Customer Reviews for

Black Butler, Volume 1

Average Rating 5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    BEST MANGA EVER!!!!!!!!!! Black Butler is dark, violent, beautif

    BEST MANGA EVER!!!!!!!!!! Black Butler is dark, violent, beautiful, funny, sweet, and does not have a happy ending. I LOVE Ciel. He is my dream boy and I'm not afraiud to admit it. It is the perfect manga. I have the deepest respect for Yana Toboso.The anime is just as amazing too if not more. STAY SEXY SABASTIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;P

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    This is an amazing book, the art is beautiful, the characters are brilliant, but my favorite part, is the plot! I had watched the Anima series first, so I know what Sebastian is... But I love this! I can't wait to buy book 2! :D

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great a must read!

    Ok so you have to read this force yourself past the first volume, or else youll be missing out big time

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Its Awesome

    I love this manga and the anime too. Sebastian is HOOTTTT!!!!!! He is just awesome. Ciel is cute and a bit of a brat but still kool. I love the none happy ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    YES I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR THEM TO PUT THIS ON NOOK YES THIS IS G

    YES I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR THEM TO PUT THIS ON NOOK YES THIS IS GREAT THANK YOU!!!! Awesome manga, I highly recommend it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Sebastian

    I love the anime, and I lovev this manga!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING.

    I absolutely adore the Victorian era, butlers, and hot anime guys. This series has all of that. I watched the anime first, and I was sure that the manga couldn't live up to it, but boy was I surprised!The manga is every bit as good as the anime if not better. READ IT.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    There is an ounce of truth in every lie. Though you shouldn't ma

    There is an ounce of truth in every lie. Though you shouldn't make the mistake of believeing the lie itself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    I JUST LOVE BLACK BUTLER ITS ONE OF MY FAVORITES OF ALL TIME! IM

    I JUST LOVE BLACK BUTLER ITS ONE OF MY FAVORITES OF ALL TIME! IM DOING A REPORT ON THIS BOOK!
     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the Anime but I love the Manga even more!!!!!!!!!!!!! Blac

    Loved the Anime but I love the Manga even more!!!!!!!!!!!!! Black Butler is so beautifully drawn (consistently through out the manga) and so well written it's so easy to fall in love with this manga and it's so easy to breeze through reading it in only a day! There is some differences from this volume to the anime but not a whole lot, however I have heard that as you continue to read the manga it is totally different then the anime where most anime follow the manga to the letter. Either way it is truly exceptional and I think everyone new to manga or a seasoned veteran should pick it up to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I heard of

    LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I heard of Black Butler, so I was like "Hey, why not try it out?!" I did, and OMGOSH! I fell in love with the books, anime, characters, and everything else about this! It's dark (the way I like it), and has an original plot with amazing characters. The first volume may be a little boring, but push past it. You'll be glad you did! I can't wait until the volume 15 comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    It is a great story. The characters are a wonderful mix and the

    It is a great story. The characters are a wonderful mix and the art is beautiful. It gets even better as the story progresses through the next volumes. Definitely recommend reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Black butler is the best series ever!!!!!!!!! (after Artemis Fow

    Black butler is the best series ever!!!!!!!!! (after Artemis Fowl) if you have not already you should watch the anime series. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2015

    I LOVE CIEL MY FAV ANIME/MANGA GOTTA READ IT!

    I LOVE CIEL MY FAV ANIME/MANGA GOTTA READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2015

    This manga series is simply fantastic! It was my first manga ser

    This manga series is simply fantastic! It was my first manga series, and I must admit to myself I was a little scared to start reading manga. My fears were I had spent money on something I wouldn't like. If you are anything like me than you probably feel the same way. But I would fear not in that this manga is simply amazing, giving rise to a wonderful story. Of course, if you aren't one for dark themed things I strongly suggest going and finding another manga. This series can have some very dark moments. I also would like to impart that if you are under 15 years of age you should not read this. It isn't for young minds and I highly suggest going and looking for something else. However the quality of the simply the essence of greatness. I highly recommend it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Love it!

    OMG! I love the entire series! Im even watching the first season right now! What id give to be a maid in the Phantomhive Manor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Supercalifragelistic expialadocious

    This is an amazing manga. I am in LOVE with Ciel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    FANTASTIC. Dark, the way I like it, with compelling characters

    FANTASTIC. Dark, the way I like it, with compelling characters (especially Sebastian). Good for anyone trying out manga for the first time, as it's pretty easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good read

    Everyday adventures of Ciel, head of the Phantomhive family and his butler, Sebastian and the other servants in the household. This was an interesting and very good read. The drawings is detailed and well done. Plus the food looks pretty good. Looking forward to reading the next volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    A MUST READ!

    All my friends like this series, so I thought I'd try it out and boy was I amazed! I found myself falling way in love with the series (and the characters). I cannot wait for the rest of the series to come out in English as well as season 2 of the anime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4