Customer Reviews for

The Black Circle (The 39 Clues Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Remarkable

If you are a history teacher and a language arts teacher here is the book for you. This book would be very good for your children in your class to read and it's not a drabby story, the kids will really get into reading it. Just try it and you might like it yourself.

posted by Ryan_Everett on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME BOOK!:-) PLUS BOOK 6 SECRETS!!

For all fans, book 6 is titled In Too Deep, and is written by Jude Watson. It will be released on November 3rd 2009. The only other known facts besides the title, author and the release date are that the cover will be light blue in color, and that the book will have 176...
For all fans, book 6 is titled In Too Deep, and is written by Jude Watson. It will be released on November 3rd 2009. The only other known facts besides the title, author and the release date are that the cover will be light blue in color, and that the book will have 176 pages. Amy & Dan will find out some of their mother's scret's, and (just a guess) but I think that it may have to do with water, according to the title. Check bsck soon to find out more secrets!
P.S. If you log onto www.the39clues.com now, there is a limited-time Jude Watson video, and she reads an exerpt from book 4.

posted by Nick96 on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Great book

    I like everything about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    To sk

    Yay! Make it an awesome fight of awesomeness, but l kinda want it from one of the romans pov. Thank ya for being awesome! - reese ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    To S.E.A.

    Is her parent athena?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    To sk

    FINNALLY FOUND THE BOOK!! I DIDNT MISS ANYHING- Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    3rd here for SK

    Yes, yes, yes, yes, yeeeeeesssss!!!! That was one of your best parts yet! Great job with the P.O.V.! Can you do it from some of the other characters points of view too! Like Reese or Odyn cause they're fighting the Romans too! Or maybe you could do it from one of the Romans points of view!!! Anyways your story rocks and I can not wait for the next part!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    To SK

    Start with who ever's POV you want ~ your most loyal fan Jack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    The Legend of Samuel Knight part 16

    Hey guys I'm back again! Before I start I just want to say a few things. I now have a page where we can chat, you can submit characters, feedback, etc. It's Samuel Knight result one. I STILL want to do a Q&A so leave questions. Also that second story I've been working on is no longer going to be published on here. I have almost 78,000 words and have new plans for it. The next part will be at the 39 clues book six In Too Deep. This part will be in Julia Reeds p.o.v. (the girl who questioned them) for reasons you'll find out later. On with the story..... I was supposed to attend a meeting regarding the Legion, but I wanted to stay and watch this fight. I was very curious about these demigods, especially that son of 'Pluto'. I went up to the Emperor's balcony to spectate. All six fighters instantly charged at each other. It appeared that their weapons would just clash. Those other fighters seemed Roman the way they charged, as one. My Romans managed to split them up though and they were each fighting individual battles. Cary and that girl Odyn were battling it out. Odyn would call down a lightning bolt, but Cary just avoided each bolt with ease. I cast my gaze to Jose who was battling the other girl Reese. He was wildly stabbing his spear at her. All of his strikes were missing though. He couldn't seem to hit her and this only made him more angry and strike faster. Finally I checked on Harriet who had already seemed to have landed several clean hits on Samuel. He was bleeding pretty badly, but he continued to try and hit her. All of his efforts in vain. I knew no matter how hard he tried he couldn't hit Harriet. She was a brilliant stratigist and knew exactly how her opponent would strike before they even moved. It was truely amazing. Harriet dodged both of his sword strikes and landed a clean hit across his chest. He collapsed. The crowd went wild at this. Through their yelling I could make out a few voices yelling the same thing. "No Sam! Come on, you have to get up and keep fighting!" I knew he wasn't going to get up. No one could keep fighting after injuries like that. I turned and started to walk away. Then their was a gasp. I turned to see that Samuel was back on his feet. He had a crazy grin on his face. "How is this possible?" I muttered to myself. Then he dropped one of his swords. He stood there looking at the ground, focusing on something. Harriet started to lean forward as being pulled in by a magnet. She let go of her sword and she stopped, but her sword didn't. It continued to move until it was in front of Samuel, then it fell to the ground. He picked it up and charged at Harriet. I don't know how, but he was moving faster than ever. He landed several clean hits and sent her flying. At that Cary and Jose became distracted for a brief moment and Reese and Odyn used that to their advantages. They continued to strike at their opponents and landed some serious blows. Jose and Cary collapsed. They fought well and now came the moment of truth. The crowd stood in unison and gave a thumbs down. I was shocked. My Romans had fought well and yet they still believed they deserved death. Now the real question. Would they spare their lives?..... Well what did you think? Remember to leave feedback at Samuel Knight res. 1. - S.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    10513742

    I love the 39 cluse ! There so fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    To Jillian <3

    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR USING GARRETT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just so you know when hes scared, or bored he likes to repeat the word typewriter in different voices. It can get really annoying. If you yell at him harshly he will hug his knees and cry. He also doesnt know his last name. Jordan can give him one if she wants. Thanks so much again!!!!! Luv yur stories keep posting. ~ F.R. <3 ( huge favor: read my storie Power isnt Everything and tell me what you think of it. Part 1at lightning theif. Thanks again!) ( P.P.S. Im only asking you to do this because your an awesome author!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Here first for TTBPJ!!!!!

    LOVE YOUR STORY!!! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!!! ~ author of The Sorceress' Labyrinth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Meoow

    Still good all books are intense but so far this is the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Dear maryam

    There are ten books in the first series:1 the maze of bones 2 one false note 3 the sword thief 4 beyond the grave 5 the black circle 6 in too deep 7 the vipers nest 8 the emperors code 9 storm warning and 10 into the gauntlet if you want me to tell you the cahills vs vespers books in order please let me know-James the great :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Plz tap im confused

    Wait how many new 39 clues series are there? I dont know which order to read them in. Please respond. -Maryam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Lets start a chat box

    Seriously we should

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Moves Like Jagger

    Shoot for the stars if it feels right and aim for my heart if u feel like and take me away and make it ok i swear i will behave you wanted control so we waited i put on a show now we're naked u say im a kid my ego is big i dont give a s**t.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good book so far.

    Dan jumps to his feet in a ninja pose

    LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Hel

    Awsome and the nazis are comeing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Best

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Great Book!

    AVENGERS ASSEMBLE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    39 clues!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The 39clues is totally awesome!!!read now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7