Customer Reviews for

Black Boy

Average Rating 4
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Truth, Powerful, Revealing

Want to know in depth detail about the life of a typical of an African American boy growing up in the 1920's? Well this is the book for you.

"Black Boy" is an autobiography of author Richard Wright, and his life growing up. Read as he goes in full detail of his h...
Want to know in depth detail about the life of a typical of an African American boy growing up in the 1920's? Well this is the book for you.

"Black Boy" is an autobiography of author Richard Wright, and his life growing up. Read as he goes in full detail of his harsh life at home vs. his everyday life trying to keep up and cope with the society.

Wright reveals the real action that would go on in a typical broken African American home. However, violence was not the only conflict he had to deal with. Because of his family's dedication to Religion, Wright had to assemble that in along with his behaviors-Wright always chose not to.

From stealing to getting a new job every week, Wright makes sure the reader does not want to put the book down. A definitely must read!

posted by Kathy-B on March 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An okay book

Black Boy was interesting, but it seemed to me that Richard would keep going backwards even when it appeared he was moving forward. For this reason the plot, to me, seemed to be very repetitive but with different characters. It was fun noticing the differences between R...
Black Boy was interesting, but it seemed to me that Richard would keep going backwards even when it appeared he was moving forward. For this reason the plot, to me, seemed to be very repetitive but with different characters. It was fun noticing the differences between Richard the character and Wright the author, I wouldn't really recommend this book but I'm sure there's plenty of other people that would.

posted by 2637210 on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    An okay book

    Black Boy was interesting, but it seemed to me that Richard would keep going backwards even when it appeared he was moving forward. For this reason the plot, to me, seemed to be very repetitive but with different characters. It was fun noticing the differences between Richard the character and Wright the author, I wouldn't really recommend this book but I'm sure there's plenty of other people that would.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Black Boy Book Review

    Richard Wright, the author of Black Boy, Born September 4, 1908, on a Rucker's Plantation near Roxie, Mississippi. Richard was a son to Nathan and Ella Wright and an older brother to Alan. Both Richard and Alan raised by their mother, who struggled to put food on the table and pay bill's after the disappearance of their father. After Richard's mother became very ill they were forced to move, in order to receive help from other family members. Shortly later Richard had to find work to help support his family. After finding work Richard runs into a problem of racism and tries to separate himself from most other blacks by educating himself though reading lots of books and magazines.
    Richard, my favorite character, and I have a few things in common. We both didn't really have much to eat growing up and were forced to find work at a young age to help support the family, meanwhile trying to educate and better ourselves though school and reading books. There are a lot of things Richard does as a child that a lot of people could relate to. For example, Richard almost burned down his mother and father's house by being curios about what would happen if he lit the bottom of some curtains on fire. His almost getting into fights also became a frequent occurrence.
    There are a lot of really great stories in the book, but the one part that stands out for me is when Richard moves to Chicago trying to escape racism. Shortly after arriving in Chicago Richard needs to find a place to stay. While looking for a place he meets this really nice lady that offers him a room and some hot meals. After talking with this lady for a while, she realizes that Richard is a good person and introduces him to her daughter. They begin to talk about how the daughter wants to get married and that Richard would be a good man for her. Thinking it was a joke Richard continued with living in their home. One morning the daughter came to Richard and tried to seduce him. When he denied the girl got mad and stormed out the room. At this point Richard realized that the family was really crazy and decided that it would be best to move again. Overall the novel Black Boy is a great story. To me the story gets really boring towards the end of part 2 because of all the political and communist talk. If I were to change one thing in the novel, I would talk about his brother a little more and what life experience's he had though this time.
    Black Boy is a great novel that touches the hearts of many people. I recommend this book to anyone who would like to read the struggle of blacks and the work they had to put up with in order to survive during this time.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Interesting book, kept my attention.

    If you are interested in reading about what life was like for a black boy in the deep south in the 20's, then this book is a must read for you. I was surprised in his Communist connections later in his life while living in Chicago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    An Courageous "Race"

    The Obstacles of Racism

    The book "Black Boy" by Richard Wright is an autobiography about the events that take place in Wright's life. This book takes you through the harshness Wright goes through at home and in everyday life. This book talks about how Wright dealt with his race in society and how he learned to fit in with it and live with it. Richard even starts to fight with other boys in school to fit in. Richard is dealing with all the hardships in his life like poverty, hunger, racism, and even just family issues. My favorite parts of the book was when Wright would describe how he dealt with certain situations like when his mother was basically telling him to fight other boys to learn how to stick up for himself. That takes a lot of courage! One of the big questions Richard asks throughout the book is why don't whiles accept blacks or why are they considered so different? This book takes you through all these issues and shows you how Richard deals with it while growing up. -A courageous and outstanding journey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Have to read for school :(

    I have to read this for my English 2 honors class so I want to know if its a good book. Give me some feedback.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Its alright

    I liked the book and the way the author informs the reader but interpreting what he is trying to say at times was confusing and alot of the subjects he talked on in this book I sometimes needed to ask why and what is trying to say and what is the reason this has happened I would refer this book to someone who doesn¿t need things to be broken-down and explained to them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    the book made me very sad at times

    I read the book Black Boy and once I got started I couldn't quit reading. I was very sad throughout most of the book though, I thought the way Richard was treated was very sad and I hated to here about him being hungry all the time due to lack of money. The book was very informative to me though about how things really were at that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2001

    A hot roll gone cold and stale

    Unfortunelty, this book fizzled out about half way through and I had to absolutley force myself to finish it. Don't get me worng, the first half was wonderful. However, something went terribly wrong toward the end and I was very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    Richard's life was much different than mine is today.

    This book was interesting and it gave me a perspective of what it was to be black many years ago. My mother is black and my father is white, and from my perspective, this book does not however show the struggles of blacks today. Our world is much different and more accepting of blacks than when Richard grew up---but it is nice to occasionally turn our heads and remember the hardships of the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2