BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Black Coffee

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Classic Mystery that still inspires!

If you like reading and mysteries, try reading this classic mystery Black Coffee by Agatha Christie, the dame of mysteries! Black Coffee is one of many books devoted to the mysteries solved by Hercule Poirot. In this book, the famous detective Monsieur Poirot works to u...
If you like reading and mysteries, try reading this classic mystery Black Coffee by Agatha Christie, the dame of mysteries! Black Coffee is one of many books devoted to the mysteries solved by Hercule Poirot. In this book, the famous detective Monsieur Poirot works to uncover the mystery of the missing formula, the chilling death of the scientist, and the true identities of a few family members. He, alongside Captain Hastings, listens to his "little gray cells," which tell him that there is a rat that needs to be caught in Poirot's trap. You'll have to read in order to find out!
I enjoy hearing what Captain Hastings comes up with while thinking of possible explanations, and all the while, all he would have to do is look in the cups of black coffee. I had it narrowed down to three people when I started on the next to last chapter, and before I could finish the book, I was barely catching up to Mr. Hercule's theory. While many readers might want to chase after newer mysteries, I feel that they should look at the classics first because Agatha Christie is the woman who inspired many of the newer mysteries. Her intelligence is still relevant and marvelous today. I would recommend this to anyone who loves a good mystery!

posted by sbd1988 on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Misses Agatha's boat!

Black Coffee is not a bad story, but it is oh so obviously NOT Agatha's wonderful writing which fills in the spaces between the dialog. The writer said that Poirot was ever the snob and my jaw dropped. Poirot is egotistical, yes, but he is no snob - his interrogations o...
Black Coffee is not a bad story, but it is oh so obviously NOT Agatha's wonderful writing which fills in the spaces between the dialog. The writer said that Poirot was ever the snob and my jaw dropped. Poirot is egotistical, yes, but he is no snob - his interrogations of servants, for example, are oh so kind and gentle. He does not suffer crooks or fools, but his heart is full of kindness - all reasons why I find him so loveable.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Misses Agatha's boat!

    Black Coffee is not a bad story, but it is oh so obviously NOT Agatha's wonderful writing which fills in the spaces between the dialog. The writer said that Poirot was ever the snob and my jaw dropped. Poirot is egotistical, yes, but he is no snob - his interrogations of servants, for example, are oh so kind and gentle. He does not suffer crooks or fools, but his heart is full of kindness - all reasons why I find him so loveable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Classic Mystery that still inspires!

    If you like reading and mysteries, try reading this classic mystery Black Coffee by Agatha Christie, the dame of mysteries! Black Coffee is one of many books devoted to the mysteries solved by Hercule Poirot. In this book, the famous detective Monsieur Poirot works to uncover the mystery of the missing formula, the chilling death of the scientist, and the true identities of a few family members. He, alongside Captain Hastings, listens to his "little gray cells," which tell him that there is a rat that needs to be caught in Poirot's trap. You'll have to read in order to find out!
    I enjoy hearing what Captain Hastings comes up with while thinking of possible explanations, and all the while, all he would have to do is look in the cups of black coffee. I had it narrowed down to three people when I started on the next to last chapter, and before I could finish the book, I was barely catching up to Mr. Hercule's theory. While many readers might want to chase after newer mysteries, I feel that they should look at the classics first because Agatha Christie is the woman who inspired many of the newer mysteries. Her intelligence is still relevant and marvelous today. I would recommend this to anyone who loves a good mystery!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Black Coffee

    I'm sorry to admit it, but this book was a bit of a disappointment. I kniw it was intended as a play, but it shoild have stayed that way. I can respect that Christie fans, like myself, love to have a new book of hers to read, but this really just didnt do it for me. I'll give a hundred star rating to any other book of hers, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    As usual Poirot's little gray cells figured it all out before I could!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Black Coffee written in the expected style of Agatha Christie

    As always, great detail is given to the characters involved. The location of the crime is layed out immediately, and then a look at each character is begun. Personal attitudes and possible character blemishes are shared to develop the characters providing a need to know more about the person. That is what makes it a great read. You know immediately that suspects are being developed. Along the way you get to enjoy descriptions of the era, the way of life, the and a trip into the past. This is expected from each and every Agatha Christie book. And it never gets old because it's what you want. Great for traveling or a quick read anytime when the objective is to relax and leave your stress behind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Good catching title

    The plot was very good and the characters were teasers -- you wanted to know more about the people and the subplots

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2003

    Great deception

    Very intellegent book. It will surprise you, and you will think you know the end. But the solution will be as visable as the bottom of a cup of Black Coffee.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    Pretty Good...

    This book was really entertaining and a great murder mystery. If you're looking for a good book to be read in an hour or two - pick up this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    Nothing like Agatha Christie.

    I have read every Agatha Christie book that I could find and without paying attention picked this book up. As I was reading it I was thinking 'boring', I was even able to figure out 'whodunit'. Then I figured out that it wasn't really an Agatha Christie book, and it all made sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2000

    Not the same

    Black Coffee was all right, but it wasn't as exciting as the others. There wasn't much action throughout the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    Bad Book

    This book had no flavor to it. There was nothing interesting that went on during the story, and it made your mind wander off somewhere else. One of very few books that I couldn't finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    It was Outstanding

    I'm a huge fan of Christie and this is one of her best! It's a classic and Very hard to figure out. I loved Pioret and Hastings

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Nike

    13

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Myth

    Spread gods word system? is having a meeting here. For insructions please go to: prayer 2nd result.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Excellent Book So Far....

    I think that the book so far I have read was wonderful. It makes me think who killed Sir Claud. The story line was fantastic and Agatha Christie would enjoy it if she was still alive. Fans who loves Agatha Christie will love to read BLACK COFFEE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2