about love and understanding; betrayal and sacrifice; power and control.  Nina Croft has the ability to blend present day with the fantasy of the supernatural making you believe that anything is possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    4.5 Stars

    4.5 stars
    Worth Reading...
    Total Pages: 240; Story Pages: 228
    The Order series, book #2
    Piers' & Roz's story.
    New series by Nina Croft. Vampires, werewolves, demons, angels, witches, Fae, etc.
    Roz: witch (half angel, half human).
    Piers: Vampire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second book in the Order series which can be read as

    This is the second book in the Order series which can be read as a standalone. However it would be good to read the first book, as it will provide you with background information on some of the characters mentioned in this book.
    After reading book one (Bittersweet Blood) I knew that this was going to be an exciting series and as such I was glad to receive a complimentary copy of Bittersweet Magic to provide a honest review.
    In this story we are introduced to Piers Lamont a two thousand year old vampire and Rosamund who is five hundred years old but has no idea who or what she is.




    Rosamund has been indebted to the demon Asmodai since she was seventeen years old, a debt which required her to carry out tasks for him from time to time. She desperately wanted to be free of Asmodai as such when she was called upon to perform what said to be her final task she was willing to go through any lengths to accomplish this task. It was during her quest to complete this task that she crossed paths with Piers. The meeting between these was fraught with deceit, however this did not stop the passion from flaring between them. It was quite fun to see the the interaction between these two.




    Ms. Croft has done a great job of combining the right amount of romance, action and suspense to hold her reader's attention. This story pulls you in from the very first page and keeps you on the edge of your seat till the very end. When Rosamund eventually found out what she was I was like OMG what a twist. 




    This was a fun and fantastic read and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it and I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    I really enjoyed this novel.  It was fun to read about all of th

    I really enjoyed this novel.  It was fun to read about all of the interaction between the Fae, vampires, werewolves, witches, humans, 
    and even nuns!  The romance between the main characters, Roz and Piers was great reading.  It was interesting to read about the  
    sacrifices they made for each other.  Oh, and we can't forget about the demons!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    **Review courtesy of All Things Urban Fantasy** As I¿ve been wa

    **Review courtesy of All Things Urban Fantasy**

    As I’ve been waiting for BITTERSWEET MAGIC since about three minutes after I finished BITTERSWEET BLOOD, the first book in The Order series, I  think we can easily say I was pretty excited to read this book. Luckily, even though I had a few issues with BITTERSWEET MAGIC, it lived up to my expectations for it, and I was completely enthralled by Roz and Piers, and now I can’t wait for the next book in this series!

    Roz is the exact opposite of a heroine than Tara, from BITTERSWEET BLOOD. Where Tara was naive and sheltered, Roz has nothing of that- she’s quite tough and has no problem lying through her teeth to get what she wants. I suppose that’s what happens when you’ve been around for four or five centuries, though. I admired Roz’s loyalty and fierce protectiveness towards those who got into a sticky situation because of her- if she had been able to just leave them to their own devices, I would have thought less of her as a character.

    Then we have Piers- bad boy extraordinaire! However, my biggest complaint is related to him. Twice he took blood from Roz without her permission. Now, obviously vampires do this in books all the time- but I think it bothered me because it was our heroine. It just seemed like an unnecessary invasion on Piers’ part, and it rubbed me the wrong way. But otherwise, we find out more about Piers’ history, and while he’s almost as scary as he was in book one, we also see a bit of a softer side to him where Roz is concerned. The two of them together have great chemistry, and there is minimal agonizing over the relationship (oh I want him but he’s so bad, etc etc) which I appreciated.

    I would have liked to see more world building, since there is so much going on that I’d love to get an idea of what else inhabits the world of The Order series, especially since a fourth dimension- heaven- was just introduced in BITTERSWEET MAGIC, rather casually, without much explanation. We did get more history about the demon and fae wars and why they’re so at odds with each other, which was interesting but just left me wanting more!

