Customer Reviews for

Black: The Birth of Evil (Circle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Keep-You-Up-All-Night-Reading Kind Of Book!!!

To say I loved this book is a huge understatement. I devoured the whole series! The suspense and intrigue flow flawlessly throughout the entire book and continue in each book of the series (Red, White, and Green). the story begins with Thomas falling asleep in our world...
To say I loved this book is a huge understatement. I devoured the whole series! The suspense and intrigue flow flawlessly throughout the entire book and continue in each book of the series (Red, White, and Green). the story begins with Thomas falling asleep in our world and waking in another. Thomas begins to switch between worlds. In his dream world, Thomas must fight against the growing darkness that wants to devour him. In our world, Thomas use the knowledge he gained from his other world to stop the release of a deadly virus. The lines between reality and fantasy begin to blur and Thomas must decide which world is true. Dekker's style of writing is amazing and unlike any other author I've read. In addition to this series, I loved how Dekker intertwined the Paradise series and the Lost Books of History series, as well as minor relations in Skin and House, with this Circle series. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick-paced, keep-you-up-all-night-reading, suspenseful book.

posted by areneez on April 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

TERRIBLE

Save yourself the trouble. Interesting premise ruined by lousy writing and poor character development.

The fate of the world in the balance and the main character, supposedly trained in the martial art keeps saying "I don't want to hurt anyone"?!

No ending just "...
Save yourself the trouble. Interesting premise ruined by lousy writing and poor character development.

The fate of the world in the balance and the main character, supposedly trained in the martial art keeps saying "I don't want to hurt anyone"?!

No ending just "BUY MY NEXT BOOK"

Never reading anything else by this guy.

posted by Sci-Fi_Nerd on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    TERRIBLE

    Save yourself the trouble. Interesting premise ruined by lousy writing and poor character development.

    The fate of the world in the balance and the main character, supposedly trained in the martial art keeps saying "I don't want to hurt anyone"?!

    No ending just "BUY MY NEXT BOOK"

    Never reading anything else by this guy.

    9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keep-You-Up-All-Night-Reading Kind Of Book!!!

    To say I loved this book is a huge understatement. I devoured the whole series! The suspense and intrigue flow flawlessly throughout the entire book and continue in each book of the series (Red, White, and Green). the story begins with Thomas falling asleep in our world and waking in another. Thomas begins to switch between worlds. In his dream world, Thomas must fight against the growing darkness that wants to devour him. In our world, Thomas use the knowledge he gained from his other world to stop the release of a deadly virus. The lines between reality and fantasy begin to blur and Thomas must decide which world is true. Dekker's style of writing is amazing and unlike any other author I've read. In addition to this series, I loved how Dekker intertwined the Paradise series and the Lost Books of History series, as well as minor relations in Skin and House, with this Circle series. I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick-paced, keep-you-up-all-night-reading, suspenseful book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great action and adventure book

    This book is an awesome book of action and adventure.Great characters, great plot, great symbols. I love seeing how the symbols are like the real world. I also like how it shows the truth about how good will always win the war, but not always the battle. This book is more real than any other book I've ever read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Christian thriller!

    This book is soo great! It has action, romance, and is a thriller. Similar to the Narnia series in showing biblical scenes in a different world, but I loved it much more because of its connection to our world, and shows how frightening and powerful sin can be. First chapter was a bit confusing to me at first, but moving on I quickly was engulfed in this novel and joined the Circle!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Brilliant!

    This trilogy, which begins with Black, is ...just sooo amazing!!! And I know that's such a cheesy generic review, but I really don't know how else to describe it! It not only keeps you reading at a breakneck pace, saturated with intense themes, mind-boggling premises, and clever twists, it will keep you guessing the whole way through. This book is not only a superb piece of fiction, I can honestly say it's changed my life like no other story has. It's that powerful. And the other amazing thing about these books is people from so many different background and ages love them, even if they began skeptical. Men, women, teens, kids, even some older people. This trilogy has mass appeal, and could very well be the next big thing, like Lord of the Rings, Matrix, or Bourne movies. Bound to go down as a classic. Read. These. Books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Continued in Chapter 12: Jerid

