Customer Reviews for

Black City (Black City Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Debut of 2012 thus far!

I am so overwhelmed by this book; I honestly don’t know where to begin. However, I believe I can sum up my review in one word – Unputdownable! Elizabeth Richards managed the impossible by writing a unique YA vampire story in a market flooded with Twilight and Vampire Ac...
I am so overwhelmed by this book; I honestly don’t know where to begin. However, I believe I can sum up my review in one word – Unputdownable! Elizabeth Richards managed the impossible by writing a unique YA vampire story in a market flooded with Twilight and Vampire Academy knock-offs. And, on top of that, set the story in a dystopian world. I’m going to do my best not to fan-girl as I try to discuss the compelling and layered characters in this series. Natalie is the kind of heroine that makes it easy to cheer for. I love who she becomes by the end of the book. And, oh-my-god, I am in LOVE with Ash. He’s so crushable, I was nearly licking the pages. Their love story flows effortlessly. I blew through the pages, desperate to know what happened next. Simply calling their love forbidden doesn’t do it justice. Even they fight how they feel, but once they succumb, it’s just delicious! Beyond their love is world at its breaking point. I really don’t want to talk too much about it because I don’t want to give any spoilers. I want readers to go into as I did, so you will love it as I did. If you’re sick of vampires and dystopians, read this anyway. This is the book that will remind you why you loved these genres in the first place. I would recommend this book to anyone with eyeballs and the ability to read. Finally, I’d like to appeal directly to Hollywood. Please stop remaking movies from the 80’s and open your eyes to the literary talent right under your nose. This book NEEDS to be made into a movie. Twilight fans will devour this love story. The brutality, fear, racial undertones, and government corruption will appeal to Hunger Games fans.

posted by StaceyONeale on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hollypaw

She gasped as a tiny, dark blue gray she cat flopped down to the ground. Her white flecked patches rumbled with her shallow breaths. (Cool :0 I shall read!"

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    My Favorite Debut of 2012 thus far!

    I am so overwhelmed by this book; I honestly don’t know where to begin. However, I believe I can sum up my review in one word – Unputdownable! Elizabeth Richards managed the impossible by writing a unique YA vampire story in a market flooded with Twilight and Vampire Academy knock-offs. And, on top of that, set the story in a dystopian world. I’m going to do my best not to fan-girl as I try to discuss the compelling and layered characters in this series. Natalie is the kind of heroine that makes it easy to cheer for. I love who she becomes by the end of the book. And, oh-my-god, I am in LOVE with Ash. He’s so crushable, I was nearly licking the pages. Their love story flows effortlessly. I blew through the pages, desperate to know what happened next. Simply calling their love forbidden doesn’t do it justice. Even they fight how they feel, but once they succumb, it’s just delicious! Beyond their love is world at its breaking point. I really don’t want to talk too much about it because I don’t want to give any spoilers. I want readers to go into as I did, so you will love it as I did. If you’re sick of vampires and dystopians, read this anyway. This is the book that will remind you why you loved these genres in the first place. I would recommend this book to anyone with eyeballs and the ability to read. Finally, I’d like to appeal directly to Hollywood. Please stop remaking movies from the 80’s and open your eyes to the literary talent right under your nose. This book NEEDS to be made into a movie. Twilight fans will devour this love story. The brutality, fear, racial undertones, and government corruption will appeal to Hunger Games fans.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    This was an amazing book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Amazing book !!! A must read !!!! I started reading this and couldnt put it down!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    I'm always late on the bandwagon when it comes to books like The

    I'm always late on the bandwagon when it comes to books like The Hunger Games Trilogy, City of Bones, and Divergent. I was in the store and came along this and found the cover interesing, vain I know. Glad I did because this book just placed itself in my top 3 favorites. I loved everything about it. The way the author would have both points of view between Ash and Natalie was fantastic. I couldn't put the book down and read in two days. Fast paced, great story, and love'em and hate'em characters. When I came across a chapter ending, thinking I would stop reading, I could not stop myself from seeing what would happen next. Chapter 26 totally threw me for a loop, I was shocked at that little twist. Some people may compare this to Twilight...seriously don't go there. I hope people give this book a chance. The only bad thing is that I have to wait till June to find out what happens next for Ash, Natalie, Polly, Day, and Beetle. Can't wait!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you are looking for a book that will whisk you away to a worl

    If you are looking for a book that will whisk you away to a world where you will find yourself completely immersed in, Black City by Elizabeth Richards is the one for you. I devoured this book. DEVOURED I tell you! And trust me on this, once you start, you won’t be able to put it down. I breathed it, lived it, craved it. I would put it down, and peek at it from the corner of my eye…hearing it calling my name to come back and find out what happens next. I had to listen! Seriously, it was calling to me…how could I say no!

    Not only was the writing and world building world class, the characters found in Black City were ones that you won’t forget. From the moment you meet main characters, Natalie and Ash, you know that there is this chemistry that flows between them, and that something amazing is going to happen. And of course, there are those laugh out loud moments, that really solidified the deal for me.

