Customer Reviews for

Black Beauty: The Autobiography of a Horse

Average Rating 4
( 639 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(431)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

The Most Needed Book I Have Ever Read

When I first picked up this book, it was a late in the evening at the local library. I was a young girl, barely eight years old and I was struggling with some very difficult situations at home. There was a rift in my family, centered around me and it caused me to burr...
When I first picked up this book, it was a late in the evening at the local library. I was a young girl, barely eight years old and I was struggling with some very difficult situations at home. There was a rift in my family, centered around me and it caused me to burrow into myself, not allowing for the easy childhood friendships that I should have had. At that time I was discovering books, but they were not quite what I was looking for. Sort of like picking up appears to be a soft drink and finding out it's really tea. Bearable, but not quite right. So I went looking for a book, not because I was aware of what I really needed, but because my young soul was lonely and broken. Black Beauty and I spent much of the next few weeks together as I read and then reread the story over and again. He understood my pain like no one else ever could. Together we raced the wind under fair weather and toiled up great hills against odds that no one should ever have had to face. He was my companion, as I was his. Recently, I picked up the book again and found myself dwelling on those long ago days. I can still remember the feel of soft grass as I lay with Black Beauty, full of pain but still able to gaze upon the bright flowers around me. To be able to see beauty, even when life is not at its best, was the gift that I most needed and the lesson that the story teaches us all.

posted by 1296018 on April 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

Great book, some messups but defineatly worth 2bucks

posted by Anonymous on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 639 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    The Most Needed Book I Have Ever Read

    When I first picked up this book, it was a late in the evening at the local library. I was a young girl, barely eight years old and I was struggling with some very difficult situations at home. There was a rift in my family, centered around me and it caused me to burrow into myself, not allowing for the easy childhood friendships that I should have had. At that time I was discovering books, but they were not quite what I was looking for. Sort of like picking up appears to be a soft drink and finding out it's really tea. Bearable, but not quite right. So I went looking for a book, not because I was aware of what I really needed, but because my young soul was lonely and broken. Black Beauty and I spent much of the next few weeks together as I read and then reread the story over and again. He understood my pain like no one else ever could. Together we raced the wind under fair weather and toiled up great hills against odds that no one should ever have had to face. He was my companion, as I was his. Recently, I picked up the book again and found myself dwelling on those long ago days. I can still remember the feel of soft grass as I lay with Black Beauty, full of pain but still able to gaze upon the bright flowers around me. To be able to see beauty, even when life is not at its best, was the gift that I most needed and the lesson that the story teaches us all.

    59 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    A wonderful classic

    Black Beauty is a great book about a horse. It's a book about a horse's life and his point of view about life.Black Beauty expresses his so well you would think Anna Sewell the author was actually a horse because she knows so much about a horse's point of view and their lives. This book is so wonderful that sometimes it seems as if you want to be a horse just like Black Beauty! This is by far the greatest classic I have ever read! I will remember this book forever because of Black Beauty's loyalty to his owners no matter how much he was mistreated by some of them! Black Beauty will always stand in my mind as the greatest horse book of all times!

    27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Amazing

    Iiked this book very much i think everyone in the entire world should read it.

    23 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    How good this Book is

    I ama 10 year old girl and i am in the fifth grade and i love this seventh grade and halft and i go to moore intermedia school and it is worth eleven points at my school an the book level is 7.7 and this book is for young aludts : *)

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Great book!!!!!!!!!

    I loved the book! When I had to stop reading it, I would go "Just a few more pages!" It was very captivating to me. Beware that it has many typos but they are easy to skip.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    Black Beauty is a phenonimnal book.

    Black Beauty is one of my favorite books. I have read it at least three times! The story Anna Sewell spins is truly amazing. She takes you back into the times of horse and buggy and shows you so many different types of characters. Anna points out right and wrong as you read her book. Black Beauty is constantly changing owners, he goes from a nice caretaker to harsh abusive owners and back again. The book is really good, especially if you are a horse lover. I recommend this book to anybody crazy about horses and people ranging from ten to adults. I think the book can be enjoyed by just about anybody. If you have read Black Beauty and enjoyed it Rose's Story is also a good book. It is the second book in The Girls Of Lighthouse Lane series.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Informative and interesting

    This book tells how a horse would think if they thought as humans, and maybe they do to an extent. It also tells of the many ways in which a horse is used as a beast of burden as well as how they are a friend of man. Good to be read to any child and good to be read by older children and adults.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    Tearjerker

    When I was little, I saw the movie with my family, so the book already had a really strong emotional appeal to me. It is one of my all-time favorites, and I recommend it to ANYONE who likes books. It's a classic.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Love!!!

    I read it to my little bro. every night. We are not done yet so that is why l gave a 4 star rateing. Go no grammar! Lol! (If you read the book on here you would understand what l ment by that.)

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    A great book!

    Though I`m adiccted to Margurite Henry books. Black Bueaty was the first horse book I had read. I don`t like it as much as books like Misty of Chincoteague, Black Gold, or Stormy, Misty`s Foal. But it`s still a great book. A classic. And if you enjoy horse books, than you`ll enjoy Black Bueaty!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    How the book is/ rate and review

    It is a good book. I really like it! It has sad parts. Detiled good. It has lots of horses in it. If you like horses you might like it. If you don't like horses you might like it also

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Black Beauty

    I love this book i have read it like 7 times and i am in 7th grade and i think it is a really great book and if i could i would read it over and over and over agin all im tring to say is EVERYONE should read this great book and is great for all ages !!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    jw

    Black Beauty is a wonderful story. It lead to the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty of Animals. The book is relevant even today.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Best Inspiring Book Ever!

    Inspiring, thoughtful, timeless classic. There's a reason this book keeps being reprinted - and its because you can never stop learning from this book. You can use it in your life with people, or when you work with animals. In this book you will watch a playful colt grow up to experience many things. Some kind, some not. You will meet his friends and hopefully fall in love with this book the same way I did.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 1999

    Great Book!!

    Black Beauty tells of a horse's journey from home to home. Black Beauty has some homes that treat him good and some that treat him him badly. One place he goes takes Black Beauty inside their house to draw his picture and he leaves them a surprice on the floor. If you like books that make you laugh, cry, or become happy for the characters you should read Black Beauty.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Amazing

    The heartwarming tale of a black horse treated cruelly and kindly. The gentle black horse had many different names, but his real name was from the family that treated him with respect. He was called Black Beauty. He meets some nice horse friends named Max, Merrylegs and Ginger. Sorry if I gave too much away.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Great

    Its very sad but soo good i feel bad for ginger

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Must read

    This is a great classic novel that your kids will love.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    at first im hesitant if im going to read and finish the this boo

    at first im hesitant if im going to read and finish the this book when my friend gave this to me as a gift,
    but when i started exploring each pages and the story,i got addicted to it.It has been part of my life from then on and so 
    that when i grow old and have some grandchildren,ill be proud to say that i have this book as my gold collection
    -a treasure that no one can steal from me.I suggest that everyone who MUST buy it because its a PERFECT 
    book...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    !!!!!!!

    I love this book!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 639 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32