    Flames licked upon the oak trees near Wenalt as he fearfully climbed down the tree. Brianna was gone. "BRIANNA! BRIANNA!" Suddenly, the dream ended and Wenalt woke up in a prison cart full of people...where was he? Wenalt remembered back to the time when he was wrestling with the axe-raiders in that weird town and had managed to steal one of the horses by beating the black-eyed axe-raider, earning him another black eye. Wenalt smiled at the thought. He had rode until he suddenly saw Mantala wandering through the lone woods, all beat up. Wenalt had carried Mantala and found a shack. He had thought it may be abandoned, so he came in there and suddenly, BOOM! Everything went black. He also had woke up drowsily in the shack, seeing Brianna...no...that was impossible. How could she get to the SAME place she had? Then he dreamed this dream...what did it mean? Wenalt shrugged to himself. Maybe it was like...some kind of prophecy. No, there was no kind of prophecies in the world of Arkin. Never. But...how about...the elf village will burn and the rest shall learn? Wenalt had a black eye too and whenever he rubbed it, it stung painfully like a bee would do. "Welcome, fellow prisoners," a voice said outside the carriage. An axe raider opened the door and the prisoners hesitantly came out. One moment Wenalt was free...the next... Wenalt couldn't word it. "The Dark Lord wants to see you," the axe-raider seperated Wenalt from the others as he tried to go with them. Wenalt rubbed the black eye and flinched. "I can see that black eye is bothering you," the axe raider notice him flinching. Wenalt didn't answer. He didn't like axe-raiders at all...not after what they did. They BURNED down his home. They PERSECUTED Wenalt's relatives...maybe even his father and mother. Wenalt shook the thoughts out of his head...but couldn't keep them out. How could he? He remembered when he had carried baby Brianna and found another indian by the stream named Manula. Manula probably died because it seemed like Brianna was taking care of herself now. Wenalt had lived in the trees with his little brother Mantala ever since. He had saved Mantala, but actually he meant to take him as a little baby to Manula, but he hadn't had enough time. He missed his home. He shouldn't have followed his little sister with Ezumalid, whoever that wizard boy was. That had made the Xchevings, thought creatures come and take Ezumalid and Brianna away. Wenalt had found Rushai and other people from this man Holik's house and decided to follow them. Next thing you know, Brianna and Ezumalid come zooming back to Holik's house, sick from this sickness called giant's bane. He had looked at Brianna and Ezumalid all day long. Ezumalid, sometimes, would've jumped... "SNAP OUT OF DREAM WORLD, BUDDY! ANSWER THE DARK LORD'S QUESTION!" Wenalt looked up. There was the Dark Lord. The Dark Lord had asked him a question.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    NOOK REVIVAL

    Please help spread the Word of God to nook users! If you are interested, please go to "revival for God" result 1! Thanks and God bless! †††

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    I recommend this to people that can handle to get far into a book before it gets good.

    The plot together is a twisted theme as good and evil. Try to find a balance within each other and never happens. The plot can be confusing all together. When finally you gegt to the middle it starts to come all together and wonder this is good. You finally see nope twisted. The plot also involves alot of medaphores for God as Ted Dekker always does.
    The characters within the two dimmensions have somewhat similarities with each other. Tomas is the compelling hero in this trilogy has he is daring and very intelligent in whatever situation he is put through. As for Rachelle the beautiful mistress that is very entergentic in a form thats not to strong. But is also a very mysterious in the book. As you find out more about her. As for Tanis the very Strong and also very curious of what is happening that is out of his control. Yet also very wise in some of his ideas. Kara the loving sister of Tomas, she is very high strong and is capable of doing anything that she sets her mind to.
    The Setting is in modern Denver then into Modern Bankok. As for the colored forest a very perfect place for anyone also on the other side is a very dark world of evil. The Black froest where pure evil is held within the mystic world Tomas is in.
    Ted Dekker as in many books of his are suspense is very well written. It also has very many things withing this book that will mess with the mind at what will happen as it take a turn for the worst.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    This book is completely amazing

    I really like the fact that Ted Dekker can twist reality with his writing. He creates two worlds that are so intricate that you can't tell which is real. It really sucks you into the world and mind of Dekker. Its full of twists and turns and unexpected events. I reccomend this book for anyone who likes action and a very enexpected plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    WONDERFUL!

    This is a great thriller for anyone. If u don't like this book u must be crazy. I strongly recomend this book. Gives you so many thoughts about the really world. This book will open your eyes. I couldn't get my nose out of it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this series. I wish they made a movie out of them.

    I loved this series. I wish they made a movie out of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Amazing!

    I'm only halfway through it, and i dont like reading much, but so far, i've barely put it down! I've beed captivated through the entire thing! I would definitly recommend it to anyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Awesome!

    OK, so I'll be honest. It took me 8 or 9 chapters to get into the book. I had to get over some OCD issues of mine. There was a part in the book that had a geographically incorrect location in the streets of Denver, CO. Being from Denver and knowing the streets very well, it was an annoying mistake that could have been avoided by looking at a basic map of Denver. I was overly critical of the error and luckily I did not quit reading like I did with the Hunger Games when she put her boots on and then her pants. That was a deal breaker for me. Against my eye twitching a little at first, I stuck it out and it was fantastic!

    Like I said, it took me 8 or so chapters to get into it but once I was in, I was completely hooked and can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Love

    Absolutly loved this book loved his descriptions of the people. I very much enjoyed the visuals i got from the description of elyons lake and the black forest. It was very good but i do agree there really was no real ending it was like you said basically buy my next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    E.R.c

    It seems like a very good book i have decided to go back to the beginning because i discovered his book chosen first. Also i have just finished renegade and was about to start chaos. I suggest you go from beginning to end very good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Amazing!

    Awesome!!!!!!!! A great thinking book. It keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Should never have bothered with this.

    I devoted entirely too much time to this book. The story drug on for a while but I decided I would finish it. Despite some poor writing i figured that I might enjoy the ending. However, there was no ending. The last page was insulting as the writer seemed to care less about the time invested in his book and there was a ridiculous invitation to move on to the next book in the series.
    I will cut my losses and be grateful that i have not bought all three books in the series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Black first in series

    A little farfetched at first, but is successfull at being successful


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    AWESOME

    BREATHTAKING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    great read

    You had to keep reminding yourself when he was in reality and when he was dreaming but a great mystery indeed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8