Customer Reviews for

The Black Book of Secrets

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Black Book of Secrets- Great Read!

    I'd be lying if I didn't say that I just had to know what kinds of secrets were in The Black Books of Secrets. The Book practically opened up in front of me and dared me to read it. Fiona Higgins's first novel is elegantly worded despite the lack of cleanliness in this gothic tale. A story of a mysterious man an this apprentice who brings life into a lifeless town full of people who live in fear and torment.

    The Black Book of Secrets didn't begin like most novels- the first page literally took my breath away. Higgins's words had a strong grip around my neck as I understood more about what lies between the pages of it's ebony cover. THe story takes place in centuries past in a remote English village called Pagus Parvus. Ludlow Fitch is on the run from his parents who are barbarically selling his teeth for money. A narrow escape leads Fitch to the village of Pagus Parvus. He meets a shadowy figure in the dark who happens to be Joe Zabbidou, the tows new Pawnbroker. Fitch in desperate need for money and a place to stay begins working for Zabbidou only to find out he is a secret pawnbroker.

    Like a traditional thriller, Fitch's character has to make a series of choices. These choices would be easy for any average child his age but Fitch grew up in "the city", a place of barbaric thieves and sin. Fitch's job consists of transcribing secrests from the villagers in the "black book", for which they receive a fair amount of money and a night full of peaceful dreaming all thanks to Joe Zabbidou. Althought Zabbidou is very unrevealing and often secretive about his past, he acts as a mentor and father figure to young Fitch. The true dilemma arises when Zabbisou is accused of murdering the town blackmailer, Jeremiah Ratchet. Who is Zabbiou, really? Is he a murderer? What does destiny have in store for Fitch?

    Whether this novel is considered to be a juvenile or adult fiction read, I felt a connection to Ludlow Fitch all the same. With every turn of the page, I felt Fitch's fate reveal itself even more, and all the villagers in Pagus Parvus for that matter. Most everyone from Pagus Pargus had a secret pawned in this little black book. In a sense, the black book was a character itself- a huge weight on the scale of fate. What would happen if this book got into the wrong hands? What would happen to the people of Pagus Parvus? What would happen to Joe Zabbidou, to Ludlow Fitch? These were all questions that ran through my head when I was reading this novel. The reoccurring themes of destiny, fate and the right to choose your own path, are what tied this story together. Throughout the book, Zabbidou teaches Fitch that it was his own choice that brought him to Pagus Parvus but destiny was what brought them together. In Joe Zabbisou's own words "Fortuna favet fortibus", fortune favors the bold. Whatever your destiny, you are the one to make it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    GREAT BOOK

    The first part is boring, but then it just takes off.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    must read!

    this book is really good!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Black Book

    This book is a very great read! The characters are very well developed, and you see the story from more than one point of view! The end twists a bit, too, and that makes the book even better! The plot is good too, and some of the confessions are just comical!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    Love it!

    I loved the Black Book of Secrets! I couldn't stop reading it, I haven't done that since I read the Twilight Saga! I'm just itching for the sequeal. The Black Book of Secrets is a mysterious, and dark book but still exciting and good fun. I enjoyed reading it and was dissapointed when I had to stop, hoping for a sequeal. When I saw the little hint to it, I literally started bouncing around! I'm reading this story for my book report, and now I can be excited to do so! I hope the sequeal arrives soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A very interesting, absorbing read

    My brother picked this up from the library on Saturday, and I wanted a book to read, so I stole it from him and read it for a few minutes Saturday night. Sunday I was busy, and read it only for a few more minutes. Along came Monday, I wasn't busy, so I finally did what I wanted, and sat down and read. I finished it, and wanted to read more, but of course there was no more. This was definitely a children's book for various reasons; the main character was a little boy, the vocabulary was simple, anything that could have been gruesome and horrible or bad was softened considerably, and there was very little character development. However, it was a very engaging book for various reasons; the book was interesting to begin with because it was all black, it was a book about fascinating secrets, and they kept coming, and the mystery of the pawnbroker was too much suspense for me to put the book down. There was also an interesting little section about questionable careers in those times. I thought the writing was quite good in this book, and I hope F. E. Higgins writes another one like it soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    awesome book. amazing

    this book was great! i love all the secrets. and how joe is so calm about eveything.it seems like he knows the future but, doesn't. i like this book and how it looks on the outside. its so mysterios. the black pages. Love it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    fantastamistic

    This is my ABSOLUTE favorite book and recomend to anyone of any age. It keeps you up until 3 in the morning when you finally finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is very unique in that the plot reveals little secrets and hints about the character that make you wonder if the book is in the supernatural genre. However, the author leaves that open for interpretation because everything could easily be explained by natural causes and effects. This book is also unique because the author takes the time to describe all of the characters in depth. Every character is important and none are to be overlooked. There is also the clever placement of a symbol at strategically placed intervals in the chapters that reveals its meaning at the end of the book. As a whole, the book is very clever and an enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2015

    Great young person read

    I read this book and im not rereading. I read it at a younger age but i still like. Everyone thinks its a bad read but i think its lovely. It might seem slow but f.e. higgins is setting the scene. This is not a waste fo your time. I loved it and the trill it gives a person it not the best but its still good. I think its more of a childerns book or pre teens. F.e. higgings did a great job and the next bok is just as great. Each person is different bit i think this was an excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    OMG!!!

    This is the best book i have ever read! There are tons of twists and turns. So dont be surprized when you think this isbthe endnof the book!


    Im so mad that F. E. Higgins stopped making books. Or is she?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    This book suffers from an intense case of target audience confu

    This book suffers from an intense case of target audience confusion. A large amount of the book seems to be written for a younger audience. The slow moving story spoon feeds you the character's emotions while constantly shoving unwanted life lessons down your throat. Then, when the reader's mind has slowed to a sluggish coma, Higgins hits you with gruesome and murderous scenes, that by contrast seem almost inappropriate. A younger reader will probably be scarred for life while an older reader will most likely fall asleep, leaving this book in a strange limbo... read full review at theofficebooks.blogspot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    JUSTINE A REVIEWER

    This book was read to me in third grade....everyone in our class loved it-justine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Boaring

    Silly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Slow start, disappointing ending

    That pretty mush says it all. A great concept for a fantasy book, and it falls flat. It does have its interesting points to it, and the character are well written. I wish they had a better story though. It could have been wonderful. The good thing about this book is that it is not too long. So i recommend reading it, but dont get your hopes up when you get near the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    WARNING: THIS BOOK IS VERY BORING

    "The Black Book of Secrets" was... boring... and just plain weird. I did not like it at all, sorry. In my opinion, the plot was not set up very well; there was no real plot, rising action, or any of that. It was not good at all, and I highly discourage you to read it. Don't buy!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Good read.

    Great book to read with the kids. I loved the beginning

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    I couldn't put it down.

    I found myself thinking about this book while I was at work. Yes, I am a teacher. I enjoy reading books before I put them on the shelves in my room. I read late into the night to finally finish it so I could sleep. I loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2