Customer Reviews for

Black Creek Burning (the Black Creek Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, a

I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, and knew it was a book that would keep me coming back for more. I love when an author takes you directly to the innermost struggles of a character from the beginning. I like to get to know the characters rig...
I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, and knew it was a book that would keep me coming back for more. I love when an author takes you directly to the innermost struggles of a character from the beginning. I like to get to know the characters right away...and you know where Brie is coming from in the first chapter, which allows the reader to immediately care about what happens to her and those she loves. I adore the love story, the mystery, and the characters in this debut novel. R.T. Wolfe is off to a great start..can't wait to see what else is in store!

posted by 8505318 on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

Don't bother reading this. Good mystery, but way too many sex scenes, all very similar, and ultimately disgusting.

posted by 16749449 on February 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Don't hate the author due to rude reviewers.

    I gave this book 4 stars to make up for those that gave it one because rude readers gave away the plot. I NEVER read a review more than a couple of sentences and have gotten to the point of NOT reading reviews at Barnes & Noble because they are usually plot spoilers or a contact forum for people playing around. I don't think the author should be under rated because of rude reviewers. I'm going to give the book a chance, it is free, I don't need a review, if i don't like it I can delete it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    great read!! very engaging fro the beginning... waiting for Boo

    great read!! very engaging fro the beginning... waiting for Book 2

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Recommend

    Really enjoyed. Look forward to rest of series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Not Good

    There are too many details about the remodeling and landscaping and too little details about characters and the story line.
    I read and reread lines to try to figure out who was talking, what they were talking about or what they doing. Needed more clarity.
    Too many characters not introduced or explained either.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Not so great .  There is a lot of house reconstructing and decor

    Not so great .  There is a lot of house reconstructing and decorating.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I very much enjoyed this book. On to the next one.

    I very much enjoyed this book. On to the next one.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Black Creek Burning kept me curious about the mystery at its cen

    Black Creek Burning kept me curious about the mystery at its center and smiling about its characters’ daily lives in the generally quiet town of Northridge. I enjoyed reading the romance, yet what truly charmed me was the stories that supported the main romantic plot line: the town, the children, the part-time jobs, and back stories.

    RT Wolfe is the literary little sister of Nora Roberts and Victoria Dahl. Like Nora, RT weaves in the working lives of her characters to give readers a fuller vicarious experience. Readers not only experience the thrill of new love, but also the excitement of the gardening, teaching, building a home, working wood.

    And, like Victoria Dahl’s contemporary series set in tiny Tumble Creek, Colorado, RT makes Northridge a character in its own right: “The rains eventually came. The herons stood at the spillway and caught their fill as the fish washed over in the rush of the water into the creek. The floodplains came alive with the color of the mature wildflowers on one side of the creek and the tender greens on the side that had been burned.
    Teenagers carried the pieces for croquet and badminton across the log over the rush of the water…”
    I can’t wait to return to Northridge in the sequel To Fly in the Shadows, due for release in February, 2013… especially now, knowing that I’ll be able to visit with one of my favorite characters, young Andy Reed!
    by J.W. Ashley (Author of Into the Woods, Crimson Romance October 2012)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was enthralled with Black Creek Burning from the very beginnin

    I was enthralled with Black Creek Burning from the very beginning. Watching Brianna struggle with the nightmares of her past was heart wrenching. When those nightmares manifest in her present reality, I was on the edge of my seat. Nathan was an admirable, sexy hero. His love for his nephews was clear, and made me love him even more. R.T. Wolfe does an excellent job of balancing the suspense with the romance, and weaves them both together in an explosive, surprising ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Good book

    This is the first in the Black Creek series. You meet Nathan and his nephews Duncan (age 8) and Alex (age 6) when they move into a run down house next to Black Creek. Their next door neighbor, Brianna is a first grade teacher. This is a very well written story about romance, and a murder mystery. I have read all the Black Creek books and highly recommend them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Nook lovr

    The book was good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Anonymous

    Very good, well worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Engaging mystery plot

    I enjoyed this book a lot and the mystery plot behind the budding romance made for a great weekend read.

    I was glad to see there is a second book in this series and intrigued it is about the kids from book one who are now grown up.

    Thanks for the free book - glad to have been introduced to this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Very exciting read

    Murder mystery. Lots of sentiment and romance. I chose to iore some of the descriptive stuff d language made for much excitement!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Good

    This was a cute romance and a great mystery. I agree with other reviewers that it could use some editing...but I think the quality of the storyline overcomes that minor irritation. I will read other books by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Really enjoyed this book.

    I liked that the author didnt wait till the very end for everything.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    Good story, but needs editing. I liked the story and the charact

    Good story, but needs editing. I liked the story and the characters of Brie and Nathan. Several other reviewers mentioned graphic sex scenes, but I didn't find them to be graphic at all, I have read far more graphic sex scenes in a lot of other books. I do agree with the reviewers who said that it needs some editing. About halfway through the book, the writing started to get a little sloppy, almost like the writer let somebody else finish it for her. There were a few times I had to go back and re-read a sentence or a paragraph because what I read didn't make sense. There was also one short exchange between Brie and Nathan that was stolen word for word directly from the Goldie Hawn movie "Overboard". All in all, I did enjoy the book, it was a good plot and good story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I AM STILL READING THIS BOOK, BUT AM ENJOYING IT VERY MUCH.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Go for it. It is a page turner

    Only bad thing I would say is that I stayed up and read the whole book in one evening and morning. I will read more of this series.

    John D. Morgan

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    great series

    I really enjoyed this series. I can't wait to start the next one by RT Wolfe

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    loved it

    I absolutely loved this book and recommend it to everyone. Best free book I ever read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 178 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9