    All in all, BITTERSWEET MAGIC gave me exactly what I expected (and wanted). With Roz and Piers, we get some super sexy moments, plus there’s action and mystery all set in an interesting world. And now, with two spectacular books in The Order series, I’m wondering who’s up next? Caleb, the werewolf head of The Order’s security? Graham, Piers’ assistant? So long as there’s another book, I’ll be happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    Roz has been in hiding for 500 years and was told if anyone foun

    Roz has been in hiding for 500 years and was told if anyone found out about her they would kill her. Roz was on a mission to find a key but she wasn't the only one looking for it. After all hell broke out and to help sister Maria with her wounds and find a safe place. The person who attacked sister Maria has a message for her to give. Roz takes sister Maria to the person. Roz was having a hard time not looking at Piers, wishing she wasn't in her fake nun outfit. Piers is trying to figure out what Roz is but can't. Roz goes back to see Piers but doesn't go the way she thought but found out the Piers is a vampire. They need to find the key because the key is powerful to open a portals and can bring hell on earth. While try to figure out what all is going on Roz and Piers are falling for each other. When Piers made a decision without telling Roz. Roz doesn't sit back and take it, she's going to get him back no matter what.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Roz has been indebted to the demon Asmodai for five hundred year

    Roz has been indebted to the demon Asmodai for five hundred years, and her freedom is just around the corner. All she has to do is complete one last task for him—obtain a key that had been hidden in a church centuries ago.

    Piers, the Head of the Order and an ancient vampire, is intrigued by the woman who comes to him for help. She’s beautiful and seemingly kind, but she’s hiding something. And he’ll find out who she is and what she really wants once he uses his power to get inside her head. But Piers has no idea that Roz is immune to his mind-control...or that he is simply a pawn in her dangerous mission for freedom.

    Review:

    All I can say is that people have been keeping some very big secrets from Roz...

    I loved this book, I loved Roz and her spunk and I loved Piers, that sexy brooding vampire.

    The premise, the story and the Authors writing style kept me engrossed and not wanting to put the book down. Now, for my OCD friends who have to read books in order, this is the second book; for the rest of us you will not be lost at all by reading this book before the other. The characters from the first book are in the second book and you get information about what happened in the first book. This was a well rounded story with secrets, action, suspense, lots of paranormal beings, drama, romance and some good old fun sex.

    Roz has been working for a demon, Asmodai for 500 years as a seeker because she asked for him to rescue her when she was about to me burnt at the stake for witchcraft. This is lucky number 13, her last job for Asmodai. Roz must go undercover in a convent to find a key, right before she finds the key a Vampire and demons kill everyone in the convent except Roz and Sister Maria. Roz hopes by taking Maria to Piers Lamont (who they need to give a message to from the Vampire who killed everyone) that she will be able to track the key and obtain her freedom from Asmodai. I am sure what Roz did not count on was Piers and that instant chemistry between them. Come to kind out the key should have been destroyed long ago and now a demon is rising who would use the key to start a war and enslave humans. As everyone is trying to find the key, Roz is trying to piece together who/what she is and falling for Piers. I really loved these two characters together, they don't want to fall but cannot help it and then they both try to sacrifice themselves for each other and others. Now, not wanting to give away some surprises at the end...but there is some great moments for Roz and her father and an exciting scene when she finds out what is locked away inside her and what she is.

    Was sad for this story to end, I think Roz and Piers going on adventures would be an excellent series...

    4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    Vamps, Shifters, Demons, Fae, Wtiches & Wizards, Oh My!!!!!!

    Vamps, Shifters, Demons, Fae, Wtiches & Wizards, Oh My!!!!!!




    After Roz had watched her Mom die at the stake, she made a deal for her life with the demon, Asmodai, in exchange for twelve tasks. She had just one task left to complete which will require that she masquerade as a nun at a convent. What could go wrong?




    Piers Lamont is a vampire, turned against his will centuries ago. He now heads the Order, an organization that is tasked with enforcing the accords between the supernaturals. When a nun walks into his office smelling sweet, like Fae, he is mesmerized, but he does not do relationships...




    I have not read the first book in this series, but I found that this book can be thoroughly enjoyed on it's own. This was such an enjoyable read that I plan to soon read Book one, Bittersweet Blood, featuring Christian and Tara, two characters who also make appearances in this book. 




    IF you love to read paranormals with vamps, shifters, demons, fae, witches and wizards, this book is for you! Engaging story and characters!




    4 Stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1