Customer Reviews for

The Black Circle (The 39 Clues Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Remarkable

If you are a history teacher and a language arts teacher here is the book for you. This book would be very good for your children in your class to read and it's not a drabby story, the kids will really get into reading it. Just try it and you might like it yourself.

posted by Ryan_Everett on January 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME BOOK!:-) PLUS BOOK 6 SECRETS!!

For all fans, book 6 is titled In Too Deep, and is written by Jude Watson. It will be released on November 3rd 2009. The only other known facts besides the title, author and the release date are that the cover will be light blue in color, and that the book will have 176...
For all fans, book 6 is titled In Too Deep, and is written by Jude Watson. It will be released on November 3rd 2009. The only other known facts besides the title, author and the release date are that the cover will be light blue in color, and that the book will have 176 pages. Amy & Dan will find out some of their mother's scret's, and (just a guess) but I think that it may have to do with water, according to the title. Check bsck soon to find out more secrets!
P.S. If you log onto www.the39clues.com now, there is a limited-time Jude Watson video, and she reads an exerpt from book 4.

posted by Nick96 on May 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will Constantly Hold the Reader's Full Attention!

    "The 39 Clues: The Black Circle," by Patrick Carman, author of the creepy and mysterious "Skeleton Creek", is the fifth installment in the #1 New York Times best-selling "39 Clues" series written by various authors. Full of mystery and action, this book is definitely not a let-down after the previous books in the series and will constantly hold the reader's full attention, from the first page to the last!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    To James the Great

    Do you want to chat?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    The sword of posiden part 9

    Did i saw book 5 ment book 4 my bad—&#9787

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm- character profile

    Hey guys. I just thought I would explain the characters before I do p.o.v's of them. The next part will be at the 39 clues #6: In to Deep. Lets get started. •••••••••••• Merida Adams was born August 12, 2000. She has black hair and silver eyes. Her father died after fighting off a pack of telkhines and two got the best of him. Thats how Merida's story started. ------------------------------------- Jay Bennett was born July 28, 1998. He has brown hair and turquoise eyes. His mother died when he was just a baby. His father is Zeus. He went to Camp Half-blood at the age of 10. ----------------------- Pepper Thompson was born September 18, 1999. She has auburn hair and aqua eyes. Her mother is handicapped from a car crash. Her father is Zeus. She arrived at Camp Half-blood when she was 11. ----------------- Kylee and Kara Simms were born June 21, 2001. Their mother had gone crazy when Apollo left them. They stayed with their uncle. They arrived at Camp Half-blood at the age of 11. ------------------------- Elizabeth Bronson was born January 31, 1997. She has black hair and hazel eyes. She is a daughter of Hecate. She arrived when she was 12. ------------------- Agatha Johnson was born October 4, 1998. She has blonde hair and gray eyes. She is a daughter of Athena. ---------------- Austin Wilson was born Feburary 25, 2001. He has blonde hair and gray eyes. He is a son of Athena. He has known Agatha forever. ------------------- Camille Sloan was born May 15, 1999. She has golden hair and deep blue eyes. Her best friend or sister is Kathleen Dullin. ---------------- Kathleen Dullin was born June 16, 2000. She is a daughter of Aphrodite like Camille. She arrived at when she was 12. ------------------------- Cody Ericson was born April 7, 2000. He has black hair and brown eyes. Like his brother, who is older then him, Jonas, he is a son of Hephestus. -------------- Jonas Ericson was born December 12, 1998. He has same color hair and eyes as Cody. He is more mature. He also has a big secret. ------------------- Jack Darvish was born November 17, 1999. He has both brown hair and eyes. He is grumpy and violent on good days. ------------------- Lauren Robinson was born March 23, 2001. She has black hair and green eyes. She is a daughter of Poseidon. Her power is to make earthquakes( to the maker of this character please excuse me if I got anything wrong. I added the power.)•••••••••••• I think thats about it. To NRM: I don't know how to get the place where your characters are. My nook is a glowlight so I can't use internet. To everyone else: please guess Merida's godly parents. I will reveal Jonas's secret in a couple parts. Bye bye. S.E.A

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    This is the most exciting book EVER!!!!

    THIS IS AWESOME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Wow!

