Customer Reviews for

The Black Circle (The 39 Clues Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Remarkable

If you are a history teacher and a language arts teacher here is the book for you. This book would be very good for your children in your class to read and it's not a drabby story, the kids will really get into reading it. Just try it and you might like it yourself.

posted by Ryan_Everett on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME BOOK!:-) PLUS BOOK 6 SECRETS!!

For all fans, book 6 is titled In Too Deep, and is written by Jude Watson. It will be released on November 3rd 2009. The only other known facts besides the title, author and the release date are that the cover will be light blue in color, and that the book will have 176...
For all fans, book 6 is titled In Too Deep, and is written by Jude Watson. It will be released on November 3rd 2009. The only other known facts besides the title, author and the release date are that the cover will be light blue in color, and that the book will have 176 pages. Amy & Dan will find out some of their mother's scret's, and (just a guess) but I think that it may have to do with water, according to the title. Check bsck soon to find out more secrets!
P.S. If you log onto www.the39clues.com now, there is a limited-time Jude Watson video, and she reads an exerpt from book 4.

posted by Nick96 on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Remarkable

    If you are a history teacher and a language arts teacher here is the book for you. This book would be very good for your children in your class to read and it's not a drabby story, the kids will really get into reading it. Just try it and you might like it yourself.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Love it

    I like the game on the computer too. I am a lucian. CALLING ALL LUCIANS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The books are awsomei reccomend. Sp awsome

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Kids LOVE It!

    My kids love these books. They are wonderful books...I sneaked a little peek myself! Now I'm addicted to them also. I got this book for my two boys along with some other great "boy" books: Nose Pickin' and Pumpkin Guts. All of these books are fantastic!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    this is awesome x9

    Wow thats really cool

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Great!

    This book is awesome! It was an action packed and supnesful read. Read it to find out more.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Lucian-Madrigal

    I liked this book because it was like a big scavenger hunt

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Love these books!

    Lots of adventure around every corner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Super girl 102

    Havnt read the whole thing yet but so far it is great!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    The 39 clues

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK!  I finished it in 2.5 hrs! This book isn't for my ag

    GREAT BOOK! 
    I finished it in 2.5 hrs! This book isn't for my age group, but it is my secret guilty pleasure! 
    This book kept me hooked and I literally couldn't put it down (Which is why I finished it in two and a half hours)!
    You must read this series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Book

    Great book. One of the bests

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Aynonmous

    Oh my god! I love this book! Those who didn't give this book 5 stars, YOU'RE WHAK! Awsome book! :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    The greatest book ever

    I love thisseries

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Frisky34

    This book was great and very exciting .I would recommend this to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Constantly Hold the Reader's Full Attention!

    "The 39 Clues: The Black Circle," by Patrick Carman, author of the creepy and mysterious "Skeleton Creek", is the fifth installment in the #1 New York Times best-selling "39 Clues" series written by various authors. Full of mystery and action, this book is definitely not a let-down after the previous books in the series and will constantly hold the reader's full attention, from the first page to the last!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2014

    Another fantastic installment in the 39 Clues series! Now, to g

    Another fantastic installment in the 39 Clues series!

    Now, to gush...

    I love the teamwork displayed in this particular book. (Good morals for kids!) -- Even competitors can work together for the greater good. 

    The historian is me loves how the author incorporated the great "legend" of the Amber Room and made it real. The Amber Room was an actual room that Nazis "stole" during WWII -- after that, no one has been able to relocate the pieces used in the room since. Kudos to Patrick Carmen for including this piece of history into a modern book.

    Can't wait for the next book in the 39 Clues series. 

    Also, the audiobooks for this series are produced in great quality!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    To James the Great

    Do you want to chat?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm- character profile

    Hey guys. I just thought I would explain the characters before I do p.o.v's of them. The next part will be at the 39 clues #6: In to Deep. Lets get started. •••••••••••• Merida Adams was born August 12, 2000. She has black hair and silver eyes. Her father died after fighting off a pack of telkhines and two got the best of him. Thats how Merida's story started. ------------------------------------- Jay Bennett was born July 28, 1998. He has brown hair and turquoise eyes. His mother died when he was just a baby. His father is Zeus. He went to Camp Half-blood at the age of 10. ----------------------- Pepper Thompson was born September 18, 1999. She has auburn hair and aqua eyes. Her mother is handicapped from a car crash. Her father is Zeus. She arrived at Camp Half-blood when she was 11. ----------------- Kylee and Kara Simms were born June 21, 2001. Their mother had gone crazy when Apollo left them. They stayed with their uncle. They arrived at Camp Half-blood at the age of 11. ------------------------- Elizabeth Bronson was born January 31, 1997. She has black hair and hazel eyes. She is a daughter of Hecate. She arrived when she was 12. ------------------- Agatha Johnson was born October 4, 1998. She has blonde hair and gray eyes. She is a daughter of Athena. ---------------- Austin Wilson was born Feburary 25, 2001. He has blonde hair and gray eyes. He is a son of Athena. He has known Agatha forever. ------------------- Camille Sloan was born May 15, 1999. She has golden hair and deep blue eyes. Her best friend or sister is Kathleen Dullin. ---------------- Kathleen Dullin was born June 16, 2000. She is a daughter of Aphrodite like Camille. She arrived at when she was 12. ------------------------- Cody Ericson was born April 7, 2000. He has black hair and brown eyes. Like his brother, who is older then him, Jonas, he is a son of Hephestus. -------------- Jonas Ericson was born December 12, 1998. He has same color hair and eyes as Cody. He is more mature. He also has a big secret. ------------------- Jack Darvish was born November 17, 1999. He has both brown hair and eyes. He is grumpy and violent on good days. ------------------- Lauren Robinson was born March 23, 2001. She has black hair and green eyes. She is a daughter of Poseidon. Her power is to make earthquakes( to the maker of this character please excuse me if I got anything wrong. I added the power.)•••••••••••• I think thats about it. To NRM: I don't know how to get the place where your characters are. My nook is a glowlight so I can't use internet. To everyone else: please guess Merida's godly parents. I will reveal Jonas's secret in a couple parts. Bye bye. S.E.A

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    G

    G

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7