    But of course it’s not all rainbows and unicorns and white puffy clouds during their first encounter. Oh no dear readers. Natalie chances upon Ash, who is a Haze dealer, giving a Haze addict her fix (Haze being an addictive drug made of a Darkling’s venom). This little scene, by the way, ( though very short ) was hot. Like whistle through your teeth and a quick fan of yourself sexy. I think his bad boy demeanour had me already crushing on him. Yes, I crush easily…

    But as we progress through the story, we see not only this tough, brooding, dangerous side of Ash, but we see the endless romantic that I was hoping he would be. We see the soft, sweet, unconditional loving guy that will make any girl swoon. And I’m not talking about lost just for Natalie! I’m also talking about his love that he has for his mother, his father…for his kind. The emotional side that we witness when it comes to Ash and his mother is so touching and heartwarming.

    We get to watch first hand as both Natalie and Ash brings down their boundaries regarding each other and watch this beautiful story unfold. A glimpse into one of the most romantic love stories I’ve been privileged to read. And with the highs, come the lows. And the lows that we come across are emotionally charged, heart breaking, and has you even more addicted.

    Author, Elizabeth Richards, does an amazing job driving home the loneliness that Ash feels being segregated from his own people. To be forced to live among the humans, and face the ridicule and pain that he has to endure every day due to him being a mixed race. She also does an amazing job describing the conflicts that go on in Natalie’s mind between the beliefs she has known from her mother, to the beliefs her father had and what he was fighting for, and the beliefs that come to light during her relationship with Ash.

    Similar to an old tale we know and love, Romeo & Juliet, we have Natalie, whose mother is an all too important Emissary, and then we have Ash, a twin-blood; a half-human half-darkling whose very existence is threatened by Natalie’s mother and her boss, the head of the United Sentry States, Purian Rose. A relationship between them would condemn them to death, but the heart wants what the heart wants. And in this case, Natalie and Ash’s hearts are meant for each other. And there’s a point in the story, where all of this comes to light, and you can’t help but awww and smile and grin and smirk and re-read the lines over and over again. I’m not giving anything away…seriously it’s all there on the inside flap of the book.

    You know how you have those books that you love, and there’s the one line that you will always remember and hold close to your heart? There is such a line in Black City:

    “So begins my heart, so begins our life, everlasting”

    Romantic right? Ash and Natalie hear a Darkling couple sing The Blood Vow to consummate their union, similar to that of wedding vows. When I first read it, I, of course, sighed….went to my husband…gave him the book and pointed him to those very words and made him say them. Yes, I’m odd. It was just so romantic, I needed to hear it out loud. Yes, he read them, and yes he gave me a weird look. But I still walked away smiling.

    Not only are Natalie and Ash unforgettable characters, but the evil in some of the characters are pretty prominent as well. Sebastian, the power hungry body guard/ex-boyfriend who ends up being a big player in Black City. And he is one guy that I loved to hate. And don’t get me started on Gregory! Ooooo he especially grinded my gears. I wanted to wipe his smirk right off his face. Even Natalie’s mother got a few “ugghhs” from me. And let’s not forget the head honcho himself, Purian Rose. The reason why all this animosity between both these races even exists!

    A true sign of a well written book is when the reader can get emotionally involved with the story. And I was totally that and more! When I was talking to one of my Twitter buddies about this book, she said that ending was going to be so intense and even more amazing than it already is. Oh My-lanta was it ever! There were gasps and tears and “noooooo’s” and “yessssss’s”! The ending comes at you at full speed and you better hang on! I was not ready for it to end. Near the end I would read a chapter, put it down, read a chapter, gasp at how quickly the pages were thinning, and finally just ran for the finish line. Intense, powerful, passionate, deep, and any other adjective you can think of!

    Amongst all the darkness, war, and death, a love so pure and genuine blossoms and it takes your breath away. Do not hesitate in reading Black City by Elizabeth Richards. You’ll be so happy that you read it, and you too, will be singing its praises from the rooftops. And fraggin’ yah that it’s going to be a movie!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Loved it!!!!

    Make. This. A. Firetrucking. Movie! Love love LOVED IT!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Ehh...

    Ehh....it was OKAY

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Love the book! pretty good twist of today's sci fi of vampires w

    Love the book! pretty good twist of today's sci fi of vampires with original concept. cant wait for 2nd book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Loved it.

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Amazing!

