Customer Reviews for

The Black Book of Buried Secrets (The 39 Clues Series)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Most Engaging Series

    My 9 year-old daughter and I have made the series a part of our home school enjoyment. We are reading the series anxiously together with baited breath. She is such a critical thinker that she solves many clues without a bit of help. The story lines are exceedingly well written. My only nitpick is the dialog of the children seems like adults trying to use the vernacular of children, poorly. I would also like to kill Amy and Dan for constantly speaking their thoughts aloud concerning the clues when prying ears and eyes are all about them. Other than that, I love every little bit of it. It goes well with my morning coffee or by evening light before bedtime. I can't put it down. Excellent.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    must must read all 39 clues books

    who doesn't want all the dirt, secrets, and weapons one branch member does to another in the name of greed and power? Sound familiar to our day and age? greed, power, ruthlessness, terror, hatred, who will prevail?? Great series!! the mini vacations around the world were a very clever concept to teach and learn, not just read of good versus evil. Next year the Vespars vs the Cahills, what a challenge to keep the suspense going into another series. cant wait to see if the NY Bestseller can continue to hold the interest and the flair it had in the first ten books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Gave Some Useful Information, But Much Of It Was Repeated From The Other Books

    The Black Book of Buried Secrets by Rick Riordan, was an information guide to the 39 Clues Series. It did give some useful information, but much of it was repeared. I am so glad that I rented this from a library, because I would have never wasted my money on this. It was rather short, and had many pictures. But, if you check it out from a library, it is a good read and sets you up nicely for the next book, Vespers Rising. However, if you don't have time to read this before the next one, you won't lose any valuable information.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for Teens Read Too

    THE BLACK BOOK OF BURIED SECRETS takes all the information gathered by the five branches of the family and stores them together in one book. Each branch, including the Madrigals, spill their secrets and some identities of their agents - past and present. While it doesn't advance the story of the Cahill family, readers will enjoy uncovering more information about THE 39 CLUES series and its characters. This is a great finale to the first series where all the material comes together. I loved how the authors are the real agents in this book - a great twist. I also loved reading about the hot spots of the various branches of the family, their history, the tricks and tools, and famous members. The layout makes for a fast read and includes great pictures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Great Field Guide!

    This is a great field guide to go along with the series. It has full-color photos inside and contains LOTS of info. But if you haven't read the entire 39 Clues series...don't get it. It gives a LOT about the ending away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Would buy it again

    It works well as a Reference Guide for the 39 Clues Series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Useful

    It helped understand the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Mysterious And Exciting!

    My daughter read this book and she loved it! She read it in 2 days and said that it was a very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Clues to Clues!

    Great companion for all CLUES readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Triggers Imagination!

    Great gift fo my 9 year old grandson who is a very good reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Captivating!

    My 13-year old daughter loves this series and cannot put these books down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I enjoyed this product very much!

    Book stimulates imagination. Look forward to reading other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good series of books

    These books are a great series, I have a 10 and 11 year old boys and they love them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    pretty interesting

    Plot of series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I LIKE IT!

    This book is really cool! it has codes in it too.(i don't know about u but i love solving codes!!!) it was very creative in the beginning with all the authors in one place. i also like how it goes back with GC. and conversations W/ FC and AC. and the discipline record. AWESOME! a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3