Customer Reviews for

The Black Country (Scotland Yard's Murder Squad Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Black Is Black, I Want My Baby Back

    An interesting story set in 1890's England detailing the adventures of Scotland Yard's Murder Squad. This case is centered around the Black Country, the center of coal production in the Midlands of England far from the crowded streets of London. Inspector Walter Day and his squad have been asked to help find three missing & presumed dead members of a coal mining family. A small child has gone missing along with his father and step mother. Three other small children of the same family have been left to shift for themselves. In a late season blizzard that is blanketing the countryside, there are more mysteries to solve than just the missing family members. What is the strange sickness that has gripped over half of the villagers? Who is the mysterious stranger built like a brick wall and just as talkative? Why don't the villagers seem to be overly concerned with the families disappearance? I enjoyed the atmosphere and the plot. I was a little disappointed that some of the answers to the mysteries were telegraphed early in the story. The story would have been more entertaining if the suspense could have been maintained longer. Book provided for review by the well read folks at Library Thing and Putnam.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic follow-up to The Yard; a spellbinding story full of

    A fantastic follow-up to The Yard; a spellbinding story full of intrigue and interesting characters.
    A town full of people, many who seem to have their own agenda, is it to protect the missing family or to hamper the detectives in their investigation? Are the 3 remaining children from the missing family keeping a secret of their own, or are they trying to protect their missing family members? Will the town still be standing if and when the family is found?
    So many things going on but all carefully intertwined to produce a thrilling read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Cat

    I love you too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Zarek

    "Im about to fall alseep so you soon i love you!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    This is the second book about the beginnings of Scotland Yard's

    This is the second book about the beginnings of Scotland Yard's Detective Squad,  Inspector Day, Sergeant Hammersmith, and forensics Dr. Kingsley have been sent to a British Midland's mining town in 1890, to find a husband, his second wife and their young son.  The three young children of the missing man's first wife and somewhat reluctant to help in the investigation.  This mining town is slowly sinking into the numerous tunnels below it.  The town's folks are stepped in tradition, rumors and superstitions and are also in the middle of a sickness that has been contacted by a majority of the towns folks. 




    Atmosphere and superstition drive this mystery, along with an interesting connection to the happenings in the USA. The fate of the missing people is precariously connected to the fate of the town.  The Detectives need to hurry and solve their case before they are figuratively and literally drawn into this town forever.




    The history and atmosphere of this story was excellent, but I found it less enjoyable than the first book--THE YARD-- because so much of what happened was driven by natural happenings rather than detecting.  There was a sense of morbidity about this story that was very depressing.  The characters continued to evoke a sense of learning from their experiences though, and I have hopes that the mental detecting aspects of a The a Yard will return more fully in succeeding books.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    I found this book to be very tedious.  I almost didn't finish it

    I found this book to be very tedious.  I almost didn't finish it but kept hoping that it would improve. It did not. 
    I am somewhat surprised that anyone gave it a 5 star rating but each to his own. I got the distinct feeling
    that the author didn't have the plot firmed up in his mind before writing and so made it up as he went along 
    and not very well at that.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Fun run!

    A fun fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Highly recommended!

    I picked up the first in this series, The Yard, off a table at B&N marked "Must Read for 2013." It was riveting from page one, and I immediately ordered the next in the series. It was such a quick, riveting read, in part because all of the character backgrounds have been established in the first installment. I have already pre-ordered the third in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    An interesting tale, but completely contrived from beginning to

    An interesting tale, but completely contrived from beginning to end.  Nothing like The Yard--found very little connection to the two tales, except for the names of a few characters.  Still a reasonably good read, but missed the expectations I had from reading The Yard.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Wish I had more

    I wish I had More in this series to read... I absolutely love this series and these characters. A must read for anyone who loves amazing historical mysteries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Great mystery

    I love this writer as his books take you to new place and experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Not sure why I stayed with this book to the end? Nothing like t

    Not sure why I stayed with this book to the end? Nothing like the cover implies. The two investigators from Scotland Yard were next to useless in solving the case. At the end it solved itself through confessions and pure luck. Too much of the story was about this coal mine town and the sinking homes, gray skies and constant snow storm. Silly conversations with children and detectives dominated the story. Why a flashback to the US Civil War was necessary, I'll never understand? Save your hard earned money people, and go buy something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    I was very impressed with "The Yard" but found "B

    I was very impressed with "The Yard" but found "Black Country" disappointing; not at all similar. The characters Inspector Day and Sgt. Hammersmith were poorly developed and not at all like the innovators found in the "The Yard". In fact, there was little original detective work or anything relating to deductive reasoning. They seemed to be always at the mercy of events and had little impact on solving the case. This book was NOT a Sherlock Holmes derivative but a poorly constructed recording of natural events that had little to do with detective work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    save your money

    After reading Mr. Grecian's debut novel "The Yard" I was thoroughly disappointed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    completely different

    than the Yard but just as good. This book can stand alone but read them in order if you can. A really good mystery doesn't come along often enough. Do yourself a favor and do not pass this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2