    This book is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Ooooohhhhhhhhhhoooooohhhnnnooonnnoonnnoooo

    Hi its PAIPAI awesome!!#dont read:):(#

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Great book

    I like everything about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    To Hope Lost

    Shut up. You're ruining this for others. You are a serious idiot. You're acting like a spoiled brat, so get lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    To sk

    Yay! Make it an awesome fight of awesomeness, but l kinda want it from one of the romans pov. Thank ya for being awesome! - reese ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    To S.E.A.

    Is her parent athena?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    To sk

    FINNALLY FOUND THE BOOK!! I DIDNT MISS ANYHING- Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    3rd here for SK

    Yes, yes, yes, yes, yeeeeeesssss!!!! That was one of your best parts yet! Great job with the P.O.V.! Can you do it from some of the other characters points of view too! Like Reese or Odyn cause they're fighting the Romans too! Or maybe you could do it from one of the Romans points of view!!! Anyways your story rocks and I can not wait for the next part!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    To SK

    Start with who ever's POV you want ~ your most loyal fan Jack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    The Legend of Samuel Knight part 16

    Hey guys I'm back again! Before I start I just want to say a few things. I now have a page where we can chat, you can submit characters, feedback, etc. It's Samuel Knight result one. I STILL want to do a Q&A so leave questions. Also that second story I've been working on is no longer going to be published on here. I have almost 78,000 words and have new plans for it. The next part will be at the 39 clues book six In Too Deep. This part will be in Julia Reeds p.o.v. (the girl who questioned them) for reasons you'll find out later. On with the story..... I was supposed to attend a meeting regarding the Legion, but I wanted to stay and watch this fight. I was very curious about these demigods, especially that son of 'Pluto'. I went up to the Emperor's balcony to spectate. All six fighters instantly charged at each other. It appeared that their weapons would just clash. Those other fighters seemed Roman the way they charged, as one. My Romans managed to split them up though and they were each fighting individual battles. Cary and that girl Odyn were battling it out. Odyn would call down a lightning bolt, but Cary just avoided each bolt with ease. I cast my gaze to Jose who was battling the other girl Reese. He was wildly stabbing his spear at her. All of his strikes were missing though. He couldn't seem to hit her and this only made him more angry and strike faster. Finally I checked on Harriet who had already seemed to have landed several clean hits on Samuel. He was bleeding pretty badly, but he continued to try and hit her. All of his efforts in vain. I knew no matter how hard he tried he couldn't hit Harriet. She was a brilliant stratigist and knew exactly how her opponent would strike before they even moved. It was truely amazing. Harriet dodged both of his sword strikes and landed a clean hit across his chest. He collapsed. The crowd went wild at this. Through their yelling I could make out a few voices yelling the same thing. "No Sam! Come on, you have to get up and keep fighting!" I knew he wasn't going to get up. No one could keep fighting after injuries like that. I turned and started to walk away. Then their was a gasp. I turned to see that Samuel was back on his feet. He had a crazy grin on his face. "How is this possible?" I muttered to myself. Then he dropped one of his swords. He stood there looking at the ground, focusing on something. Harriet started to lean forward as being pulled in by a magnet. She let go of her sword and she stopped, but her sword didn't. It continued to move until it was in front of Samuel, then it fell to the ground. He picked it up and charged at Harriet. I don't know how, but he was moving faster than ever. He landed several clean hits and sent her flying. At that Cary and Jose became distracted for a brief moment and Reese and Odyn used that to their advantages. They continued to strike at their opponents and landed some serious blows. Jose and Cary collapsed. They fought well and now came the moment of truth. The crowd stood in unison and gave a thumbs down. I was shocked. My Romans had fought well and yet they still believed they deserved death. Now the real question. Would they spare their lives?..... Well what did you think? Remember to leave feedback at Samuel Knight res. 1. - S.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    10513742

    I love the 39 cluse ! There so fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    To Jillian <3

    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR USING GARRETT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just so you know when hes scared, or bored he likes to repeat the word typewriter in different voices. It can get really annoying. If you yell at him harshly he will hug his knees and cry. He also doesnt know his last name. Jordan can give him one if she wants. Thanks so much again!!!!! Luv yur stories keep posting. ~ F.R. <3 ( huge favor: read my storie Power isnt Everything and tell me what you think of it. Part 1at lightning theif. Thanks again!) ( P.P.S. Im only asking you to do this because your an awesome author!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Here first for TTBPJ!!!!!

    LOVE YOUR STORY!!! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!!! ~ author of The Sorceress' Labyrinth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Meoow

    Still good all books are intense but so far this is the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10