    A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

         Black City enthralled me, it kept me entertained with this

         Black City enthralled me, it kept me entertained with this dark and beautifully crafted world from page one until the end and left me breathless and wanting more.
         I loved the characters. Being in Natalie and Ash's heads was quite the journey from sympathizing with them and wanting to hug them to wanting to give them a Gibbs' clipboard to the back of the head for acting silly and not doing what I want them to.
         As for the plot, it had such depth, I was constantly gasping and being blindsided by what came next. There were a few points where I thought that the characters were just doing things as a plot device, but there constantly was a deeper reason, things that I never would have guessed and never thought up.
         The ending wrapped up the first book well, and gave me a sense of satisfaction while at the same time leaving me craving more and *needing* that next book in my hands now.
         While Black City does have vampires, Elizabeth gave it a take like I haven't read before, and it really seemed like a new paranormal creature rather than your standard vampire. Ash is a halfling, and his sense of disconnect and longing to just be a part of one species, the human or the Darkling is palpable. Ms. Richards gave him life and conflict, and I was wholeheartedly pulling for him, and longing for him to find his place in this dark world.
         Another thing that sold me on this story was watching Natalie grow into her own. I appreciated how she learned to stand up for herself and those that she loved even if she didn't start out that way. 
         The relationship between Natalie and Ash was filled with tension but I loved both their emotional and physical attraction. There were moments where I questioned everything but Elizabeth has the gift of storytelling and of crafting a romance that left me sighing.
         The fighter spirit of Ash and Natalie as well as the light and spark of hope and defiance that they set into this world fraught with politics, segregation, violence and self centeredness.
         I want, no NEED more of Ash and Natalie's love and adventures in Black City. 
         Bottom line: Loved this story! Great characters, fast plot and new take on vampires. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Calling all book lovers!

    I honestly don't know where to start. This book, in one word, was amazing. The dystopian love story is so different from anything you will ever read. This isn't a typical vampire book either. Even though Natalie was admittably a little dry, I wanted to jump in the book and grab Ash for myself-he was just that crushable. Ash was even, crazy as though it sounds, Percy Jackson standard. Overall, a great book that anyone should try, especially if you are sick and tired of the Twighlight rip-off vampire books. This was so complex and believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Love is a battlefield and lust is no better. The world build

    Love is a battlefield and lust is no better.




    The world building was nicely done and I liked that I was able to get a real good feel for the city and its inhabitants. This story was fast paced and kept me hooked chapter after chapter. There was a lot of development both character and plot wise, but it never got too overly detailed. There was just enough information to keep me thirsty for more without boring me with mundane details. 




    The romance was not overly done and added to the story without seeming overly fake. It was also nice to see that there was some build up to their romance. When they first meet they are definitely curious of one another, but not love struck by any means. In fact they really couldn't stand each other which made sense given the backgrounds they came from. The characters had a lot of growing up to do within the story from both sides and I enjoyed getting to see the different opinions on how the laws were affecting different people and how. 




    Natalie came off as a bit of a spoiled brat at first, but as time went on I came to understand and see why she acted the way she did. She also went through a lot of growing up in this book and came to better understand the world around her. Once she was able to mingle with others outside of her normal circle she was a lot more open minded about issues that they were dealing with and even stuck up for her friends going against those she once sided with. 




    I loved Ash and not because he was some prince charming or even the moody but sexy stranger. No I loved him because he was so real. He was a real human character with human faults. He made mistakes, but still worked through them and what I loved most about him was his kindness and willingness to do the right thing even when others were (literally) beating him down. He wasn't perfect by any means he made a lot of crappy mistakes, but they only made him more human because of it. 




    This is one story I couldn't put down and I am highly anticipating its sequel "Phoenix"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Loved it!

    I couldn't put this book down...no lie. I haven't been so hooked into a book in so long. I read the entire thing in just over 24 hrs. Considering I'm a mom of two young, active kids, I have two jobs and a home to take care of, 24 hrs for a book is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Elizabeth's debut blew me away. Her words are powerful. You can

    Elizabeth's debut blew me away. Her words are powerful. You can feel how Ash & Natalie feel about one another. I was able to finish in 2 days. Couldn't put it down. It's become one of my favorites. I cannot wait to get Phoenix & Wings. I 'm hooked. This book NEEDS to become a movie. It deserves to be more than words blended on paper. To see the words come alive in my mind is one thing but to see Black City a movie would create a whole new phenomenon. The next Mortal Instruments.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Hands down better than The Hunger Games! Love it !

    Apocolyptic all inspiring love story with so much more, love this and Elizabeth Richards writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Heart breaking

    This book will make you laugh, cry, & fall in love with the characters! Not to mention unexpectable twists that will make your mouth drop! I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! Ahhhh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    What?

    ITS BEING MADE INTO A MOVIE?
    OH MY FREAKING GOSH!!!!
    I LOVE THIS BOOK SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
    MUCH
    I'M SMILING INSIDE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great book!

    Loved this book! A different take on vamps and otherworldly things. Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    These books are the ones that are hard to find. the really good

    These books are the ones that are hard to find. the really good ones that you will just scream for and get all excited about. It has taken so long for me to find a book that for once was enthralling. This is better than Twilight and the Vampire Diaries any day. And. Guess. What? IT'S BEING MADE INTO A FREAKING MOVIE!!!!!!!!!
    I can't wait to see who they are going to pick for the characters. Finally people are getting smart and making movies worth watching. But it won't come out for a while.
    Ugh!
    Well it will surly be worth the waiting because seriously it is an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    OMG

    I REALLY enjoyed this book.. The story line , the characters , everything. . I am so looking forward to getting my grubby little hands on book two..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3